Day 1504: Pardon our appearance

Pardon me for noticing, but people seem very concerned about appearances.

Pardon the appearance of two signs of that in today’s blog.

img_8798

img_8799

Are there appearances of anything that need pardoning there?

Pardon me for this: When I’m not at my best, I often want to be pardoned for my appearance.

Please pardon the appearance of the ten pounds I’ve gained since my heart surgery in September.

Pardon the appearance, here,  of Judd Apatow‘s explanation for recent weight gain:

“It’s very hard to lose weight in the Trump era, I’m trying so hard to have it not turn into 30 pounds. I think it tests our ability to not want to numb out. There’s so many things that are hard to hear every day that you do want to have some Oreos. Like people say, what do you invest in during the Trump era? I feel like, Hostess Cakes. Most of us are just scared and eating ice cream.”

Pardon the appearance of other photos I took yesterday.

img_8787

img_8789

img_8790

img_8791

img_8792

img_8793

 

img_8800

img_8797

img_8795

Pardon several appearances of a classic tune about pardoning appearances (appearing here, here, herehere, and here on YouTube).

 

Pardon the appearance of one more photo to express my gratitude to all who have appeared in this post today and to you — of course! — no matter what your appearance, here and now.

img_8796

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 49 Comments

Post navigation

49 thoughts on “Day 1504: Pardon our appearance

  1. No pardon required, your appearance is always welcome Ann ❤️ You are one in a billion. Enjoy the snow day today!

  2. Always welcome an appearance from you Ann! I love that green house #107- what a beauty!

  3. The appearance of this post in my inbox needed no pardoning, Ann.

  4. Holy crap, that appears to be a lot of snow! And weight gain under stress happens. Last year preparing to list, then staging, showing and successfully selling our NYC apartment and shlepping tons of stuff to donate, discard or take to our place in PA, plus a new and scary health issue with my spouse put 10 pounds on me too.

  5. In my best Carl Rogers impersonation: (and taking a risk with your readers)

    So what I’m sensing Ann is that there is a lot of stress in your life. Let’s gently focus on the political stressor that you and many others are experiencing and maybe we can integrate this differently?

    When the last President was inaugurated, there were many of us who felt that same sense of impending dread and doom. Most of us quickly moved on, being of good cheer and continuing to take responsibility for how we lived our lives while we paid attention to the political arena. Eight years later, we realized that although things were not as we might have wanted, we had survived. The point I ask you to consider is that if people like me survived eight years of a president we strongly disagreed with, you too will likely survive whatever is the term of this president and the choice is yours.

    In the words of the late, great Zig Ziglar, “If you can’t change the facts, you might as well change the attitude.”

    No charge for this session and I stress that this message was delivered in soft, empathetic tone. Now, as far as the snow and not being able to get about, it would be a good day to get the clothes off that treadmill and go for a walk.

  6. Ahhhh….thanks for all those “Funny Valentines”.

  7. By all appearances, somebody got a lot of snow!

    As far as those ten pounds go, they are lucky to have you.You are a very nice person to hang around with.

  8. I do not see anything to be pardoned about these photos at all. They are great!

  9. My Trump diet needs to change or I may be unrecognizable in 4 years and need a HUGE appearance pardon!

  10. You appear to have fun again today, Ann, and that’s good enough for me.

  11. Granted 🙂

  12. Ann, dear friend, pardon me if I say that MY life is too precious to ruin over who is President. Period. Now more then ever I dive into fully living, accepting those things I know I have no power to change, and accepting those things I CAN change. My attitude. My embracing fun. I will not allow anyone or anything to kill my JOY. Like you with your health challenges, I’ve worked too long and hard to obtain my JOY back, something that was “sick” in me. I’ve also recently gained some weight and I will not pardon my appearance even at the gym where these youngins strut their stuff. I strut my stuff even with those rolls! I have rolls now where I never did, and just last evening in taking a shower I felt those rolls and told me I LOVE those rolls. I’m getting a wee bit plumper, and I will not pardon my appearance. What is important is how I feel and I feel GOOD. Come on, dear Ann, put the air back in your sails again. I did it. So can you!! Sending Love and BIG (((HUGS))) ❤

  13. Pardon me, not a saying you hear very often now days, more likely to hear what ya say, or maybe that is just the people I know including me

  14. Your appearance is just fine, and I think I might take Apatow’s advice to have a few Oreos daily. In difficult times we need little things and a few extra pounds might really be an improvement.

  15. Two things stood out to me: Trump era and ice cream. They reminded me of a meeting I was in that had not one things to do with Mr. Trump. But a gentleman sitting at my table was somehow able to bring any conversation we were having back around to Mr. Trump and how much fear this gentleman was in because of Mr. Trump. Me being me told him “what does Trump have to do with our conversation”? I gave him my card and told him to buy my biography that I wrote about my father, that it was very inspiring and perhaps it would distract him from so much fear of one person who does not have all power. The ice cream remark reminded me that I am diabetic and if I fall prey to that same fear I may buy some ice cream and possibly go into a diabetic coma. I do not want to let our political issues cause me such stress. I think in our minds we give people way too much power over our personal thoughts and feelings. Pardon me for being so blunt, but allowing ourselves to become a part of seeming disaster helps disaster to win. I believe that whatever is best for our country will happen. Through the people who don’t give in to their despair but continue to work for what is right. There, that is my American Soapbox speech. Wish they had a flag emoji.

  16. Another friend in New England is sending me pictures of the snow appearance at his home. It appears I am a bit jealous. We haven’t had the appearance of snow and I kind of like it for winter. But then again….I like the sun. I’m constantly perplexed. 🙂

  17. I have pardoned you a long time ago Grumpy!

    • “pardon (n.)
      late 13c., “papal indulgence,” from Old French pardon, from pardoner “to grant; forgive” (11c., Modern French pardonner), “to grant, forgive,” from Vulgar Latin *perdonare “to give wholeheartedly, to remit,” from Latin per “through, thoroughly” (see per) + donare “give, present”.
      Meaning “passing over an offense without punishment” is from c. 1300, also in the strictly ecclesiastical sense; sense of “pardon for a civil or criminal offense; release from penalty or obligation” is from late 14c. earlier in Anglo-French. Weaker sense of “excuse for a minor fault” is attested from 1540s.”

  18. Pardon my reappearance, but I just want to thank you for prompting me to go to a friend’s jazz concert this afternoon, where they sang My Funny Valentine

  19. Pardon me for intruding. Oh wait, I bet you hoped I would.

  20. Anything that is New England Patriot appearance related needs no pardoning… What so ever!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

