Day 3960: What to do with that extra hour

Well, we gained an extra hour last night and while I usually lament this fall time change, this year I’m doing something new! I’m going to reframe my attitude by creating a list of all the things I might do with that extra hour.

  • Sleep
  • Spend more time on my daily blog.
  • Reread a beloved book.
  • Read one of the many books I’ve ordered because of people’s recommendations.
  • Catch up on late night talk show TV.
  • Watch more episodes of The Yorkshire Vet.
  • Write a new song.
  • Practice playing the ukulele.
  • Plan for a spring concert of my original tunes.
  • Start posting excerpts of my songs on TikTok as “The Singing Therapist.”
  • Give my swollen ankle a rest.
  • Ignore my swollen ankle and go for a walk.
  • Take our cat Joan out on her leash and let her walk me.
  • Listen to music.
  • Try to remember how to reset all the clocks that need resetting.
  • Try really hard to think of any good reason why we still do this yearly time change.
  • Arrange my images of the day in a more coherent order.

.

I could also research all the days on those two lists of November 5 holidays in 2023, but instead I’ll search for “what to do with that extra hour” on YouTube.

.

Okay, I think I’m well on my way of spending that extra hour.

Thanks to all who’ve chosen to spend their precious time reading this what-to-do-with-that-extra-hour blog post, including YOU!

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Day 3960: What to do with that extra hour

  1. It’s not so much the clock change that bothers me, Ann, but the me changes in the next few days that result. See, that was a cranky comment this morning!
    Your list for the extra hour is impressive. I took a few minutes fixing the time on our several non-universal clocks.

  2. Luis Del Castillo

    Neil deGrasse Tyson is always so interesting to see

  3. sometimes it’s great just to spend an hour just doing nothing

  4. I didn’t realize I had gotten up at 8:30 instead of 9:30 until I read your blog and checked my computer time. Using that extra hour to get ready to leave for Chicago to see my itinerant sister on Monday.

  5. I love that we get an extra hour in the fall but hate that we then have to lose it in the spring. I’d like to try changing the clocks only once a year for a few years to see where we end up. For now, though, I was just prompted to reread Interstellar Pig, a young adult novel about a boy who’s on vacation and discovers the neighbors are aliens playing a very deadly game. It’s a fun book that makes me think we don’t give young people enough credit, and I’ve read it so many times I can go from cover to cover in about an hour.

    • Sounds like a great way to spend an extra hour, my friend.

    • Chris, when you said that you’d like to try changing our clocks only once a year for a while, do you mean that every year we should gain an hour and never have to give it back? I think you could get a lot of buy-in for that.

  6. You had lots of wonderful ideas about what to do with your extra hour. I wonder which of them you chose?

    • Writing songs, playing the ukulele, planning for my concert, spending more time than usual on the blog, reading, and taking Joan out on a leash. No extra sleep, though!

  7. Great ideas here. Thanks, Ann. And the book I love to reread: the Bible. Each time I open it, I find wisdom and new insights. Also, find Anthony Doerr books are wonderful to reread. I especially love his “All the Light We Cannot See.” After watching and loving the movie based on the book, it was a treat to reread it. I could “see” the characters so well. The casting in the movie was magnificent!!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.