Day 2327: Gifts

Yesterday, my life-long friend Barbara and I met for lunch and we gave each other gifts.  Those gifts included lunch, sunglasses,  great conversation, praise, appreciation, support, validation,  honesty,  hugs, and acknowledgements of the importance of our friendship.

I now offer you the gifts of the photos from yesterday:

IMG_5017

IMG_5018

IMG_5019

IMG_5020

IMG_5025

 

 

IMG_2600

IMG_5027

IMG_5028

Michael, who is a gift to me, gave the board members of the Northeastern Society for Group Psychotherapy the gift of those strombolis last night.

What’s the best gift you’ve ever gotten?  What’s the best gift you’ve ever given?

I’m also going to offer my readers the gift of a guessing game.  The photos, above,  show my Mother’s Day gift from a family member.  You can give me the gift of your guesses in the comments section, below.

As I look forward to the gift of another day on this earth, here‘s the “Simple Gifts” section from Aaron Copland‘s Appalachian Spring, conducted by Leonard Bernstein.

I end each post with the gift of gratitude.  Many thanks to all who helped me create today’s blog and — of course! — to you, my readers (who are always a gift to me).

fullsizeoutput_38a7

Categories: friendship, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Day 2327: Gifts

  1. What a gift of a day! Nothing like friendship. And a boyfriend who can cook!! Love your smiles

  2. I have received too many great gifts to decide on any ‘best,’ Ann. In the moment I fall for the gift and the giver right in front of me!
    Your sister must be mighty OK to give you that gift, is my guess.
    And you and Barbara do look mighty classy in those shades. Have a great day.

    • In the moment, I fall for the gift of this comment and the giver right in front of me!

      And you fell for my tricky guessing game, Mark. The only person who gave me a gift this past Mother’s Day was Michael, and it was THE BAG OF SPINACH (which I totally fell for).

  3. Joanne

    Each day is a gift…

  4. You’re are the gifted person who keeps on giving. (*˘︶˘*).。.:*♡

    • My original title for this post was “Gifts that Keep on Giving.” Thank you for keeping on, NBC, and for all the gifts you bring!

  5. Ladies classy enough for the shades (I know – I’m a creep)

  6. I’ll guess it’s the sweatshirt from your sister.

    • Thanks for the gift of your guess and for your presence, Carol. See my answer to Mark, above, about my Mother’s Day gift.

  7. Nothing like a day with your best friend… unless it’s a day with your daughter who lives a continent away! You asked, “What’s the best gift you’ve ever gotten? What’s the best gift you’ve ever given?” My husband and our children were my greatest gifts – gifts from God. I treasure them every minute. The best gift I can (and do) give is my time. Nothing is more precious! I give it whenever I can to whomever I can in all the places I can… and with it I carry lotsa love and hugs. ❤ Here's a hug for you, Ann. ❤

  8. OMG! Those strombolis would be gift enough for me!

  9. My guess is that the “World’s Okayest Sister” is yours.
    The best gift I ever received was a surprise trip to Atlanta. The best part was the surprise, although seeing Cirque du Soleil was great too.

    • Surprise, Chris! The “World’s Okayest Sister” is NOT mine. See my answer to Mark, above, for the gift of the answer. And, as always, your comments are a gift to me.

  10. I don’t know what my favorite gift would be, Ann. Nothing quickly comes to mind, but I’m guessing I’ll be thinking about that for awhile. I am delighted you had time with your good friend, Barbara, and as I say that, I do think that the gift of friendship rates very high on my list. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Day 2369: Celebrating | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  12. Pingback: Day 2370: Based on a true story | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  13. Pingback: Day 2442: Everybody’s somebody’s _______ | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.