Day 3387: A state of constant amazement

Yesterday, I was happy to see this sentence about a state of constant amazement in the book “1325 Buddhist Ways to be Happy” by Barbara Ann Kipfer.

I think I AM awake because I do seem to live in a state of constant amazement. Maybe that’s why I use the word “amazing” constantly.

When I went out for a walk in the 50 degree weather yesterday with no raincoat (because my iPhone told me there was no chance of precipitation), I was in a state of constant amazement because of

  • the beauty that was all around me,
  • the rain that started when I was far from home, and
  • the amazing and almost biblical HAIL, from which I could find no escape and therefore decided to laugh at and enjoy.

Do you see the state of constant amazement in my other images for today?

I’m in a state of constant amazement about how things are never what you expect. Three years ago, on National Siblings Day, Michael and I decided to not worry for a year, because worry never helps anything. We didn’t know what was ahead of us from April 10, 2019 through April 10, 2020 (my son and I both getting shows at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, my speaking at my college reunion, Michael and I getting married, my getting COVID at a group therapy conference in NYC, the COVID lockdowns, our cat Oscar getting cancer, etc.) or we might have been in a state of constant amazement at our hope to not worry for that amazing year.

Here’s what I find on YouTube when I search for “a state of constant amazement.”

I’m in a state of constant amazement about what people go through in this world and the healing power of love.

Thanks to all who are sharing my state of constant amazement here and now, including YOU.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Day 3387: A state of constant amazement

  1. You had one hail of a day, Ann, and I’m glad to hear you chose amazement as your reaction to those ice balls falling from the sky! Your photos remind me of the story of David Letterman’s early tour as a weatherman, and his supposed prediction of hail as big as canned hams. I’ve never figured out if that’s true or if it’s grown as an urban legend.

  2. Barb Cunio

    I missed the hail Ive seen pictures on Facebook. As always Ann, beautiful words of encouragement and amazed to be part of your life

  3. What a wonderfully positive video from John Batiste.
    I love the photo of the craters caused by the hail.
    I find National Farm animals day very Mooooving!

  4. Debbie T

    That hailstorm was truly amazing! My husband also got caught in it during his walk. I was indoors visiting my daughter, watching it bounce off roofs and grass.

  5. I was amazed yesterday when the forecast said we could expect frost overnight and temperatures in the ’70’s by the afternoon, and even more amazed when I went out this morning that it wasn’t nearly as cold as I expected. It’s wonderful to be in a state of constant amazement, but even better when it’s s a good amazement.

  6. I live in same state of constant amazement. perhaps we are neighbors that way.) children and animals live in this state as well, I’m quite sure of it.

  7. Betsy

    This is beautiful. Thank you for sharing it. ❤️

  8. Leon Fairbanks

    That last shot of the clouds over the water is incredible.

  9. Oops! Somehow I missed this post yesterday. Probably because of my migraine. I am amazed that you never miss a day though, Ann! You are amazing.

  10. PS We had a hailstorm suddenly last night, too. Around 7:00 p.m. Can’t remember the last time it hailed. It’s not usually here.

  11. You didn’t worry for a year?!? That must have been amazing! 😉 Did it help you worry less going forward?

  12. I love the idea of not worrying for a year, and I guess I’d be amazed if I could pull that off! But, I do think in many ways I live in a constant state of amazement. I try to focus on the positive ways that plays out, and I’d say that’s mostly possible. But even the more unsavory aspects of life do “gobsmack” me with amazement, too, I think!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.