Day 4016: New Year Dissolutions

I recently read in a CNN “Good News” email that Allison Hope recommends making a New Year dissolution, instead of unrealistic resolutions:

.

My New Year dissolution is to politely disagree with (and maybe give up!) my inner critical voice. For example, “Yes, I recognize that I’m no Barbra Streisand, Jacob Collier, Pat Metheny, or Joni Mitchell, but I can still put on an entertaining show and make a good-enough album. Now, would you like to take a break from preventing me from making a fool of myself? Thanks for caring.”

I would love to see the dissolution of inner critical voices in 2024, as well as the dissolution of cruelty throughout the world.

Do you see any New Year dissolutions in my other images for today?”

.

Here’s what I find when I search for “New Year dissolutions” on YouTube:

.

Do you have any New Year dissolutions?

Just so you know, my New Year dissolutions do NOT include giving up this daily blog in 2024, thanks to wonderful readers like YOU! 🙏💕🎉

Happy New Year!

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Day 4016: New Year Dissolutions

  1. Happy new year to you Ann!
    I hope 2024 is a great year for you!
    xoxo

  2. i love this approach and i think it’s a good way to accept ourselves and who we really are

  3. New Year’s Dissolutions is a great idea! Thank you. And, happy New Year to you

  4. The dissolution is a good idea, Ann! This week I returned to the library a book I’ve checked out twice and failed to get past 50 pages. My dear wife Karen noticed this second flagging interest and suggested I put up the white flag and find other novels I can dive into. And I did.

  5. This year I am putting down the idea that my son is treating me badly at times. I am getting to understand that he is not. That he is not me and the fact that he does not always do as I would have him do is not something he does for lack of love for me. He has done plenty to show that love and those moments are what I will treasure.

  6. Debbie Terman

    I’d love to bid goodbye to the inner critical voice! It’s not easy though!

  7. I have a long-standing belief that I have no musical ability at all that I’m trying to let go of as I plan to start music lessons. I’m hoping to look back on 2024 as the year I finally disposed of it.

    • You definitely have musical ability, Chris — I can hear it in the cadences of your writing. I hope 2024 is a very good year.

  8. Sharon

    Ann I love this post! Is Joan’s dissolution giving up unnecessary sharing of cat toys?

  9. Sharon

    Ann I love that debauched is an advanced state of dissolution 😂 May debauched dissolution of negative self talk guide your path to your music this year!

  10. Thanks for sharing

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.