Day 1554: Fáilte

Yesterday, I did not fáil te take a photo of this welcoming word in a welcoming home:

IMG_9892

“Fáilte” means welcome and you’re welcome for the definition.

Do any of these other photos say “Fáilte” to you?

IMG_9888

IMG_9878

IMG_9884

IMG_9882

IMG_9881

IMG_9879

IMG_9880

IMG_9885

IMG_9889

 

IMG_9891

 

IMG_9887

 

IMG_9893

IMG_9886

IMG_9894

Michael’s Matzo Ball Soup says “Fáilte” to me.

Since this is the second post in a row with a sign about the hokey pokey, let’s welcome this YouTube video:

As always, I would welcome any comments.

Fáilte and thanks to all who helped me create this post and to you — of course! — who are ALWAYS welcome here.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 27 Comments

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “Day 1554: Fáilte

  1. I’m sure you would expect me to home in on the first picture. Michael’s soup does rather win the day though.

  2. I welcome the sight of a blue sky over a lake any day I can, Ann.

  3. A welcome post this morning Ann. 💛

  4. What a beautiful start for a new day 🙂 Thank you dear Ann! I haven’t known this word, Failte (as wikipedia says that it appears in the Irish phrase céad míle fáilte (a hundred thousand welcomes) )… So beautiful. Thank you for this lovely welcoming… Blessing and Happiness, Love, nia

  5. I love the video with little girl and the nurses. Kids are the best, I guess that is why I work with kids, and not adults, because you can goof around – even when the situation is not such a happy one. Have a lovely day Ann!!!!!

  6. Failte, accent on the a, I vote for Michael’s soup and the lovely Gretchen. Hope you have a lovely welcoming day!

  7. After years of wondering I decided to check Wikipedia to find out what it’s all about and have come away more confused than before: the Hokey Pokey song has a copyright in the US but not in the UK where it’s considered a traditional folk song that may go back at least as far as the mid-19th century. There it’s called the “hokey cokey”. In New Zealand “hokey pokey” is also a popular ice cream flavor.
    Needless to say I welcome both ice cream and more knowledge.

  8. As you; I go with the soup!
    -Alan

  9. Awesome photos

  10. I know this word without even having to look it up. I can pronounce. But here, I always feel it.

  11. If all those photos of art and welcome were from one home you toured, facing a lake, I’d say that’s a keeper! Kindred spirits of a sort, maybe. We bought our Florida condo fully furnished, including wall art. I doubt we were actually kindred spirits now, but we felt right at home from the start. Btw, a lake offers a lot of bird life to watch! An ocean view may not offer as much of that,

  12. I welcome the memories of the dryer chair, the hokey pokey, ans the messages received from this post.

  13. I did not fáil te take a photo….you are priceless!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

