Day 1608: Pick Your Battles

Whenever I pick a title for this daily blog post, I check to see if I’ve ever picked that title before.  Even though we all have to pick our battles …

pick (one’s) battle(s) To choose not to participate in minor, unimportant, or overly difficult arguments, contests, or confrontations, saving one’s strength instead for those that will be of greater importance or where one has a greater chance of success

… this is the first time I’ve picked this title.

Why did I pick “Pick Your Battles” today?

  1. “Pick your battles” came up in group therapy and in individual therapy several times this week,
  2. I’ve been needing to pick my battles lately,
  3. Sometimes I battle to decide which battles are too minor, unimportant, or overly difficult, and
  4. I took  these two  photos with battles last night:

IMG_1282

IMG_1283

Let’s see if there are more battles in the other photos I’m picking today.

IMG_1287

IMG_1268

IMG_1269

IMG_1276

IMG_1278

IMG_1281

IMG_1280

IMG_1275

IMG_1274

IMG_1272

IMG_1271

IMG_1273

IMG_1270

IMG_1284

Pick your favorite battle music (battling here, here, here, here, and here) on YouTube):

I know there are a lot of things battling for your time and attention, but could you please pick some words to share in a comment below?

Here’s the image I’m picking to express my gratitude to all who helped me create this pick-your-battles post and to you — of course! — no matter what battles you’re picking today.

IMG_1285

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Day 1608: Pick Your Battles

  1. Yes, “don’t sweat the small stuff and will it matter 10 years from now?”These are things I use in my every day life and especially when I was raising teenage boys. Pick your battles indeed. I hope your battles are few and you are ever triumphant Ann.

  2. You can pick a battle and you can pick a fruit but a guitar player should never be without a pick.

  3. Candy cigarettes? I didn’t think they made those anymore. I don’t think you’re allowed to sell them up here. If they did that’s a battle I’d be right on top of.

  4. In my line of work I probably use the phrase “Pick your battles” at least once a week. I was also surprised to see they still sold candy cigarettes. They were the cause of a great addiction when I was young. Not to cigarettes, to sugar. 🙂

  5. So many battles to pick from Ann. Who knew battles could be such fun!?! 💕

  6. It’s always good to pick your battles, some are not worth fighting! Loved the Accapella

  7. As a Mets fan, one battle photo really caught my eye first, Ann. Ha!

  8. A Brit might choose an Ashes cricket match (between England and Australia)

  9. Hi Ann,
    My battle is with WordPress who have disappeared my Comment box.
    Seems to be a general issue in the forums. Wish me luck!
    Take care.
    Bridie.

  10. This is weird! I posted a comment and it is not here!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

