Day 2674: Jaw Dropping

It’s jaw dropping to me that I forgot about the invitation (which I included in yesterday’s  post)  to stream Stephen Sondheim’s 90th birthday celebration last night, with its jaw-dropping lineup of stars:

fullsizeoutput_4405

I have found many things jaw-dropping lately, including

  • American leadership’s responses to the pandemic crisis,
  • racism, sexism, ageism, and homophobia,
  • how difficult it is for people to get what they need,
  • how little there is to celebrate these days, and
  • people’s ability to celebrate, anyway.

Do you see anything jaw-dropping in my photos from yesterday?

It’s jaw dropping

  • that there was no spinach, parsley, or flour at the supermarket yesterday,
  • the delicious meal Michael made anyway,
  • how hard nurses work for us every day of the year,
  • the level of suffering out there, and
  • how lucky I am, here and now.

 

Here‘s the jaw-dropping celebration of Stephen Sondheim from last night:

I look forward to your jaw-dropping comments with (of course!) jaw-dropping gratitude.

Categories: gratitude, life during the pandemic, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Day 2674: Jaw Dropping

  1. Your bullet point list says it all. I only dipped in and out of the video but agree it was an excellent celebration.

  2. it is jaw-dropping to witness peoples’ kindness, compassion, humor, grit, and sheer will to get through this in mostly one piece.

  3. My jaw drops at the constant care given by our medical community during this crisis, Ann.

  4. How do you like my jaw-dropping face? (இ௦இ)꒳ᵒ꒳ᵎᵎᵎ✰ LOL!

  5. Oscar’s perch on the sofa looks so comfy. There seems to be a lot of light in your photos today, which makes me feel happy at the start of my day, too. Your photos also have a lot of balloons in them, which reminds me that one of my children has a birthday tomorrow and I should spend some time looking around the house for colourful substitutes for wrapping paper, as we have run out. Pillow cases, maybe?

    My family hasn’t been able to buy flour and a few other basic supplies here since the beginning of March. But we are lucky because a friend gave us some, as one of my kids makes all our bread. (I doubt Canada is out of wheat, but I heard that the flour manufacturers ran out of bags the right size for households.) My daughter-in-law in Washington State was able to get flour for their household by driving to a flour mill about 2 hours away. The mill was selling 50 lb bags of flour they had ground themselves. I wonder if you can look for a nearby flour mill? I hope that you find all the baking supplies that Michael needs, so that we can continue to enjoy his efforts vicariously.

    • Happy birthday to your child, Maureen; I am experiencing that celebration vicariously. And my jaw dropped when I found some flour to order on Amazon yesterday. Thanks for another jaw-droppingly lovely comment, my friend.

  6. puella33

    It’s jaw dropping how there’s little to find in supermarkets, and how they raise their prices. Have a nice day, Ann

  7. When I was in college I saw a wonderful production of Into The Woods, and it still makes me happy, although I try not to think about how long ago that was.
    That dish of Michael’s, though, looks jaw-droppingly delicious.

  8. Many world leaders say and do jaw dropping stuff and lead us to wonder what the hell……………………..
    My jaw just moves from side to side

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.