Day 1036: Cheese

Yesterday, I visited my sister, Ellen, who is allergic to cheese.

Some people think limericks are cheesy.  I hope Ellen isn’t allergic to this:

My sister, allergic to cheese,

Knows that living near water brings ease.

At this stage in her life,

She and Linda, her wife,

Have a condo that’s certain to please,

Next to water that never will freeze.


My limerick for Ellen has an extra line, but I wanted to give it an extra slice of cheese, for love and luck.

Speaking of slices of cheese, Ellen had this on her salad at lunch yesterday:

While that looks like a slice of cheese, it’s not.  Would it be cheesy to ask you to guess what that is?

Personally, guessing games make me smile like I’m saying “cheese.”

Last night, our local supermarket  was giving out free samples of cheese.

While you might think it cheesy to wear a Halloween costume the day after Halloween, I smiled when I saw this princess ….

… who kept going back for more cheese.

As usual, I saw other cheesy items at the supermarket.

 

Ellen and I are both far from 29, so I didn’t buy that cheesy “cake mate” to celebrate.  By the way, I don’t think it’s cheesy for anyone to attain their heart’s desire (like a place near the ocean) late in life.

After my boyfriend Michael and I completed our cheesy food shopping last night, he made us veggie burgers with cheese (not pictured).

Here are several more slices of cheese for today’s cheese-filled post:

Say “cheese,” please, because studies have shown that smiling increases ease.

Thanks to all who helped me write this cheesy post and an extra slice of thanks to you — of course! — for eating it up.

Categories: humor, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , | 51 Comments

Post navigation

51 thoughts on “Day 1036: Cheese

  1. Have you seen that photo from a cheese case at a grocery store that reads: “Sweet dreams are made of cheese – who am I to dis a brie?”

  2. Is it pumpkin on Ellen’s plate?

  3. Did Michael make his veggie burger patties from scratch? If so, I’d love to have his recipe. We love veggie burgers and I’m still looking for the yummiest patty. Michael’s meals always look so good in your photos that I think he may have the secret recipe I’ve been looking for.

  4. I have friends whose two daughters dress as princesses every chance they get & it seems to be one of those little girl fashion trends as they aren’t the only ones.

  5. Is it mango or butternut? I just don’t think either would “cut” it.

  6. I remember the Python clip, a classic…thanks for including it !! Have a cheesy comestible kind of day, Ann. ☺

  7. Given recent reports that cheese is highly addictive your sister may be lucky to be allergic. Scientists blame chemicals called casomorphins that have an opioid effect. When I first heard that I thought they were saying “quesomorphins” and that this was a ploy by the soy cheese industry.
    Also I’ve made it my goal to try every cheese mentioned in Monty Python’s “Cheese Shop” sketch. I’ve crossed several off the list but I may have to draw the line at Venezuelan beaver cheese.

  8. Hi Ann, great post, even if a bit cheesy! Actually I am vegan but always loved cheese. I use Daiya shredded vegan cheese but for sandwiches, the best I’ve found is Field Roast Chao, a delicious cheese substitute in its texture, flavor and meltability. There are cultured and aged artisanal vegan cheeses now as well, but I haven’t tried them yet.

    Interesting topic especially since it was reported recently that cheese is actually addictive due to the digestive process converting some of its molecules to a casomorphine that the body treats as an opiate.

  9. I love the cheese rap! And don’t worry, this post is definitely not cheesy. Here’s a big cheesy grin for you 😀

  10. I wish I was not addicted to cheese – but I am – and I couldn’t resist the Monty Python sketch either.

  11. Maureen

    Cantaloupe? Papaya?

    • Maureen

      Your sister’s salad is minimalist. One blueberry? A partial slice of cucumber? Iceberg lettuce and a fraction of a radish? Whatever that orange slice was, I hope that it was sustaining!

    • Edam fine guesses, Maureen, but the answer is squash.

      Thanks for the cantaloupe, papaya, and all those bananas.

      • Pumpkin is squash!
        One slice of any sort of squash is not filling. What a curious salad. I imagine it was the “save room for Halloween treats” menu item?

      • That was a different kind of squash. It was all very curious and non-cheesy.

  12. I love my cheese and I do not think I would like it if I was allergic but I am not so I can enjoy my cheese

  13. Say ‘cheese’ is what’s often requested from people to smile before taking a photograph; yet some smiles never show teeth such as the Mona Lisa’s.

    • Good point about smiling and cheese, Maria. I wonder what Leonardo told the Mona Lisa to say, to get that particular smile?

  14. Say cheese! Wait a minute, who are YOU???

    “The painting was one of the first portraits to depict the sitter in front of an imaginary landscape, and Leonardo was one of the first painters to use aerial perspective. The enigmatic woman is portrayed seated in what appears to be an open loggia with dark pillar bases on either side. Behind her, a vast landscape recedes to icy mountains. Winding paths and a distant bridge give only the slightest indications of human presence. The sensuous curves of the woman’s hair and clothing are echoed in the undulating imaginary valleys and rivers behind her. The blurred outlines, graceful figure, dramatic contrasts of light and dark, and overall feeling of calm are characteristic of Leonardo’s style. Owing to the expressive synthesis that Leonardo achieved between sitter and landscape, it is arguable whether Mona Lisa should be considered as a traditional portrait, for it represents an ideal rather than a real woman. The sense of overall harmony achieved in the painting (especially apparent in the sitter’s faint smile), reflects the idea of a link connecting humanity and nature.”-Wiki

    • “The model, Lisa del Gioconda, was a member of the Gherardini family of Florence and Tuscany, and the wife of wealthy Florentine silk merchant Francesco del Gioconda. The painting is thought to have been commissioned for their new home, and to celebrate the birth of their second son, Andrea. The Italian name for the painting, La Gioconda, means “jocund” (“happy” or “jovial”) or, literally, “the jocund one”, a pun on the feminine form of Lisa’s married name, “Gioconda”. In French, the title La Joconde has the same meaning.
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mona_Lisa

    • Very interesting, Maria.

      I would argue that the Mona Lisa should be considered a portrait even if it represents the ideal woman, since every woman, in her own way, is an ideal woman, or even the ideal woman….

      • Yes, I think so also, it is a portrait of a soul, that’s is why it baffled many for so long. So maybe it is considered “ideal” because at the time, women wore jewellery (another of its ‘mysteries’) and he painted her without any, and her facial expression is also considered bold for a Renaissance woman.

  15. Jackie’s cauliflower cheese
    Crisply piquant
    Just the bees knees
    More and more I want

  16. “My limerick for Ellen has an extra line, but I wanted to give it an extra slice of cheese, for love and luck.” – How lovely 🙂

  17. Though full of cheese, I think your post is cheesy not a whit, Ann. I think it is a very gouda post. 🙂

    • And congratulations to your sister and her wife for the new place down by the sea-eee–eee-yeah as the Drifters sang it. Did they remain in the same wonderful town or move to another location altogether?

    • It’s very Gouda to see you here, Mark. If you Camembert more cheesy puns, check out the last video I posted. Although it might look like there’s no cheese there, Tim Minchin’s Cheese Song is Edam Gouda.

  18. I love cheese too … but have an allergic reaction when in excess or combined with other dairy products.
    Thanks for the not too cheesy post Ann!

  19. “If I should speak of the titles we reek of, I’m sure you would accuse me of swank. Dukes and marquises, we’re quite the big cheeses–there’s no family there quite so rank…” Monty Sipkin in George Gershwin’s 1925 musical, Tell Me More.

  20. Pingback: Day 1038: Determined | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

