Day 1603: Yield

Whenever I start writing a blog post, I consider millions of ideas and then usually yield to the simplest solution:  sharing an image I captured the day before, which is often the first photo I took.

IMG_1190

What does that “Yield” sign at Mount Auburn Cemetery mean to you?

To me, it means yield to the beauty of your surroundings.

While I was yielding to the beauty of Mount Auburn Cemetery yesterday, I captured another “yield” in two photos:

IMG_1203.JPG

IMG_1204

“In surrendering

life for Eternity,

I yield to and

trust implicitly

in the Power that

created me.

Oran McCormick

 

Let us now yield to contemplating other images from Mount Auburn Cemetery, accompanied by sounds similar to what I heard yesterday.

 

IMG_1191

IMG_1192

IMG_1198

IMG_1193

IMG_1194

IMG_1196

IMG_1199

IMG_1200

IMG_1201

IMG_1202

IMG_1205

IMG_1206

IMG_1207

IMG_1208

IMG_1209

IMG_1212

IMG_1210

IMG_1214

IMG_1217

IMG_1218

IMG_1219

I now yield to any thoughts and feelings you have about this post. 

Yielding and profound thanks to all who helped me create this post and to you — of  course! — for meeting me, here.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Day 1603: Yield

  1. To yield always suggests compromise to me, and it’s a good thing. To yield, to allow something or someone else its space or right to pass, acknowledges that we share the world with others. It’s a reminder that we aren’t alone.

  2. Mmm, in that first photo, “YIELD” probably means do not mow this. What a lovely old cemetery with such intriguing monuments! It reminds me of the Green-Wood Cemetery at the southwestern edge of Park Slope in Brooklyn which features the graves of Leonard Bernstein, “Boss” Tweed, Horace Greeley, Louis Comfort Tiffany, and Ives of Currier and Ives, among others. I loved to take photos there. Check it out: http://www.green-wood.com/2010/famous-residents/

    • I yield to the intriguing moments in your comment, Sunny! And “YIELD” in the first photo relates to cars entering a crossroad (not seen in the picture).

  3. I started to read this post with resistance… but yielded to the serenity and the smiles. A turkey? What fun!

  4. Yield had me thinking of ancient battles between honourable (?) knights where the potential loser was spared his life. What a lovely place to rest, whether alive, or dead! I love the “Miss your touch.” I may have to borrow that for a poem!

  5. What a beautiful cemetery and a perfect day for taking photos. I had to yield to rain and grey skies yesterday but I did get some nice shots after the rain ceased for a few minutes.

  6. You live in a beautiful world because you see with beautiful eyes.

  7. Do I yield????????????????????
    Yes I do because I am not a fighter, I am a go with the flow person and as such I yield when needed

  8. I do love cemeteries and always yield to the call of a bird- thanks for sharing the wood thrush

  9. Oh the thrush! What a song! And that turkey was a bit of a surprise!

  10. The yield is a fine crop of photographs

  11. That “Miss Your Touch” was one of the most beautiful things I’ve seen on a marker.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

