Day 1775: Optics

Yesterday morning, while I was listening to the news, somebody used the word “optics” to mean

the way in which an event or course of action is perceived by the public.

In other words, “optics” now means the way things look, in addition to the original meaning:

the scientific study of sight and the behavior of light, or the properties of transmission and deflection of other forms of radiation

People sometimes seem more concerned about the way things look, rather than the way things are.  That doesn’t look good  to me.

During the day, I took these pictures with “optics” on my mind:

IMG_4871

IMG_4872

IMG_4873

IMG_4878

IMG_4875

IMG_4876

At the end of the day, I had a long phone conversation with my son Aaron about what people are saying about Louis C.K., a comic artist we have both admired.  The optics for Louis C.K. are so bad, here and now, that he is perceived as done. The optics on my phone, as I FaceTimed last night with Aaron, showed a  tired-looking 19-year-old red-headed comedian and student at the University of Edinburgh, struggling to make sense of all the current stories of show business predators.

For those who look for YouTube optics in this daily blog, here’s what comes up when I search for “Optics song”:

I can’t make sense of that, either.

Any comments you make about all this will look good to me.

Here are some optics that mean “Thanks” to my son, my workplace, and — of course — to you.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 32 Comments

Post navigation

32 thoughts on “Day 1775: Optics

  1. I just don’t know what to think about anything. At least that’s how I feel today.

  2. I wondered what song you’d use! 🙂

  3. Your blog looks good to me, Ann. The world’s optics …

  4. Was it an illusion or was that Zydeco? I think that video would be more fun to watch after a few glasses of wine as opposed to my first cup of coffee.

    One thing to remember is that “optics” equals reality for many people who only hear sound-bites, do not have the time, nor desire to dig below the surface and get the majority of their information from one source.

    Those that tell the story get to set the tone. This can be evidenced by looking at the differing media coverage of our current and former president. Reality gets very foggy beause of the optics.

  5. Optics. Mostly it gets used that way when something might look bad. Nobody wants bad optics. But the optical illusion dance was a hoot! Ocular proof that people still have senses of humor.

  6. It’s so sad that women have had to endure the advances of these sexual predators for so long. I’m glad that these men are being exposed for the wrongs that they have done. This is more than optics, this is reality. On a lighter note, the optical illusion dance was fun to watch. It reminds me of something you’d see at your child’s talent night at school.

  7. If the optics are wrong, they have the power to destroy lives. My family have long been fans of Louis CK…so sad to hear this stuff.

  8. Ahh…a di-vision post! (/●◔∀◐●)/

  9. How is Aaron enjoying U of E? Would he recommend it for grad school?
    I can’t figure out what that first photo is, at all. But—! I am not concerned about my opioid use. 🙂 Thanks for asking. Sorry about L C K

  10. There’s a story about a man who played Richard III so well that during one performance an audience member stood up and shot him. I’ve heard that story from actors who describe it as the ultimate compliment to their art. I can see why they’d think of it that way, but to me it’s more complicated. It raises questions about responsibility, and about how we distinguish fact from fiction, without offering any answers.
    Sometimes art can simplify our worldview and sometimes it can make it even more complicated, which, i think, is its greatest value.

  11. The problem with being optical people is that we are concerned about what our optics look like. I thought about that just this morning. My outfit isn’t the most flattering. I wondered what I looked like to others. If my optics were at maximum efficiency. Then I decided — I like this optical illusion. No more worry.

  12. Exceptional Thank You optics Ann. Thank you 🙏

  13. Brilliant observations Ann. The way things are seems to not matter to many who want to be seen.

  14. It’s very sad to learn that people we once admired for their talent, have reputations for behaviors we abhor. I wonder where this is all going to lead? Can we (should we?) separate talent from character? And if we see criminal charges, those will be shocking optics! A lot to think about here, Ann, and I appreciate you broaching the topic.

  15. The camera has superhuman optics, and is consequently now capable of lying.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

