Day 3853: Asking for what you want

In group and individual therapy, many people discuss their difficulties in asking for what they want.

Sometimes, people aren’t sure what they want. Other times, they know what they want but they dread the experience of asking for what they want and not getting it.

Even though asking for what you want and not getting it actually leaves you in the same situation as not asking at all, people dread the experience of rejection.

I can relate. I often have trouble asking for what I want, for fear that both the asker (me) and the askee (you?) will feel worse after the asking. Also, I’m afraid of being perceived as being

  • pushy,
  • greedy,
  • needy,
  • manipulative, and/or
  • foolish, if the outcome isn’t what I wanted.

Today, I am going to throw caution to the wind and ask for something that I want.

I want more people to subscribe to my YouTube channel.

There, I’ve said it!

Are we still okay?

Now I’m going to take this one step further and share the link to my YouTube channel so you can subscribe.

https://youtube.com/@orangecat53

Wow! I did it. I asked for what I want. And no matter what happens, it’s good.

Now, because that felt so good, I’m going to ask for something else I want: could you look at my images for today?

.

Here’s what I find when I search for “asking for what you want” on YouTube. (Hey! Maybe I should write a song about asking for what you want and publish it on YouTube!)

.

After watching that video, I feel even more comfortable asking you to leave a comment, below.

And in case you need to know how to subscribe to a YouTube channel…

Thanks to all who are here for this asking-for-what-you-want post, including YOU!

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Day 3853: Asking for what you want

  1. Done! That was easy. Thank you for asking 💐

  2. Here’s to building your list (and confidence to ask), Ann!

  3. thanks for asking and hello to you on YouTube!

  4. Done as well. As for asking for what I want … I can barely ask for what I want for my birthday. It’s easier, now that I live with my son. I only ask for things he either might or should want to give me. For my birthday this year, I asked him to take me to the new Guardians of the Galaxy (something he might want to give me) and for Mother’s Day, I requested that he take the Christmas stuff down to the basement. It had been sitting by the basement door since early January. And he did it! Whew!

  5. Sometimes when I ask for something I want it turns out to be so easy I wish I’d asked sooner.
    I’ve just asked YouTube to give me more Ann Koplow videos by subscribing. And, of course, it was so easy I wish I’d asked sooner. It seems like now would be a good time to ask for coconut cake.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.