Day 4142: Lists

I’ve got lists of things I need to do to prepare for my live album taping/concert (coming up soon!). Those lists include decisions about my set list — how many of my original tunes to perform and in what order.

When I feel insecure and scared about doing something for the first time, it helps to list what I do know. For example, it just occurred to me that here in this blog, every day, I make decisions about what to include and in what order, and that works out okay. Some people might think my lists are too long or too short and might disagree with my choices, but (1) you can’t please everybody and (2) maybe people aren’t as judgmental as I fear.

In therapy, I’ve been working on some very old, fixed beliefs, including

  • I can’t be heard,
  • It’s not safe, and
  • If I put myself out there, terrible things will happen.

I’m trying to replace that list of unhelpful beliefs with new ways of thinking.

Do you see more lists in my other images for today?

.

Some lists are longer than others. I’ll try to observe World Laughter Day as I (1) do my daily Tai Chi routine, (2) talk to my friend Jeanette, (3) work on the invitation to my concert, (4) take a singing lesson, (5) practice my drumming, (6) go food shopping with my husband Michael, (7) talk to my son and his father, (8) run through my entire set list, and (9) get ready for work tomorrow.

Suddenly, I’m exhausted. Maybe lists don’t always help.

Here’s what I find when I search for “lists” on YouTube.

.

What are you thoughts and feelings about lists?

Here’s a list of what I’m thankful for, here and now:

  • Being alive another day,
  • People I love,
  • Having many original songs to share with others,
  • Cats,
  • Flowering trees,
  • People who inspire me,
  • Those who answer my questions, and
  • YOU!
Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Day 4142: Lists

  1. I tend to scrawl lists on a scrap of paper and leave it behind . Which I’ve come to think is the process of wring the list must offer me some measure in confit and not so much in the use of it. Chewbacca is my fav character in Star Wars, a kind, funny gentle giant who doesn’t worry about how his hair looks.

  2. I love lists. I’ve made them for years. I used to make long lists of thing I hoped to accomplish in a day. I was lucky to get one thing done. But I still made the lists. Today my list is 2 things. Kitchen/Office. But it’s Sunday, so I think I just might get done what I can before 2 and then settle down to watch a movie I put on my movie list. Frosted. With Jerry Seinfeld. Just found out it’s on Netflix. 🙂

    • Replying to myself. What a doofus. But I thought I might add that lists can help you feel better about not doing a thing today. It’s on your list for tomorrow – or Friday or starting next month. Whatever. It just doesn’t have to get done today. But it’s on a list, so it *will* be done. You can forget about it for now.

  3. “I’m trying to replace that list of unhelpful beliefs with new ways of thinking.” Hear, hear! I find lists helpful in sorting out my thoughts. I like Chewbacca and Yoda. 😊

  4. I think “Start making lists” should be on my list of ways to be better organized. Also I can relate to all the people who contributed to the list of their favorite Star Wars characters. Every character has an important part to play, though I still like the Jawas best.

  5. Good luck with your recording session–you’ll do great!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.