Day 1595: Peace cutting through turmoil

In the midst of my personal turmoil of deciding what blog post to write this morning  — (“Should I acknowledge Mother’s Day? Write about my late mother, about being a mother, or about mothers I know?  Should I discuss the current turmoil in world politics? Mention the two funeral services I attended yesterday? Explore the turmoil involved in moving? Celebrate the return home tomorrow of my son?”) — one photo I took yesterday is cutting through the turmoil.

IMG_1094

I think we could all use some peace cutting through turmoil, don’t you?  And I can’t think of a better way to celebrate Mother’s Day today in the USA.

I hope my other photos from yesterday provide some peace cutting through turmoil.

IMG_1095

IMG_1096

IMG_1090

IMG_1089

IMG_1092

IMG_1091

IMG_1087

 

IMG_1088

IMG_1093

IMG_1099

 

IMG_1100

IMG_1101

 

Here‘s peace cutting through turmoil on YouTube:

 

As always, my gratitude for all who help me create these posts and for you — of course! — cuts through everything.

IMG_1084.jpg

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Day 1595: Peace cutting through turmoil

  1. I attended a dance reciatl that a friend’s daughter was in. Having raised four sons, none of whom was inyerested in dance, I found it so precious. That helped cut through any turmoil the day might have thrown at me.

  2. My wife put a magnet on the refrigerator that says, “Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble, or hard work. It means to be in the midst of these things and still be calm in your heart.” It’s a lovely thought and helps cut through the turmoil in the refrigerator.

  3. Happy Mother’s Day (and return of your son day) Ann. May peace be all that fills your beautiful mind. May peace be all you carry in your loving heart.

  4. Happy Mother’s Day Ann! I hope peace continues to cut through your turmoil. So exciting that Aaron is coming home!

  5. Well I think your son coming home wins top honors – Happy Mother’s Day Ann! ❤
    Diana xo

  6. Happy Mother’s Day (and return of your son day) dear Ann. “Mothers and Peace”… I can believe that the power of mothers could bring the peace to the world.

    Thank you, Have a nice day, Love, nia

  7. Fridge magnets, baby faces and warm thoughts. Good things to cut through the turmoil of life and deciding on second desserts. Peace and love on Mother’s Day to our Mothers, ourselves and people who are like mothers. Welcome home Aaron!

  8. I wrestled with the matter of a Mother’s Day post on my mother or just another kitty post since the tagline is, after all, “surviving retirement with two cats”. Then, on Facebook, a memory post came up that answered the question: my post celebrating my mother one year after her death four years ago.

    I re-shared that on Facebook after re-reading it, having my moment of remembered sorrow and remembrance of what an exceptional person and citizen she was, then decided to follow the sagacious example of my two Persian kitty boys, Andy and Dougy: nap and relax in the sun coming in the open back door. A perfect day away from turmoil!

    That said, I hope all the mothers reading your post and you had a wonderful Mother’s Day because, in your individual ways you created many wonderful days for your children!

  9. Happy Mother’s Day Ann! Peace to you.

  10. Every day is a happy day! Mother’s Day included. But so is the day after Mothers Day. And on and on. For you and me every day is a celebration!

  11. There’s something about your words that cut through any turmoil. They kind of create a landing pad for the heart and soul. 🙂

  12. Most people have forgotten that Mothering Sunday originated in UK and other Christian countries as a Sunday on which they are expected to visit their mother church – the fourth Sunday in Lent. Perhaps that is why UK and US and Australia celebrate the event on different dates.

    • That was my son’s excuse for not wishing me a Happy Mother’s Day yesterday, Derrick. Your peaceful comment cuts through any turmoil, as usual.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

