Day 1636: Like to shine

I like to shine. Do you?  

Like to shine a light on these lyrics, shining through my head:

Like to shine like the sun for one more summer day.

Like to shine like a lighthouse for one last summer night.

Like to shine a guess about what song that is?

Before I shine a light on the answer, like to shine like a camera for some more summer sights.

IMG_1808

IMG_1807

IMG_1803

IMG_1806

IMG_1805

IMG_1816

IMG_1817

IMG_1822

IMG_1818

 

 

IMG_1824

IMG_1815

IMG_1814

IMG_1813IMG_1812

“Be the lighthouse” spreads the light on my lyrical question.

I’ll likely see Fenway Park’s lights shine on James Taylor and Bonnie Raitt one summer night.

Like to shine in a comment?  Be the lighthouse and spread your light below.

Like to shine my thanks on  James Taylor, Yogi Tea, Tony’s Clam Shop, artists everywhere,  the sun, the sea, and you — of course! —  for being the lighthouse, here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Day 1636: Like to shine

  1. That music was awesome, but the photos of James Taylor in the video shine a light on how JT has changed in appearance with the passage of time since he recorded that song. And that shines a light on now I’ve changed over that time myself! 😱

  2. Mmmm….seafood. “This little light of mine, I’m gonna’ let it shine…”

  3. When we shine we radiate energy, and energy comes in many forms–some that aren’t even visible. In a way the sun even shines through us even at night. For an alternative perspective though here’s a short John Updike poem:

    “Cosmic Gall”

    Neutrinos they are very small.
    They have no charge and have no mass
    And do not interact at all.
    The earth is just a silly ball
    To them, through which they simply pass,
    Like dustmaids down a drafty hall
    Or photons through a sheet of glass.
    They snub the most exquisite gas,
    Ignore the most substantial wall,
    Cold-shoulder steel and sounding brass,
    Insult the stallion in his stall,
    And, scorning barriers of class,
    Infiltrate you and me! Like tall
    And painless guillotines, they fall
    Down through our heads into the grass.
    At night, they enter at Nepal
    And pierce the lover and his lass
    From underneath the bed – you call
    It wonderful; I call it crass.

  4. My husband and I were fortunate to see James Taylor
    in concert four years ago. His voice was still radiant.

  5. I’ll chalk it up to you, Ann. You won’t clam up when the light hits the house.

  6. Yes I like to shine, I hope I do shine because life is great

  7. Shine on Ann! Love that walk by the sea, even when the sun isn’t shining bright.💛

  8. I like how you shine Ann. ❤
    Diana xo

  9. When we arrived in this house 3 years ago everything was in great need of a shine. Except for the shiny dog nose art that lined the downstairs walls. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Day 1637: I’ll buy that | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

