Day 771: When it’s cold outside

Yesterday, I asked the blogging question “Am I blue?”

And then, for much of the day yesterday, I was blue.

When it’s cold outside and relentlessly snowy, I can be blue. Also contributing to my blueness yesterday was

  • snow covering my car and the driveway when I went outside, because our “Mr. Plow” was stuck somewhere else,
  • my panicking about being late on a day where I was the On Call social worker to my hospital’s Primary Care Practice,
  • having to drag my boyfriend and son outside to get me shoveled out ASAP (with some help from warm neighbors), and
  • my realizing that — despite my goals for non-judgment and acceptance — I am done and beyond over-done, with New England winters.

And something I’ve learned — no matter what temperature it is outside or inside — once you realize you’re done with something, it’s more difficult to tolerate.

Lots of things went wrong yesterday, when it was cold outside. For example, the ATM machine at the hospital decided to keep $40, as a tip for its services:

IMG_5351

In addition to that cold and greedy ATM machine, I saw all this yesterday, when it was cold outside:

IMG_5339 IMG_5341 IMG_5344 IMG_5354 IMG_5356 IMG_5358 IMG_5359 IMG_5362 IMG_5365 IMG_5367 IMG_5369 IMG_5372 IMG_5373IMG_5370

IMG_5360

It was warm inside, yesterday, when I allowed myself to feel it.

IMG_5352  I took photos of two people who LOVE the winter, hoping I would catch their enthusiasm for when it’s cold outside:

IMG_5348

IMG_5350

That’s Mark and Julia, who’ve appeared in this blog before, when it’s been different temperatures outside. It’s always warmer, inside, when they’re around.

When it’s cold outside, I like to demonstrate how cold it is with pictures. And I just took some new photos to show you,  this morning. However, my computer is not sensing my iPhone through the cable extension. Maybe that’s because I’ve dropped my iPhone in the snow, one too many times, when it’s cold outside.

When it’s cold outside, I need to come up with alternate solutions for problems. So, I just emailed myself these photos:

IMG_5376 IMG_5377 IMG_5379 IMG_5382

“When it’s cold outside” is actually a line from a song I loved, during the 1980’s.

Anybody want to guess what song that is?

Would it help you to guess if I included a few more of the lyrics?

Spare a little candle
Save some light for me.
Figures up ahead
Moving in the trees.

Darkness on the edge
Shadows where I stand.
I search for the time
On a watch with no hands.
I want to see you clearly
Come closer than this
But all I remember
Are the dreams in the mist.

Going to California with my son in four days seems like dreams in the mist to me, right now.

But that’s NOT a dream.

Neither is “These Dreams,”  by Heart (warmly playing here, with lyrics, on YouTube):

Gotta go back out there this morning, when it’s cold outside.

Heart-felt thanks to Mr. Plow (for plowing this morning), my son Aaron, my boyfriend Michael, my neighbors,  Mark, Julia,  Heart, all those who brave the cold, and to you — of course! — for visiting today, no matter what it’s like outside.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , | 38 Comments

Post navigation

38 thoughts on “Day 771: When it’s cold outside

  1. Julia Manuel

    Baby it’s cold outside…
    Oh I so feel your pain! I don’t mind the snow SO much it’s the damn frigid windchill we’re having of late. YUCK.

  2. I could totally relate to your line “once you realize you’re done with something, it’s more difficult to tolerate.” I so get that. California couldn’t come at a better time… keep thinking warm thoughts and here’s something to help warm you up too…http://youtu.be/3kcmwXUdDCE

  3. Gene Phillips

    Seeing dump trucks hauling away snow and later seeing bulldozers forming giant hills of snow during my first winter in Wisconsin changed my perception of the stuff forever. (Funny, I don’t remember that from college days in Cambridge.) I hope you don’t get hit hard again.

    • I don’t remember that from college days either, Gene. This IS a particularly bad winter, everybody agrees.

      Thanks for warming up the place with ANOTHER COMMENT. I’m very glad to see you.

  4. Lawrence J. Siskind

    I won’t drive my automobile, With the windshield covered with frost.

    You ought to find a great big parking garage.

    Sent from my iPhone

    • I have found a great big parking garage where I can afford the cost, Lawry.

      parking garage

      Looking forward to seeing you and parking garages in California.

  5. Okay. So all that snow would make me feel blue inside too! Just sayin’.

    This too shall pass — just some days, it doesn’t feel fast enough in its passing! Or melting!

    • Thanks for making the cold outside more tolerable with your sympathetic view, Louise. I’m wondering when the last of this snow is going to melt. July?

  6. Could there be a better time for a trio to California? I don’t think so. Two of my kids are there right now, in different places, and they are reporting conditions very favourable to Ann.

    What colour are you when you are warm, happy and travelling with your son?

  7. I am blue on dark and cold days. I would be stark raving mad if I was imprisoned by snow. Sunlight is my friend, warmth radiates into my brain just by awakening to it. My thoughts and prayers to all of you. Let me send you some sun: ☀️

  8. I tend to be at the end of my tolerance for winter by February. February is a hard month, me thinks, Ann. Hang in there, spring is just around the corner! ❤
    Diana xo

  9. Ann,
    You are fortunate indeed to be heading to California. You’ll get a respite from this wintry onslaught. And when you return you may see asphalt again.
    -Alan

  10. Pingback: So about this Syracuse snow | Mark Bialczak

  11. It’s not usually this bad is it? You don’t have to give up on New England, because the snow will go away, spring will come, your holiday will come.

    • As usual, you’re right, Hilary. It’s usually not this bad and the snow will go away and the spring will come. And I’m leaving for my holiday very, very soon.

      Maybe we shouldn’t look at this as my giving up on New England but rather my being nice to other places.

  12. Ah, I see the reasons for your blue yesterday now. I would be the same when it is cold outside and with snow or rain.. I hope it is over soon or at least give a good few warm and sunny days for a break.

    • Today, the temperature went from the teens (Fahrenheit) to 31! It felt like summer, in comparison. Not a lot of sun, though. Soon. Thanks for the sympathetic words.

  13. I often complain about how could it is during winter when in fact it’s not that cold at all

  14. When it’s that cold outside with that much snow and you and your son Aaron are counting down the days to warm, Ann, well, you can close your eyes and think:

    • I wonder if Aaron and I will see Led Zeppelin in California, Mark? Thanks so much for the music and your warm thoughts.

      • If Page and Plant are smart you might, Ann. And of course Robert Plant is a happy collaborator with Alison Kraus, too …

  15. I also love that song by Heart! Here’s a scat I love from Ella, for your Blue Skies:

  16. It makes me appreciate the warmth inside and with my blogging friends 🙂

  17. I surely understand being done with something. I’m done with my house, but it isn’t done enough to sell, so I must continue to live in a place I do not want to be. Retirement is good, but not quite all it’s supposed to be (if I believed in how things are supposed to be).
    California will warm you through and through.

  18. We keep seeing on the news over here about the conditions you’re all having to cope with. All we can do is sympathise. Just getting to work is obviously a nightmare – do take great care, Ann. I know you’ll soon be in California and hope by the time you get back the snow’s all cleared. 🙂

  19. Pingback: Day 774: What’s the right thing to do? | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.