Day 486: May Day! Mayday!

So today is the first of May, also known (in some parts) as May Day. Here’s what Wikipedia says about that:

May Day on May 1 is an ancient Northern Hemisphere spring festival and usually a public holiday;[1] it is also a traditional spring holiday in many cultures. May Day coincides with International Workers’ Day, and in many countries that celebrate the latter, it may be referred to as “May Day”.

As usual, wherever I go and whatever I find, I learn something new.  Here’s what I’m noticing about that introductory paragraph about May Day:

  1. The first day of May is “usually a public holiday”.  I guess that means that it’s accustomed and appropriate to celebrate today, in a public way.
  2. According to the ending of that paragraph, it’s okay to put a period (and I assume, also, a comma) outside of quotations marks. I’ve always thought that was a no-no, but I guess I should give myself more leeway — that is, be more accepting of different punctuation options. Notice that I am celebrating that particular freedom in public right now (see the first sentence in #1, directly above).

Now, there IS another definition of “May Day,” as some of you may know.

When I looked that up,  I  discovered that one is spelled differently.  From Wikipedia, again:

Mayday is an emergency procedure word used internationally as a distress signal in voice procedure radio communications. It may derive from the French expression “venez m’aider”, meaning “come help me”, the last two syllables of which sound similar to “Mayday”. Alternatively, it may have been coined randomly, making the similarity to “m’aidez” coincidental.[1]

As often occurs, conclusions are controversial. According to that description, either

  1. Mayday derives from the French expression “venez m’aider” or
  2. it doesn’t,

which about covers it.

So, today is May Day. Also, I DO have some urge to yell “Mayday!”*

Why that urge?

  • It has been friggin’ raining here for days, the weather has been cold, and it’s my favorite time of the year (spring).
  • Even if it weren’t friggin’ raining, I have friggin’ pneumonia, and every little thing I do is still exhausting.

Which about covers it.

So how shall I celebrate this day?  I mean, I really should, whether or not I do that in public.

What would make the day more festive?

Well,  I will have fun companions today (who may frolic), including these:

Image

I also have a new, beautiful gift I may enjoy, given to me yesterday by my long-time friend, Deb:

Image

Now, while Deb seems to be showing off Michael’s Tony the Tiger mug (which contains our favorite tea, Bengal Spice) (which also has a  tiger on the packaging), the gift she brought is in the lower right of that photo. It’s a little blue vase which Deb created, in a glass-blowing class. Which I find mind-blowing.

And definitely something I may celebrate, on this May Day.

Thanks to Deb, to tigers everywhere, to Celestial Seasonings (for the tea), to those who may celebrate May Day, and to you — but of course! — for visiting with me today.


* Which May or May Not be immediately understood by my French-speaking readers.

Categories: inspiration, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 44 Comments

Post navigation

44 thoughts on “Day 486: May Day! Mayday!

  1. Happy May Day, Ann, but:

    1. If you start putting punctuation outside quotation marks because you see such atrocities committed by Wikipedia, I may have to invoke said site’s alternate definition of said phrase.

    2. The mind-blowing, glass-blowed blue vase in in the left corner of the photo, not the right. Was that a test for May Day?

  2. And- In Estonia (that’s right, pull out the world maps 😀 ) the night of 30th of April to 1st of May is celebrated by the witches! 🙂 Bonfires, people dressing up as witched and pull out the broomsticks 🙂 Nope, I’m not kidding. It’s a great day out for kids… Google Walpurgisnacht for more background 🙂 ..

    • Great to know! I will look that up right now. Thanks for reading and for this illuminating comment.

      • It’s actually a German thing but since I’m Estonian I just spread the info that I surely know of 😀 Interesting blog btw.. I’m glad I found it.

    • Here‘s the Wikipedia link for Walpurgisnacht. And thank you for the compliment!

  3. Thank you for offering the possible explanation for May Day as a translation from the French. It’s always nice to see a connection that was missing before, but now makes sense. And I hope you’re feeling better.

  4. So… I did not pass the test. but then, I am directionally challenged so I am giving myself permission to get an A with the fact, I figured the blue vase was the gift even before I read your words! 🙂

    And happy May Day to you — this is the day to wear flowers in your hear, dance around the Maypole with ribbons flowing and weaving in and out!

  5. I’ve also always heard of the distress call as a corruption of m’aidez.
    On the other hand, the Morse code of S.O.S is used because the pattern is easy to remember when a ship is in trouble. and easy to recognize on the other side. “Save Our Ship” was retrofitted to it.
    Or so I’ve heard.

  6. I would love for May Day to actually be a public holiday! And, I have seen that people put together May Day baskets.. what is this and how do I get in on that action? 😉

  7. Before I got to your clarification, I thought to myself, “That mug is g-r-r-r-reat. OH! look at that blue glass!”

    Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  8. Knocked out by Deb’s glass-blowing, and can easily see why you were, Ann. What a clever lady ! And as to Celestial Seasonings … words are not sufficient to describe their range and their deliciousness. I reckon you’re on the path to improvement ! 🙂

  9. Mags Corner

    What a beautiful and special gift, love the color. Hope you have had a blessed and wonderful May Day. Hugs

  10. It’s a beautiful vase. Thank goodness for friends like Deb. I hope you spent part of May Day relaxing and focusing on your recovery. Just saying. Hugs!

  11. May the month get better and better.

  12. It was friggin’ raining here yesterday, as well – more like April showers than May Day! We in the UK get a public holiday for May Day but because it has to be on a Monday, it only falls on May Day itself every few years.
    Love the blue glass vase! I’ve always loved blue glass.

  13. My eye was riveted to the inspirational blue of the blue glass, so I missed the tiger tea!.

  14. There’s always so much to take in and stimulate in your posts Ann. I was distracted because Deb looks very familiar to me …. She looks like such a good friend 🙂
    Hope you are feeling better every day!

  15. I was always happy as a child to bring flowers to my mom on May Day…a tradition with my family and friends (to their mothers), and thought this was what the holiday was about for such a long time… Then started learning about all the traditions around the world on this day, pretty cool. It is the Labor Day weekend over here (3 days of holiday in China), so I’m liking it quite a bit!

    Hope all is well, and I’ll send you some flowers in my thoughts 🙂

  16. Pingback: Day 491: Rejection, Schmejection (the sequel) | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  17. Pingback: Day 506: Random thoughts about art | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  18. Pingback: Day 637: Vivid | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  19. Pingback: Day 1217: It’s May! | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.