Day 1463: Sea Journey

On the last day of 2016, my son — who journeys over the sea when he journeys to school or home — and I  journeyed to see the wonderful movie La La Land, about a land near the sea. As we were journeying that day,  we heard “Sea Journey” (written by Chick Corea, who grew up in the same town near the sea as my late father).

I said to my sea-journeying son, “I used to play that.”  And I  thought about the many journeys I’ve taken since I first played “Sea Journey” and wondered if I should journey back to the piano to learn it again.

Since the U.S. election in November, I’ve been on a journey to move near the sea. This sea journey seems so important that sometimes it’s difficult for me to feel peace where I’m living, here and now, away from the sea.

As I often tell others, if you are to journey forward, the first step is accepting exactly where you are.

See? I need to love living away from the sea in order to make a successful journey to the sea.

Ready to see what I saw, yesterday, on my journeys?

img_7909

img_7893

img_7894

img_7904

img_7896

img_7905

img_7895

IMG_7899.JPG

img_7898

img_7897

img_7901

img_7888

img_7892.

That’s Benny (with my niece/travel agent Laura, who books all my journeys), doing his imitation of a sea-journeying seal.

What journeys will you see today?

Many thanks to Chick Corea, Pat Metheny, Gary Burton, Antonio Sanchez, Steve Swallow, Benny, Laura, Victoria (Laura’s daughter),  and my son for accompanying me on recent journeys and to you — of course! — no matter what journey you’re on today.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , | 30 Comments

Post navigation

30 thoughts on “Day 1463: Sea Journey

  1. You have to love living, away from the sea or near it, and you do. I hope that you find a home near the sea that you love. Happy New Year, Ann.

  2. My dog tries to do a seal impersonation but she is too furry.
    Today I will see the sun rise across the desert and the mountains glowing pink. I love sunrise!

  3. How was LaLaLand? And I’m wondering why the U.S. elections triggered a need to live by the sea?

    • La La Land was wonderful. I’m not happy with the results of the election so I need more self-soothing and there is nothing I find more soothing than the sights and the sounds of the sea! Thanks for journeying here today, Dawn.

  4. I moved to the sea in 2015 & in 2016 I reacquainted myself with the piano. The move was good but more challenging than the ideal mind version I had prior to the reality. Going back to piano has brought loads of unexpected joy — I’m so glad I followed through. All the best to you in 2017. I rarely comment but thoroughly enjoy your blog.

    • I’m wondering if I’m idealizing my sea journey, too. I am honored that you journeyed here today. ❤

      • Well, I should have clarified – I LOVE living in a coastal town. I’m 10 minutes from the ocean on an island situated between Savannah, GA and the Atlantic. The connecting river is basically my back yard. I marvel at the beauty every day and recognize how incredibly blessed I am. Coastal air really does feel better and has been great for my soul and emotional health. The hard part (I think — I’m still pondering it all) is that we moved at the height of a busy phase of life, mostly because of my husband’s job but also because we wanted to. I work from home & have elementary aged children so a lot of the past year has been spent getting them situated. We had lots of friends in our former home (a culturally hopping and intellectual university community) and I realize now how much those relationships fed. I have little time now to foster new friendships because life is still busy right now even though we’re by the coast. (A goal this year is to get more involved in the community.) I suspect you’ve weighed all the pros and cons and will be happy with whatever decision you make. I also needed a year for fewer social commitments and likely this was why I was able to go back to the piano – so there’s that. Didn’t intend to write a book here but you helped me work some of my thoughts out. Thanks! 😊

      • Thank YOU. ❤

  5. Happy 2017, Ann! May this be the year you find your special place by the sea. We found one but have to drive about 20 minutes to see the sea, and with the rising tides of climate change, that’s okay by me! Fwiw, we used Realtor.com and Estately.com to obsess over what’s out there, and in the end our agent took us to a place I’d passed on online, and we loved it after all! Hubby doesn’t like that there’s no tennis or gym, but we joined the Y and I think he’ll get over his futile resentments 😏. Btw, it took us about 5 years of planning to sell our city apt, move fully into our country place, move my practice from NYC to PA, and come down to Florida to buy our snowbird nest. 🏖🌴 You can do it, probably a lot faster too!

  6. There’s a painting by Jamie Wyeth called “If Once You Have Slept on an Island” that makes me think of how important it is to be near the sea, or even just near water.
    I hope you find that place near the sea. For me now that the holidays are over I’m trying to end my seafood diet–the one where I see food and eat it.

    • If once you have slept on an island
      You’ll never be quite the same;
      You may look as you looked the day before
      And go by the same old name,
      You may bustle about in street and shop
      You may sit at home and sew,
      But you’ll see blue water and wheeling gulls
      Wherever your feet may go.
      You may chat with the neighbors of this and that
      And close to your fire keep,
      But you’ll hear ship whistle and lighthouse bell
      And tides beat through your sleep.
      Oh! you won’t know why and you can’t say how
      Such a change upon you came,
      But once you have slept on an island,
      You’ll never be quite the same.
      — Rachel Lyman Field

  7. This gal who loves cruises, gets seasick, just saying

  8. I often think about ‘moving’ Ann. Not to the sea (though that would be lovely) but to a log cabin. I sat in my house last week and looked around, so very grateful for having it. And knowing it’s a good house. It made me feel more settled. Even if I do someday make a move.

  9. No journeys for me! But back to work tomorrow after quite a few days off. I guess that’s a journey in itself. Happy new year!

  10. Journeying to the sea is a wonderful thing. I do love your tea bag inspirations everyday Ann

  11. “One must learn to love, and go through a good deal of suffering to get to it… and the journey is always towards the other soul.”- D. H. Lawrence

  12. Thank you for your positive spirit and happy new year!

  13. These days, journeys are mostly in my head

  14. I’m on the beach in Mexico. Very pleasant with the sound of the waves and blue skies. But like all things in life, there are mild irritations- little no see-ums and nobody bringing me a margarita! But really this year feels like the start of a new journey for me and I’m hoping we all get to discover new lands and things that let us grow. Best of luck for your journey!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

