Day 1537: A sense of urgency

I often have a sense of urgency about

  • returning phone calls,
  • answering emails,
  • getting tasks (including taxes) done,
  • running errands,
  • expressing myself,
  • clearing up misunderstandings,
  • responding to requests,
  • correcting mistakes,
  • changing/improving things,  and
  • so much more.

Today, I have a sense of urgency about finishing this post, because I need to get my INR level tested at 8:15 before I go into work.

I often have a sense that my sense of urgency adds to anxiety and stress. If I had more sense, I’d probably let go of that sense of urgency, take a breath,  and slow down.

I’m taking a breath and slowing down to share images I sensed yesterday.

IMG_9500

IMG_9501

 

IMG_9503

IMG_9504

IMG_9505

IMG_9506

Ann would say:

  • be aware of triggers (things that increase your anxiety),
  • notice and practice whatever reduces your anxiety (including self-care, being in the moment, forgiveness, etc.),
  • do what you love, and
  • listen to music you enjoy.

 

What would you say about all this?

I do have a sense of urgency about expressing gratitude to all who help me create these posts and — of course! — to you.

 

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “Day 1537: A sense of urgency

  1. Hope your INR levels are optimal, Ann. Happy St Patrick’s Day to you and Michael. I played that last version of Changes on endless repeat yesterday. Inspiring!

  2. Your urgent self care is beautiful, Ann Koplow. ❤

  3. “What Would Ann Say” WWAS … my motto for the day.

  4. Yes, a sense of urgency as I read emails, loving this one, while the talking heads on the TV nearby discuss crazy notions of the Brits wiretapping #45 on orders of #44. My urgency grows each day, if I let it. WHat would Ann say? Stop it, Sunny!

  5. “I have been impressed with the urgency of doing. Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Being willing is not enough; we must do.”- Leonardo da Vinci


    Happy St. Patricks Day!

  6. Life has taught me all too well that fools rush in, but it’s been harder for me to learn that fools also wait too long. The one thing I’ve learned to be certain of is that the perfect moment is a moving target.

    • I didn’t respond to this comment until mañana, Chris, but now I urgently wish to thank you for all these perfect moments.

  7. I’m the same way. I’m currently in a panic because I just found out my landlord is selling my condo. If the new owner doesn’t want a tenant, I have three months to find something else, but I’m still wanting to get all it resolved NOW. Breathe…

  8. I always feel that a sense of urgency leads to tension and anxiety-but sometimes it can propel us into action and getting things done.

  9. I used to feel like this but the older I get the more I just don’t worry about such things

  10. Good advice, Anne. Tonight I was scarfing dinner and had to stop to remind myself there was no need. I could just slow down.

  11. Now that my March Break is coming to an end and I’ve been sick pretty much the entire time I’m feeling some urgency to get going on the renovation in the basement. We were hoping to get it cleaned up this week. The contractor starts work in two weeks and once I’m back at work I know it’s going to be more difficult to get the area cleared. Today we went to the tile store and picked out and paid for the tile that’s going in the bathroom. One thing done. Check!

  12. The good thing about the first on your list is that it is about returning phone calls. a bete noir of mine is the need to answer calls there and then whoever else you might be with – nothing is that urgent, as you well know,

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

