Day 2816: Other people’s stories

As a psychotherapist, I love listening to other people’s stories.

What I DON’T love is other people who act like only their story is:

  • real,
  • legitimate, and
  • worth listening to.

These days, more than ever, it’s important to make room for the stories that are not being heard. Why aren’t they being heard? Because people with power/the spotlight are

  • loud,
  • disrespectful of others,
  • disinterested in the facts,
  • obsessed with their own grievances,
  • trying to hold on to power, and
  • apparently not interested in other people’s stories.

If you do not leave room for other people’s stories, the dominant story becomes strident, repressive, demoralizing, inaccurate, and eventually obsolete. Personally, I am fighting for other people’s stories (including my own!) to be heard, so we can all survive together.

Here is one person’s photographic story for the day:

In my story, there is always room for the the Daily Bitch, love, AND your stories (in the comments section below).

Yesterday, when I was creating today’s photographic story, I heard the Prologue to Stephen Sondheim‘s Into the Woods, which includes lots of other people’s stories.

My stories always include gratitude for all who help me create these daily stories, including YOU.

Categories: life during the pandemic, personal growth, photojournalism, politics, Psychotherapy | Tags: , , , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Day 2816: Other people’s stories

  1. I always enjoy reading your stories and those you interact with.

  2. I am glad you share your story with us, Ann.

  3. Even though many people have invited me into their homes and asked me to make myself at home I’ve never taken off my pants and eaten all their chocolate. Well, I’ve never eaten all their chocolate, and only took off my pants in private when it was bedtime. If I had done that, though, I like to think that my hosts would consider it an interesting story.

  4. puella33

    There is a person in my life who is unable to express herself due to a cerebral illness- she can’t talk and is defenseless- in this pandemic era, it’s even more worrisome. If it were up to Trump’, she would be dead. I fight for her rights as much as I can. At times, it seems like I don’t get anywhere, but I keep on “making noise”. We all have to advocate for those who are underprivileged. Thank you, Ann, your work for others is much appreciated.

  5. Thank you for bringing us together through your beautiful stories! ♡(ŐωŐ人)

  6. every picture tells a story.

  7. Yes, my ears are open, Ann.

  8. There are so many stories and it’s always good to read yours!

  9. Other people’s stories rise and set like that sun of yours.

  10. Your photos always remind me there is something worthy of looking at. Thank you!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.