Day 1601: Stress Relief

I’m going to relieve some stress by confessing that  I wrote another post titled “Stress Relief” last August, when I had a LOT of stress needing relief, including

  • my only child leaving for college in Scotland and
  • my first open heart surgery.

As always, it was a relief for me to describe and let go of my stress in that post. I can’t stress enough how writing this blog is stress relief for me, every day.

Yesterday, I definitely needed some stress relief.

IMG_1167

IMG_1168

I did end up happy yesterday, but that took some time and work because of all this stress:

  • My boyfriend Michael is away from home  helping out his brother for three days.
  • We’re moving to a new place near the ocean this summer.
  • Scientific reports indicate that our new house will be under water soon.
  • Because of a ridiculous series of unfortunate events, I will be losing long-term disability payments for the rest of my part-time leave from work.
  • I was so stressed by all the urgent calls at work yesterday that I didn’t have time to take any more photos.

As usual, it’s a relief to name my stress here.

Pat Metheny’s music is a reliable source of stress relief for me.

However,  on June 10, I’ll have the stress of deciding whether to use my ticket and see him live in concert or attend an important dinner at a group therapy conference.

It relieves my stress to realize that some of these are good problems to have.

Gratitude is always great stress relief, so thanks to all who helped me create this stress-relief post and to you — of course!  — for the relief of your presence, here and now.

Categories: blogging, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “Day 1601: Stress Relief

  1. A great post. I hope you get through to the other side. I find the quote This too shall pass really helps when there is rather a lot of stress.

  2. You have had your parts of challenges in the past year, Ann 🙂
    I hope, that you will find a solution for your new house, before you need to move in there.

    • I hope the world finds the solution for global warming, Irene. In the meantime, I hope to enjoy lots of days at our new home by the sea, blogging and reading wonderful comments like yours.

  3. Good post. We’re all stressed out one way or another, at the moment for me it seems to be by proxy as I’m taking everyone else’s stress on my shoulders! Cue jigsaw puzzles, card making, cooking, blogging and walking the dog!

  4. Yikes! That’s all I’ve got, Ann.

  5. Wow, sounds like a lot going on. Your house may not be underwater in the next 30 years depending on the indicators in the model. (Now that’s got to be comforting) Losing benefits to an inflexible bureaucracy is scary and frustrating. I hope the blog and the messages help. Now moving I find really stressful. I just moved out of my place on Monday because I am remodeling my kitchen. I’m in a nice apartment down the courtyard from mine and have not really stressed all week. So it might not be a number of things (like for me it wasn’t the remodeling work, it was the moving and the mess). It might just be one thing–like dealing with disability. Hope it all seems doable soon!

  6. Writing helps relieve my stress as well! It’s a good outlet to have…thanks for sharing!

  7. You have a wonderful library of stress relief techniques at your disposal, and as Lemony Snicket said, “A library is like an island in the middle of a vast sea of ignorance, particularly if the library is very tall and the surrounding area has been flooded.”

  8. We are alike in the stress area! Life is overwhelming much of the time and I find writing & sharing helps me a lot. I hope you have a stress-free day today! 😊

  9. Naming it, connecting with others, self care …. You are doing just fine Ann. May liofe find its balance again soon 💛

  10. Use your ticket and see him live!!! I only know of Pat Metheny because of your blog, but you blog about him even more than you blog about Oscar. (Haven’t seen Oscar around for awhile, now that I think of it.) Don’t feel guilty, either. You are a therapist, but this is therapy for yourself.

    When your house is underwater, Antarctica will be green. Maybe you can invest in an acreage of snow there now, while it’s cheap, and then tow your home when it’s time.

  11. Generally I don’t suffer from stress, I just go with the flow and don’t worry about things I can’t change

  12. May you find relief soon. Not good news about the glacier, but maybe we won’t be around then.

    • I hope smart people can find some relief for global warming, Derrick, because I don’t know how long any of us will be around. Thanks for the relief of another comment from you.

  13. wow that’s a lot of stress. I didn’t realize you had found a house- that is exciting, but so stressful to move.

  14. I’m glad you could name your stress. I’ve struggled to be that honest over my life (hesitant to put names to stress).

    Your house by the ocean. It’s found? I’m so happy for you!!!! (But sorry for the nightmare stress that money and health worries cause. 😦 )

  15. To relieve stress, I picture myself with my friend, Carina, in a small white cottage, being served fresh bread from a caring older woman. I note the cleanliness of the surroundings, the wonderful aroma of the bread and the caring supportive atmosphere… Another step I take to diminish stress is to follow my younger self back to my grandma’s swimming pool and take a cool refreshing dip with that child and share in his carefree excitement and joy.

  16. Pingback: Day 1621: Admit One | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

