Day 1901: March Madness

While “March Madness” usually refers to the U.S. National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament, I’m going to write about different kinds of March Madness.

Yesterday, I spoke with people about how many losses and deaths we had experienced in the month of March. It seemed like madness when we listed the beloved relatives and friends who had passed away during this one month.

Is it madness that I had this conversation with my dear friend, Megan?

Me:  My father died in March,  but I can’t believe how many people you’ve lost in March.

Megan: It’s crazy!

Me:  It’s traumatizing! I’ll tell you what. In the future, if it looks like I’m going to die in the month of March, I’ll make sure they keep me on life support until I make it to April.

Megan (laughing):  Thank you!

Me: Then maybe I’ll die on April 1st.  I think that’s a good day to die.

Is it madness to talk about our own deaths and to laugh about loss? For me, it helps dispel the madness.

How are you dealing with this year’s madnesses in March?  Personally, I’m glad U.S. students and their families are marching for their lives in March. It’s madness that there’s so much gun violence in the United States.

Was it madness for me to take any of these March photos?

 

IMG_7607

IMG_7630

 

IMG_7633

IMG_7629

IMG_7624

Here‘s the March madness of Metallica playing “Hero of the Day” with the San Francisco Symphonic Orchestra:

Thanks to all the heroes of the day who helped me create this March Madness blog post and — of course! — to YOU.

IMG_7604

Categories: friendship, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Day 1901: March Madness

  1. I think we need to march on toward April any way we can, Ann.

  2. Time’s forward march makes us all mad as March hares. April showers are just around the corner, though, and soon it’ll be time for poisoning pigeons in the park.

    • “Then you should say what you mean,” the March Hare went on.

      “I do,” Alice hastily replied; “at least – at least I mean what I say – that’s the same thing, you know.”

      “Not the same thing a bit!” said the Hatter. “Why, you might just as well say that ‘I see what I eat’ is the same thing as ‘I eat what I see’!”

      “You might just as well say,” added the March Hare, “that ‘I like what I get’ is the same thing as ‘I get what I like’!”

      I like what I get from you, Chris.

  3. I’m so sorry for your losses. Is this the anniversary of the deaths or did these all just occur? So unfair. Sending love.

  4. Madness is all seasons when Harley is around!

  5. Wow, my mentor died on March 17,2005. My mother did ten days later on the 27th. Glad you’re waiting until April 1…..2055!

  6. I think that it isn’t.
    Yet, if I am wrong…. open the windows, turn up the volume and have blast 👏💃🏻🎈💃🏻🎈👏💛

  7. My friend Norman actually died on 27th February. He will be buried next Saturday. We had talked about his readiness to go – that was very sane

  8. Pingback: Day 2364: Where would you go in a time machine? | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.