Day 391: What is the opposite of dreadful?

I chose the title of today’s post because:

  1. It’s a question, and I endorse the Socratic method (which is just a smart-sounding way of saying that I like a style of learning and teaching that involves questions and answers 1 ).
  2. I sometimes enjoy intentionally misleading people for a brief time, before explaining things. In this case, I’m guessing that my readers are thinking that this post is about something that it actually is NOT about. (At least, not intentionally.)

(pause, allowing you to think about all THAT)

Anyway, so what IS this post about?  What else do I want to say about the title?

The inspiration for this post was my waking up this morning, realizing that my trip to Panama is about two weeks away, and …

(drum roll)

… noticing that I am not filled with dread.

Right now, I am carefully checking my dread level, to see how much dread there actually is. I’m imagining a gauge, like this:

gas-gauge2

DREAD

And …. I’ve got nothing.

So, while the Dread Gauge above, would indicate being full of dread, or — perhaps — “dreadful”, what’s the word for being the opposite of that, which is what I am, right now?

In other words, would this gauge …..

Image2

be a pictorial representation of being “dreadless”?

Well, my dear readers, you’re probably noticing that I’m playing around with words right now.  And why? Is this avoidance, of something important?

And what does it mean that I want to keep playing with that word “dreadless”? Well, it could just be a reflection of the fact that I made that word up, so I’m naturally imagining different definitions, like this:

(Note: The above video is thanks to Boost467 and contains language meant for “mature audiences.”)

Well, I’m not sure if I’m avoiding something. Maybe I’m just having fun.   But I do know that I DID want to go other places, in this post, including:

  1. I wanted to give myself credit for making progress. That is, I was feeling more dread during the two weeks prior to my last trip, to London. (Check out these posts hereherehereherehereherehereherehere hereherehereherehere, here, and here — written during that two-week period.) (In some of those posts, the dread is more obvious than others. But it’s there. I know.)
  2. I wanted to think about what’s been helping, in making me dreadless, today.

What’s different about my upcoming trip? A few things I can think of, including:

  • This time, I’m traveling with another adult, who is helping with the planning.
  • Since my last trip, I have completed my last will and testament.
  • For whatever reasons, I am more at peace with my own mortality.

What else has been helping me be dreadless?  I’m not sure, but my best guess is the big two, according to Sigmund Freud: 3

  1. Work.
  2. Love.

Okay!  This post is now the opposite of endless.

Thanks to Sigmund Freud, Busta Rhymes, those who dread flying, people who dread death, and — of course! — to you, for reading today.


  1.  Here’s a video (posted by dieterwanke) of one of my favorite tunes — “Question and Answer” by Pat Metheny, whom I’ve written about, here, here, here, here, and here. It doesn’t include the complete performance, but I’m choosing this because it also features Michael Brecker, one of my favorite sax players, may he rest in peace.

  1. Yes, this is another number 1. Yes, I know I already had a footnote #1, above. However,  no matter how I try to fix this, WordPress insists on re-starting the footnote count. And yes, I’ve tried EVERYTHING to fix this (although, as George Carlin might say, “apparently not”).  So, for now, I’m going along with this WordPress glitch. What did I originally want to say in this footnote?  Two things: (1) I’m still thinking of car-related metaphors a lot. Am I driving too much? (2) I found that image here.

  2.  I found that image here, at a place for free stock images. Good to know.

  3. Perhaps you thought this footnote would include data supporting this. It doesn’t. It’s dataless.

Categories: humor, inspiration, personal growth | Tags: , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Day 391: What is the opposite of dreadful?

  1. I love your taste in music. I love that you’re traveling without fear.
    And most of all, I love that “dreadless” pretty much conjured up the exact same image for me.
    Oh, I get you, Ann. Yes, I do.

  2. I can only remember a couple of times when I’ve experienced real dread and both had to do with my health. The first time was after running a 5k for the very first time in my life (less than 2 years ago) and feeling like I was going to die and not just right after the race but days later. After talking about it with my principal and good friend I felt much better. I’d been going through a very stressful time in my life and it seems that I was suffering from PTS. The second time occurred last winter when I couldn’t shake a respiratory infection. My mother died at the age I am now and just before her demise she was suffering from pneumonia. My doctor helped me through that one and assured me that I was okay. I hope your dread of travelling will pass soon so that you can enjoy your trip.

    • No dread here. Thanks for sharing about your experience of dread. Often my dread has to do with my health or fears about my health, too.

  3. D.A. Lavoie

    Hi, since you were following the Blog Migration-X3, I take the liberty to leave you this message to inform you that Migration-X3 has been deleted. From now on, the same Blog and its content have the name of D.A. Lavoie, and the address is: http://dalavoie.wordpress.com . So I ask you to take note of this and it will be a real pleasure to greet you there! Have a nice day, D.A. Lavoie.

    • Thanks for letting me know. I hope you’re having a nice day wherever your location is.

      • D.A. Lavoie

        Hi…I live in Canada…and for the change, the message I mean, it was my pleasure…I consider it a privilege ti have people like you following me. Have a great week.

      • It is a privilege to connect with you here. Thanks so much.

  4. Content. As in satisfied with the way things are in your life right this very second. Also: The content of your post today leaves my feeling dreadless. Thanks, Ann.

  5. Dread can be a suffocating feeling. I am so happy that you are experiencing none in association for this trip ahead and that you will be able to focus on the beauty of Panama.

  6. Stay dreadless! It sounds as if you have a positive plan for traveling. Concentrate on the glory of adventure, of seeing new places, meeting new people, acquiring new knowledge about another country. If you run into a snag or two, you can deal with it. You’ve done it before. Have a joyous trip.

  7. my thesaurus tells me that the opposite of dreadful is lovely. Have a lovely trip!
    Diana xo

  8. Pingback: Day 392: Possibilities, Patience, and “IM” | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  9. I still can’t believe I planned and executed a 10-day trip to Italy a couple years ago with just my 20-something daughter and myself. My stomach was in knots a good part of the time, but it was awesome. I guess I had the Just Do It! mentality and pushed through. It was scary at times, as we didn’t speak the language and I’m not used to being the planner. A great accomplishment, and a boost for future “dreadless” experiences!

  10. Dreadless + Pat Metheny and Michael Brecker = wonderful. Thanks for your simultaneously witty, meaty and musical post, Ann. I am off to ponder how to cultivate the elusive dreadlessness. Bon voyage to you!

    • Thank you for this kind + observant + meaty comment, which then = me being happy (and dreadless, too). Great to see you here.

  11. Pingback: Day 659: Undone | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  12. Pingback: Day 1068: Dread | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.