Day 506: Random thoughts about art

This post is dedicated to my long-time friend, Deb, whose birthday it is today.

I’ve chosen quite a risky topic, this morning. Why risky?  (1) Art is a BIG topic and (2) this is the first morning, in over a month, that I have to be at work by 9 AM.1

So let’s see if I can pull this off.

I just went to my friend, Google, for some initial help in composing this post. I asked, “What is art?” and here is Google’s first line of response to my plea:

About 3,430,000,000 results (0.41 seconds)

No matter what you think about (1) numbers and (2) Google, you have to agree: That’s a lot of results, really fast.

NOW where do we go, with over THREE BILLION choices?

Let’s take the very next response, from Google:

art

noun
1.
the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture, producing works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power.
“the art of the Renaissance”
synonyms: fine art, artwork
works produced by human creative skill and imagination.
“his collection of modern art”
synonyms: fine art, artwork More
creative activity resulting in the production of paintings, drawings, or sculpture.
“she’s good at art”
2.
the various branches of creative activity, such as painting, music, literature, and dance.
“the visual arts”

I think Google gave us a good enough definition, to start. What do you think?

For the next random thought about art, let’s look closer to home. By “closer to home,” I mean, what have I written about art, in this blog?

When I search all my posts for the word “art,” 419 of them came up.  That’s a BIG percentage of all the posts I’ve written.  To be precise, 82.970297% of the posts I’ve written include “art” in some way (at least, according to WordPress search).

However, only two of my posts include the word “art” in the title:

Day 290: The Healing Power of Art

Day 45: Mistakes, where art thou sting?

What does that tell us?  Well, for one thing, there’s more than one meaning of the word “art.”

NOW what do I do?  I can think of SO many places to go next, in this post.

Perhaps, this, which I found at my office, yesterday, will help guide me:

Image

Yes, that’s helpful, but WHICH next step?

I could ask you what you think art is — including your favorite pieces of art.

I could point out that even in Day 45 — a post where the word “art” is just the archaic form of “is/are” — my tags included musical artists Bernard Hermann and John Williams.

I could ask you to complete this sentence: One person’s art is another person’s ____.2

I could write about my friend Deb, who:

  1. is having a birthday today,
  2. is a blown-glass artist,
  3. appears in Day 486: May Day! May Day!, and
  4. is having a reaction, which I can only imagine, to #2, above.

Here’s the photo from that post, showing Deb and her blue vase, which she brought as a gift to me that day:

Image

Eeeek!  Look at the time!

Image

Actually, that’s not the time.  That’s something I saw, yesterday evening, at a local Art Center/Elementary School.3

But I do need to wrap up this post, people, and get to work. Before I do, here are more photos I took yesterday, at that same location:

Image

Image

Image

Image

I have a few more pieces of art to show you, before I conclude. Earlier yesterday, another long-time friend, Craig (whom I wrote about last week, in Day 500: Momentous), texted me these photos from the Museum of Fine Arts (MFA):

Image

Image

Image

Image

It’s all art, to me.

Thanks to Deb, Craig, friends that are long-time, medium-time, or short-time, Art Centers, elementary schools,  the MFA,  artists and art-appreciators everywhere, and to you — of course! — for visiting here, today.


1 Because this is the first week I’ve returned to work after an extended illness.

2 This fill-in-the-blank suggestion is inspired by the saying “One man’s meat is another man’s poison” (and George S. Kaufman‘s excellent pun, “One man’s Mede is another man’s Persian”).

3 Where my son was auditioning for a play.

Categories: inspiration, Nostalgia, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “Day 506: Random thoughts about art

  1. My fill in the blank response is…. joy.

    🙂

    and you did it! I think. I don’t know how long it takes you to get ready and to get to work — but seems to me…. you did it!

    • You’re right, Louise. I did make it work on time. Thank you for having faith in me and good calculations skills, too! (See? Numbers aren’t that bad.)

  2. Art is a huge subject isn’t it and so subjective I think. Have a great day at work Ann!
    Diana xo

  3. I love your local Art Center/Elementary School. Two exhibits I must name:

    Man, This Is An Intriguing Sculpture

    Doesn’t Art Sleigh You

    To me, punmanship is a trusty, fallback art.

    Thank you, Ann.

    You would have had trouble with the search numbers if your BF’s name was Art instead of Michael. Just saying.

    • Keep saying things like that, Mark, and I will keep being exceedingly glad that you are my artful, heart-ful reader.

  4. todessakane2013

    Awesome blog loved it 🙂 Great photos too, am feeling well fed and watered after that thank you and God bless you 🙂

    • What an awesome, lovely comment. I am feeling well fed and watered now, too, thanks to you.

      • todessakane2013

        Truly you are welcome, your post blessed my day 🙂

        Have a wonderful rest of the week and keep up the great work 🙂

  5. What a treat; I feel as refreshed as if I had just been to an art museum. I love the “found objects” scuptures.

  6. Pingback: Day 507: What is Enough? | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  7. Another persons happiness… Love the artwork… Haven’t been to a museum in ages… Better get to one soon..

  8. Great post . I am not an artist . Neither I paint , perform , sing or have any other artistic talents but I do appreciate art and the people who create it .Sometimes I wish to have those abilities and skills .
    So my answer is one person ‘s art is another person’s dream .

  9. Pingback: Day 509: Like, now | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  10. I think mk just hasn’t figured out what their art form is. I strongly believe that every person has some artistic ability. Not everyone will like all styles of art but that doesn’t mean that those styles are any less artistic. When people look at art and say glibly ‘I can do that’, I challenge them to try. It’s probably more difficult than they think. Having an eye for good art and appreciating art also makes you artistic. I think this is starting to sound like a lecture so I think I’ll stop here. Love the art work at the school. Carol

    • I think that’s a great point, Carol, and I hope mk sees your comment. Speaking for myself, I’ve often said similar things, including “I am not an artist.” Now that I’ve been doing this blog for over a year, I see myself as … a Blog Artist! And I’m so glad you enjoyed the photos of the art work.

      • Your comment is really insightful 🙂
        . Hmmm I will think about it there might be something artistic about me which I am not acknowledging .

        I started a blog named blackandblueart (www.blackandblueart.wordpress.com) last year I haven’t visited it for quite some time . When I was stressed I pick up a pen /pencil and honestly I dont know at that time what I am doing and why I draw those particular lines .May be thats my art and need to aknowledge it . Sorry to sound so confused .

      • It was good to read this comment which — by the way — does not sound confused, at all.

      • Thanks Ann for letting me know about Carol’s comment 🙂 . Blog Artist Hmmm I would say you are a Super Blog Artist 🙂

      • Thank you for that Super compliment!

  11. Pingback: Day 556: Magic Time | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  12. Pingback: Day 637: Vivid | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  13. Pingback: Day 652: Magical Thinking | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.