Day 1464: Why I should be afraid

Whenever I look at the news, I encounter people telling me why I should be afraid.

Should I be afraid of that?

These days, I am more afraid than usual because of the political situation in the U.S. and because I can hear and feel my brand new mechanical heart valve working when I’m trying to sleep.

Should I be afraid of those things?

I don’t know if I should be afraid of anything. As I tell people in therapy, shoulds are unhelpful cognitive distortions and shoulds about emotions can be particularly toxic. When I’m having  any emotion, including fear, I try to let the emotion move through me, rather than judging it with shoulds. 

I guess I’m recommending that we feel fear without being afraid of it.

I should also say that most things I’ve been afraid of in the past have simply not come true. If they have come true, fear has neither helped me nor prevented me from facing them.

Should I be afraid that I have not adequately addressed today’s topic of Why I Should be Afraid?

Should we be afraid of any of my photos from yesterday?

datarfcsdfnz0lfprhsm0ublxdzhdrdfhtmhhn1u-gmfnwkrf7qdq6dq7lksiky2z8cslwxjcopwy7teuabzdznk_dx4gtk1bx4cnv0uigitv4oufdr2s8g8qrbrtbplswhls3zzudpr8vt8fbfmhsxl3tc_t_ldlmc1m6p9kbu9me7iko6bimvwdprsp1elxtc9fh

img_7910

 

IMG_7912.jpg

 

img_7913

img_7914

img_7915

img_7916

img_7917

img_7918

Should I be afraid of being late for work if I don’t find a suitable song on YouTube very soon?

 

Should I worry or be afraid about getting comments today?

I should, without being afraid, thank all those who helped me create today’s post and also you — of course! — for being here, now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 44 Comments

Post navigation

44 thoughts on “Day 1464: Why I should be afraid

  1. I agree 😸

  2. Hubby and his family get “off” on bad news and I am constantly telling him “no I don’t want to hear that” and “could we please talk of good things?” There is so much fear in this world yet don’t we have a choice NOT to fear? Fear only feeds more fear hence paralysis. I’m a good news bear and no matter what happens, will remain so. Good morning, Ann!! ❤

  3. There’s no courage without fear

  4. The things we worry about…almost never really happen. And yet…the cycle continues. As for your pics today…..Grrrrreat !

  5. Sometimes I worry I quote others too much–and then I worry that I draw on too limited a pool of names. For instance I’m very tempted to quote Eddie Izzard who said, “I tend to go towards things that scare me now, I think that’s very positive – not anything, like leaping off a cliff onto spikes scares me, and I don’t go, ‘Let’s go!'” but I quote Izzard so regularly shouldn’t I try to offer something original?
    And it amuses me that there’s a town in Massachusetts called “Scituate” that’s situated right on the water’s edge but I worry I can’t come up with a joke to go with that.
    And I worry that sharing this song is going to be predictable and obvious but I’m going to leap in and do it anyway.

    • Don’t worry, Chris. I never think you’re predictable or obvious. You are eminently quotable, just like Eddie Izzard and Monty Python.

  6. I have friends who always have to have a ‘crisis du jour’. They thrive on it. My motto has always been live and let live. Stop seeing negative things that aren’t there. That’s not to say you shouldn’t be afraid of what might be but don’t let your life be guided by your fears.

  7. Wonderful pictures!

  8. I have stopped watching the news regularly, and when I do drop in, it’s mostly bad and I don’t need that. I’m working on staying positive, hanging out with positive people and cleaning up poor Mother Earth. Small steps can lead to big changes. Worry always waits in the corner, but I keep a tight control on the nasty beast. If I knew how to do it, I would insert “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” Reggae version☺️

  9. A thought provoking post. It depends a lot on what results from the fear. Fear that leads either to avoidance or a coping strategy is good, fear that freezes into inactivity in the face of danger, not so much. Worry is a form of fear. My opinion is that we should worry only about those things we can change and learn to avoid or accept the rest, whichever is appropriate.

  10. During WW11, President Roosevelt said, “We have nothing to fear but fear itself.” I remember those years well as I was a teenager during that time. I think we can temper the term “fear” with “concern.” Certainly we can be concerned about our nation. That means we can find positive ways to help in areas that are open to us. Expressing our concerns, taking action when we can are paths that we can follow.

  11. I am sorry to hear that you can feel your new heart valve working. How disconcerting! How amazing, too.

  12. You should be pleased with today’s post!

  13. I think sometimes we do become addicted to being ‘afraid’ and then fail to recognition real ‘fear’ … like the boy who cried “wolf”.

  14. There are many things we should be afraid of, but guess what generally speaking I am not afraid, why because I live in a safe area, surrounded by people who would not harm me and also can’t see the point in being afraid of things I have no control over.

  15. I’m not afraid of getting a good meal like that one, now hand it over!

  16. Was that Tony the Tiger? I was glad to see him. I think there are a lot of people out there trying to make people fearful, because it gives them power. We need to be alert and concerned, but not much else for the moment. Sorry you can hear that heart valve. I hope it doesn’t make you worry much longer.

  17. In the times we live in, I think you’d have to be an ostrich with your head in the sand not to be afraid.

  18. It’s like watching the movie InsideOut….we have to allow those feelings. Hard as it is, it’s better than not feeling them.

  19. Hi Anne,
    So right! let fear be – it dissipates to reason eventually!
    Happy New Year!
    Bridie.
    https://imperativeobservationsmk2.com/
    Like my link then I can have your Gravatar!

  20. I agree it’s a fearful time. But we can not be afraid. We must be strong. I LOVED that book “Can’t We Talk About Something Pleasant!” And I used to have a cat named George that looked just like yours. See? There is a connection among all people. We just need to use them for good.

  21. Pingback: Day 1465: Malware Where? | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

