Day 1035: Change

While I’ve written posts with “change” in the title before (here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here), I’ve never created a post simply called “Change.”

Today, that’s going to change.

It’s appropriate that change is happening today, because:

  • while I was asleep last night, there was a time change,
  • I’m hoping for a major change at work,
  • I’m taking a break this weekend from my job, where I help people make positive change,
  • my son Aaron submitted his first college application yesterday, which may change his life,
  • in my own therapy, I’m working on change,
  • as my boyfriend Michael wrote to me over five years ago (before the day we made the change to meet in person), “Things just change, regardless. No static spot to stand on this planet, that’s for sure.”
  • yesterday I saw a terrific play about change with my beloved friend, Barbara,
  • my sister recently changed where she lives and I’ll be seeing her new home for the first time today,
  • to visit my sister, I’ll need change for a toll bridge, and
  • I have pictures about “change” to share, for a change.

IMG_6379 IMG_6381 IMG_6409 IMG_6416 IMG_6422 IMG_6424 IMG_6426 IMG_6428 IMG_6434 IMG_6433IMG_6435 IMG_6439 IMG_6446 IMG_6448 IMG_6449 IMG_6452 IMG_6455 IMG_6462 IMG_6467 IMG_6465

Here are more quotes about change:

Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything.
– George Bernard Shaw

When we are no longer able to change a situation – we are challenged to change ourselves.
– Victor Frankl

Change before you have to.
– Jack Welch

Never believe that a few caring people can’t change the world. For, indeed, that’s all who ever have.
– Margaret Mead

The first step toward change is awareness. The second step is acceptance.
– Nathaniel Branden

Sometimes it’s the smallest decisions that can change your life forever.
– Keri Russell

Just when I think I have learned the way to live, life changes.
– Hugh Prather

Things don’t have to change the world to be important.
– Steve Jobs

I hope everyone that is reading this is having a really good day. And if you are not, just know that in every new minute that passes you have an opportunity to change that.
– Gillian Anderson

For a change, Michael and I were talking about Gillian Anderson and The X-Files last night. We couldn’t change each other’s mind about which X-Files episode was the creepiest.

It’s time to change the mood of this post with some music. Michael loves David Bowie and I love Stephen Stills, so here are changes from both of them:

Thanks to all who helped me create this post about change and to you — of course! — for the change you bring, today.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism, Psychotherapy | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 36 Comments

Post navigation

36 thoughts on “Day 1035: Change

  1. We do love and hate change at the same time. Like it or not, it is inevitable. Have a good change 🙂

  2. When I was young I found change very upsetting. There was some comfort in astronomy because I thought the stars and even other planets were fixed and unchanging, but then I learned that the stars move and, like people, have life cycles. They’re born, they grow, they die. And even a place as seemingly dead as the Moon things change.
    Knowing that change is literally universal helped me embrace it.
    What’s also interesting is that The X-Files story I find creepiest doesn’t make the list. “Jose Chung’s ‘From Outer Space'” amuses but also disturbs me because of how much a single event changes depending on whose perspective it’s seen from.

  3. My life is changing at an amazing rate. Changes I thought I was not ready for, but I am starting to change my mind about that.

  4. My life has been all about embracing change, I love it. It’s stagnation/ lack of change that worries me. And somehow…I love both artists you showcased. ❤️ Happy November, Ann.

  5. I wish you and Aaron well in your prospective occupational changes

  6. Oh, my! Change is not my strong point but I’m learning to enjoy it. Best of luck to your son!! 😉

  7. I love the photo of the skeletons sitting in the chairs Ann! Hey I wrote about time change today and intimate that not all change is good. ❤
    Diana xo

  8. Changes by David Bowie is an all time favorite song of mine. Here’s another quote I like: ” Be the change you want to see in the world.”
    And my fav by Wayne Dyer: ” If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.”

  9. Hi Ann, Change is good. I see from your photos of the Mystic River Watershed, your weather is about to change – are you going to have snow soon?
    I changed my washer and dryer this week – and now my washer sings to me, and the dryer dries in under 30 minutes. I hope this brings about a change in my electricity bill. That will be a really great change.
    Have a day filled with pleasant, unexpected changes!!!!!!!

    • Your words always change my day for the better, SD. They make me want to sing, like your washer. And I hope the snow will wait, for a change.

  10. Change can be very much like moulting our skins, but do not consult a mirror, simply be aware of this fact.

  11. I see change ahead, I turn and run like hell as I don’t like change, oh and does hell run, somehow I doubt it as it is a place and places don’t run so why do we say run like hell, I don’t know we may run from hell to heaven but we can’t in fact run like hell, oh well just one of those weird sayings

  12. Progress never happens without change … even although it can be hard to change gears and change course. 🙂

  13. NotAPunkRocker

    Sugar Daddy…love it.

    Change is on the horizon for me it seems, for good or bad (gulp)

    • You have my unchanging admiration for figuring out the costume that guy had changed into. And you have my unchanging support for whatever changes lie ahead for you.

  14. So much change, Ann. For you, for me. May we both be better for them. Great soundtrack today, my friend.

  15. Lots of things I wouldn’t change about this post – the lovely wood/castle transformation, the sculpture and the girl and most of all the quote:

    Never believe that a few caring people can’t change the world. For, indeed, that’s all who ever have.
    – Margaret Mead

  16. Your blog is always great. That never changes 🙂

  17. Very interesting read on change Ann. Lovely pictures too. Accepting change effortlessly is graceful. Thanks and regards.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.