Day 1496: Where values and value meet

These days, I am looking for a new home, where values and value meet.

In other words, I’m looking for a home that meets the values of  me, my boyfriend, and my son and that also has solid monetary value.

Does such a place exist?

Is it near this sign I saw yesterday?

img_8622

My values include being near water — an ocean, a river, or a lake. My boyfriend’s values include enough space to stretch out. My son’s values include getting a great education in Edinburgh, Scotland.

How do I weigh and prioritize different value(s) to make a decision?

Might I get some guidance from the other photo I took yesterday?

img_8623

If I give love to

  • myself,
  • my loved ones, and
  • a home I love,

I’ll get love.

And what has more value than love?

Here’s a valuable tune I love about a river:

What are your thoughts and feelings about values and value? You know I’d value any comment you leave, below.

Valuable thanks to all who helped me create this post and to you — of course! — for the value you bring, here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 23 Comments

Post navigation

23 thoughts on “Day 1496: Where values and value meet

  1. I value you, Ann. Plus it’s Always good to feel valued as a blog follower. Thanks. Good luck on the house hunt.

  2. A castle in Scotland might meet all your hearts’ desires. Could even become a Fringe Festival venue.

  3. Small things–such as a single letter–make a big difference. Value acts as a valve on what we choose. Here’s an interesting fact: “value” derives from a Latin word meaning “fair exchange”.
    You value fairness and that is no small thing.

  4. In this time we’re living in, it’s more important than ever to hold fast to your values. Thanks for this valuable post!

  5. Here’s one of my fave songs about a river. ❤
    Diana xo

  6. FaceTiming is something I value Harley!

  7. What great questions! Thanks.
    Values are those qualities we hold dear. When it comes to monetary value, others who treasure those values will place a value on it.
    So, maybe as you’re choosing your next abode, expand beyond each of your values into those of who may likely be placing monetary value on it. That is, when you decide to move on.
    Enjoy!
    Vincent

  8. Another awesome post and one that makes us think about what we value in life

  9. I am still discovering and paying attention to my inner values. For instance, I learned that when expecting visitors I had to pick up every little teeny piece of paper that may have missed the broom or vacuum cleaner, but when I was alone (I live alone), I would walk over that piece of paper ten times before I picked it up. One day I realized I valued others opinions more than I valued my own comfort. So now, no piece of paper gets by me. I value comfort.

  10. For us, value means soul-satisfying. We bought our house almost three years ago. The choice was between a beautifully built, perfectly kept property that we would never have to do anything with; and one that had been very well built, but much botched up and filthy. You know which one we chose.

  11. Tough choices, but my values say that if you can make the numbers work, you deserve the serenity that a waterside home can bring! We live by a lake and every day I watch the birds and have fun identifying them with my Petersons birding app. We also live about 5 miles from the Gulf of Mexico, and if we wish, the beaches await. More great birds there too!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

