Day 247: No one is alone

For your reading (and perhaps listening) pleasure, here are some random thoughts, on a morning when I’m feeling overwhelmed.

Three things that tend to overwhelm me:

  1. The possibility that I may have broken some rule  (including unwritten, mysterious, or ambiguous ones).
  2. People giving me new responsibilities without checking with me first.
  3. People not getting back to me when I ask for something.

Three things to help reduce my feelings of being overwhelmed:

  1. Belief in “good” magic, like a Cloak of Safety that my friend Jeanette gave me on Monday which “includes a ‘can do no wrong’ clause for the next 30 days.”
  2. Letting people know I’m overwhelmed. (Extra credit: setting some limits.)
  3. A really great song, with lyrics that are meaningful to me. There are a lot of great songs to choose from, but I’ll go with the one that came to me when I woke up this morning. I’ll start with the lyrics:

Mother cannot guide you,
Now you’re on your own.
Only me beside you,
Still, you’re not alone.
No one is alone, truly.
No one is alone.

Sometimes people leave you
halfway through the wood.
Others may deceive you.
You decide what’s good.
You decide alone.
But no one is alone.

Mother isn’t here now.
Who knows what she’d say?
Nothing’s quite so clear now,
Feel you’ve lost your way?
You are not alone. No one is alone.

You move just a finger,
Say the slightest word,
Something’s bound to linger,
Be heard.
No one acts alone.
Careful, no one is alone

People make mistakes.
Fathers, Mothers,
People make mistakes,
Holding to their own,
Thinking they’re alone.

Honor their mistakes,
Everybody makes.
Terrible mistakes.
Witches can be right,
Giants can be good.
You decide what’s right,
You decide what’s good.

Just remember:
Someone is on your side.
Someone else is not.
While we’re seeing our side
Maybe we forgot,
They are not alone.
No one is alone.

Hard to see the light now,
Just don’t let it go.
Things will come out right now,
We can make it so.
Someone is on your side,
No one is alone.

Here’s a wonderful rendition of this song:

Thanks so much to Stephen Sondheim, “Into The Woods,” Bernadette Peters,  good magic, good friends, and to you, for reading and listening today.

Categories: personal growth | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Day 247: No one is alone

  1. Your post came to me today on a day when I was feeling overwhelmed so it has helped me get through this little patch of wallowing. Thanks
    Brilliant song and words. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Day 250: Things Not To Fear | The Year of Living Non-Judgmentally

  3. Pingback: Day 323: Grieving old losses | The Year of Living Non-Judgmentally

  4. Pingback: Day 479: Super Recovery Woman, revisited | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  5. Pingback: Day 565: Anyone can whistle | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  6. Pingback: Day 607: The Other Side | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  7. Pingback: Day 727: Guess what I did | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  8. Pingback: Day 1180: Alone | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  9. Pingback: Day 2683: Alone | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  10. Pingback: Day 2822: Alone | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.