Day 2138: Masks

Over two years ago, when I was in the hospital dealing with pneumonia and heart failure, I wrote a blog post titled “Masks“.

Yesterday, in a therapy group, people talked about the relationships between the masks they wear on the outside and how they feel inside.  I keep the identify of my group members masked because of confidentiality; therefore I only show what I create in group, including this mask:

IMG_0972

Do you see masks in my other photos from yesterday?

IMG_0973

IMG_0980

IMG_0976

IMG_0977

IMG_0978

IMG_0979

IMG_0975

 

IMG_0968

fullsizeoutput_3454

Here’s “Behind the Mask” by Michael Jackson:

Here’s the “Cuban Pete” song from The Mask:

I never mask my gratitude for those who help me create these blog posts and — of course! — YOU!

IMG_0510

Categories: group therapy, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Day 2138: Masks

  1. You never need to mask anything from us. I wore one for Halloween actually, when I went as the dark knight.

  2. You faced things very well in this post, Ann!

  3. Thank you for taking off any masks with us Ann. 💕

  4. I love those “beauty” masks. Even if they do nothing, they are part of my self-care regimen, and they’re cheap.

    My CPAP mask is the one I wish I didn’t have to wear, but it lets me sleep, so I wear it.

  5. Maybe we all hide behind our mask sometimes
    https://wp.me/s6B6QE-mask

  6. Machiavelli said, “Everyone sees what you appear to be, few experience what you really are.” He was, in spite of what his name has come to mean, a strong believer in democracy and honesty in leadership, and his words remind us that sometimes speaking truth to power is best done through a mask.

  7. Authenticity is discarding the mask and letting people see and know the real you. Contentment is accepting and loving the maskless you. ❤️😍

  8. Sometimes I wish I was better at masks than I am

  9. How do you like my rabbit mask?  ̄(=✪ x ✪=) ̄ LOL!

  10. Yes, so true! In some places speaking the truth to power can cost you your job, if not your life. Masks can come in handy!

  11. Pingback: Day 2726: Masks | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  12. Foot mask??? Lol

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.