Day 70: Questions and Answers (and The Liebster Blog Award)

First question of this post:  What is the Liebster  Blog Award?

First answer of this post: It is, apparently, a kind of tag-team award that WordPress bloggers give each other.  Last week, frankiedman, a blogger whom I respect and follow here,  tagged me for this award.

Here are the “rules of engagement” for the Liebster Blog Award:

  1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
  2. Answer the questions that the tagger has set for you plus create 11 questions for the people you’ve tagged to answer.
  3. Choose 11 people and link them in your post.
  4. Go to their page and tell them.
  5. No tag backs!

It took me about a week to respond back to frankiedman’s tag, but today’s the day!

I’m glad to participate in this (despite my I’ve-never-done-this-before anxiety).  The format appeals to my natural affinity for questions and answers.

I enjoy games that involve questions and answers.  As a matter of fact, I will take any opportunity to turn a regular conversation into a game of 20 Questions, by asking  the following question at any point:

“Wanna guess?”

As in, “Hey, something really unusual happened to me today.  Wanna guess?”

When I’m at my best at my job (as a psychotherapist), I’m in touch with my natural curiosity about people.

The last place I worked (before my current job)  was a day program where we did groups all day.  In the last group of the day — which was called “Wrap Up” —  we would end that group with a Wrap Up Question, which everybody — staff and clients — answered.

Here are some of the Wrap Up questions I heard and answered during my 12 years there:

  1. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor?
  2. If you were to write the story of your life, what might be the title?
  3. What’s a nickname you’ve had or one that you would give yourself?
  4. What was your favorite book, when you were a kid?
  5. If they made a movie of your life, what actor would you choose to play you?
  6. What’s your fantasy job?
  7. Who is your favorite musician?
  8. Who is somebody you admire?
  9. What’s your favorite movie?
  10. What’s a song you’d choose for your “theme song”?
  11. If you could be any animal for a day, what would you be (and why)? 

When I first interviewed for a job at that day program, I liked a lot of what I saw.  Attending the Wrap Up meeting sealed the deal for me — I knew I wanted to work there. Why? Because I loved the curiosity and playfulness in that ritual of questions at the end of the day.  I appreciated that everybody answered the questions. I liked that anybody could pose the question.  I loved the questions. I loved the answers.

So thank you, Frankiedman, for nominating me for this award, and inviting me to participate in a Festival of questions and answers.

For the 11 things to reveal about myself, I’m going to answer those Wrap Up questions I posted above.

  1. My favorite ice cream flavor is Cinnamon Chocolate Chip.
  2. The title for a book about my life?  Perhaps “I’m Making This Up As I Go,”  (a line from “Raiders of the Lost Ark”).
  3. I never had a nick-name.  People have called me “Annie,” every once in a while, but that doesn’t fit for me.  I like the idea of the nick-name “Ace.”
  4. My favorite book when I was a kid was “Charlotte’s Web.”
  5. I would choose the actress Debra Winger to play me.
  6. My fantasy job is back-up singer for a musician I love (although my current job is getting close to a fantasy job).
  7. My favorite musician is Pat Metheny, the jazz guitarist.
  8. Somebody I admire is my son.
  9. My favorite movie is the Gene Kelly musical “Singin’ in the Rain.”
  10. The theme song I’d choose today is “I Can See Clearly Now.”
  11. If I could be any animal for a day, I would choose to be a duck, because a duck can fly in the air, walk on land, and swim in the water (and it can quack).

I will now answer the 11 questions that Frankiedman asked when he nominated people:

  1. What’s your favorite food?

Pasta!

  1. Why did you start blogging?

Because I was working on a book that was a combination of a Memoir and Therapy Ideas, and a friend suggested that I try blogging.  And it’s a great fit for the way I like to communicate, with freedom, flexibility, and interactivity.

  1. Name one thing you would like to do before leaving this earth.

One long-standing one was to go to a Red Sox World Series game, which I did in 2007.   I want to travel to several places including Italy, Greece, and Peru (I’m fascinated by ancient ruins).

