Day 1754: I can’t get over it

I can’t get over how many people I see in group and individual therapy who’ve been sexually, physically, and emotionally abused.

One of those people recently borrowed and returned this book I have in my office:

IMG_4327

In both of  my therapy groups yesterday, everybody shared thoughts and feelings about personal experiences of abuse.

I can’t get over people’s resilience, too.

I also can’t get over how “Get over it!” never helps people get over anything.

 

I can’t get over taking and sharing photos on this blog.

IMG_4329

 

IMG_4330

IMG_4328

IMG_4326

I can’t get over how the sink at work is always clogged.

I can’t get over how many people read this blog.

I can’t get over my gratitude for you!

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Day 1754: I can’t get over it

  1. I can’t get over how much I enjoyed your post this morning Ann. Happy Friday to you. 💛

  2. It’s amazing how many people channel the courage to come out about what they can’t get over when somebody takes that initial public step, Ann.

    • It is amazing, Mark. And I can’t get over how long it’s been that you and I have publicly been appreciating each other.

  3. I can’t get over it Ann, I’ve seemed to have lost a day here, maybe I’ve been dead for a day, and no-body told me.

  4. I cannot get over how much GOOD you are doing in this world, Ann. No one gets over being abused or neglected, yet in order to survive that person learns how best to move forward without revenge, or hatred, or bitterness, and learns how to forgive. Much Love to you this day! 💞

  5. I can’t get over how often you prompt me to rethink a familiar expression. When we say “get over it” we’re often imagining an abstract problem as a physical barrier. Sometimes that can be helpful. It can be a way to get a handle on the problem–which is another way of imagining it.

  6. I can’t either Ann.

  7. May those who can’t get over it find a way to get around it. ♡(.◜ω◝.)♡

  8. I thought I could get over anything until I tried a stile after I’d had my hip replacement

  9. Pingback: Day 1755: Insecurity | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  10. A very sobering beginning. I can’t get over how much you cover in your blog.

  11. When I recall physical abuse in elementary school, I feel it was in part a reflection of the physical abuse that the kids received from their parents. In other words, the actions of the parents became a model for the actions of the children. The other part dealt with any child that was weaker or different in some way from the majority. That child was often teased, or became a scapegoat. In many ways, elementary school was a microcosm of the prejudices and cruelties that exist in the world.

  12. I can’t get over the fact that I took my copy of “The Courage to Heal” out from under my mattress and put it on my dining room table! Or that I am sharing it here. Unfortunately shame lingers even when it is not mine.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

