Day 1502: Opening the heart

I’m going to  open my heart to you, here and now, and tell you about a dream I had last night. In that dream, my open-hearted cardiologist, Dr. Deeb Salem, told me that my new mechanical valve (which I got during open heart surgery in September) wasn’t working correctly and that they were going to have open up my heart again to fix it.

I wonder if that dream about reopening my heart was triggered by this image I saw yesterday morning, at the beginning of a blizzard here in Boston?

img_8746

When I saw that opening-the-heart image yesterday morning on my way to work,  it opened my heart in a good way. My heart opened up with appreciation for all those things that are key to opening my heart to love and to new possibilities. And when I  opened my heart (and my iPhone camera) to other images during the day, I continued to think about that first open-hearted image.

As you open your heart to my other photos, do you see any keys to opening the heart in them?

img_8747

img_8748

img_8750

img_8751

img_8752

img_8753

img_8756

img_8754

img_8757

img_8759

img_8758

img_8764

img_8765

img_8766

img_8767

img_8768

img_8770

img_8771

img_8773

Today, I’ll be opening my heart to patients on the first Friday I’ve worked since my Open Heart surgery in September. But first, I have to open my heart to cardiac rehab at 7:30 AM.

Do I have time to open our hearts to an Opening-the-Heart song?

As usual, I end every post by opening my heart with gratitude to all who helped me create this post and to you — of course! — for opening your heart to me, today.

img_8761

img_8763

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 32 Comments

Post navigation

32 thoughts on “Day 1502: Opening the heart

  1. What a lovely way to start the day. Thank you Ann from my heart to yours 💕
    Here is one of my favorite heart opening mantras from Deva Premal

    • Thanks for posting this here, Val! I recite Thich Nhat Hanh’s retranslation of the Heart Sutra every day and recite this mantra 108 times with my mala, I look forward to using this version for today’s session!

    • I love the way you open hearts, Val. ❤

  2. Thank you Ann for every photo snapped with us in mind, with opening your heart and dreams to us as you open them to yourself!

  3. Years ago, I posted a note on my computer — “A broken heart is an open heart and an open heart is a loving heart. Your posted reminded me of how living with an open heart, keeps love flowing freely!

    Thanks Ann for always opening your heart here and sharing joy, laughter, and loving-kindness.Oh. And some cheeky photos too! (Love the puppy in the mud of denial!) ❤

  4. I’m glad your dream made you feel better about your heart. I think you open your heart every blog and you make my heart feel good too.

  5. I am pleased you feel good about your heart, but I can’t help remembering there was a problem with a potentially faulty item that did require a real opening up.

  6. Great vibe–and I love the orchid pictures! I wish I could get one to grow instead of die away…

  7. You always make my heart feel better, I hope it’s the same for you. ❤

  8. The one thing I see in common here is that you’re open to many fun, interesting, and thought-provoking things because they’ve found the key to your heart.

  9. Love your open heartedness Ann. ❤
    Diana xo

  10. That is one dream that I hope does not come true. 🙂

  11. I had such an odd dream last night that I work up unsettled. I’m sitting here trying to think what could have triggered it when I came across your post. I have my thinking cap on and my heart open as I wait for some answers.

  12. Pingback: Day 1503: Windows of hope | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  13. Opening the heart can mean so many things, please do not be afraid with the dream. You have a strong a heart.

  14. may dreams of a beautiful
    future continue daily
    while sleeping soundly
    through the night 🙂

  15. Too bad I can’t post pics in my comments to your blog, because I’d sure post one flowery, beautiful heart!

  16. I hope work went well. I’m sure you made many people’s day better because you were in it ….you have improved my day. Hugs.
    Barb

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