  1. Where do you live?

Massachusetts, USA.

  1. What time is it?

7:54 AM as I’m writing this line. It’s the Monday after a Daylight Savings time change.  I usually feel very cranky and “off” the Monday after a time change, but so far, so good.

  1. Whats the weirdest thing you have ever eaten?

A recipe I made once with beets and cheese. Never again.

  1. Whats your favorite childhood movie?

“West Side Story.”  (I don’t remember any kids movies I saw, and I remember loving that movie so much when I was a kid.)

  1. Why did the chicken cross the road?

Because that was exactly where it was supposed to be.

  1. Are you having fun yet?

Absolutely

  1. Do you have pets?

I have a cat named Oscar.

  1. Whats your favorite animal?

Felines.

Here are 11 bloggers I enjoy reading here,  and whom I’m “tagging” to participate in this Liebster Award chain.  I’m asking them to answer the same 11 Wrap Up Questions I answered.

http://teetotalfortwo.wordpress.com/

http://thegirlinthehat.wordpress.com/

http://5kidswdisabilities.com/

http://morristownmemos.wordpress.com/  (she already has received this award, so she requested that I pass it on to a 12th blogger)

http://aopinionatedman.com/

http://urbanwallart.wordpress.com/

http://binabrakken.wordpress.com/

http://corngoblin.wordpress.com/

http://gongjumonica.wordpress.com/

http://parentingandstuff.wordpress.com/

http://meganhasocd.com/

http://cristianmihai.net/about/

Thanks  to the bloggers above. And thanks for reading, everybody!  And feel free to answer any of these questions (or pose your own).

Categories: personal growth | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Day 70: Questions and Answers (and The Liebster Blog Award)

  1. I love this award/game. Its so interesting to see the many different answers. Thanks for participating 🙂

    • Thank you for nominating me and letting me enter this wonderful way to connect more with other bloggers. I really appreciate it.

  2. 최다해 gongjumonica

    Congratulations and I am glad to see that we both have the same favorite food 🙂 It is fun reading some facts about yourself. They made your readers get to know you more.

    Thank you also for nominating me for this award. I am glad that you have thought of me as one of your nominees. 🙂

    I have some giveaways ongoing in my site so if you want to have a free paperback book and journal, please head over my site and join. It is open internationally 🙂

    • Thanks so much, to another pasta lover. And it was my pleasure to nominate you. I enjoy your posts.

      And thanks for the information about the give-away. I entered the contest. Maybe I’ll win!

  3. Thank you so much for nominating me – it’s really made my day! Looking forward to answering your ‘tag’ questions 🙂 Love reading this blog – you have a real way with words!

    • Thank you for your comments, and I’m so glad that the nomination made your day. I enjoy your blog, very much.

  4. Thank you so much for honoring me with this award nomination. I am truly touched by this acknowledgement to my writing. But since I already have the Liebster Award I would love it you to offer it to another blogger. Thanks again for your confidence, and congratulations for your winning the award for your writing.

  5. Okay, so we’re both called Annie and love West Side Story and I was going to name my firstborn Oscar (thank god she’s a girl). Congrats and thanks to you! It sounds like we’re both working on similar things right now, memoirish things. Thanks again. –a

    • You are most welcome. It is amazing when you find out things you have in common with somebody else. I’m glad we are having the opportunity to experience that here. And thanks so much for your blog.

  6. Pingback: The Liebster Blog Award | Teetotal for two

  7. Pingback: Day 88: Asking questions | The Year of Living Non-Judgmentally

  8. Pingback: Day 187: On awards, chain-letters, and doing the next right thing | The Year of Living Non-Judgmentally

  9. Pingback: Day 203: Will | The Year of Living Non-Judgmentally

  10. Pingback: Day 391: What is the opposite of dreadful? | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  11. Pingback: Day 442: Questions and Answers (again) | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  12. Pingback: Day 610: See the world | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  13. Pingback: Day 651: What have we got? | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

