Day 1459: In the dark

I’m in the dark as I’m writing this because

  • the sun hasn’t come up yet,
  • I’ve not turned on any lights, and
  • there are so many things I don’t understand.

I took this photo when it was dark last night.

img_7817

I guess I felt the need for some sunshine, although that was just somebody trying to sell me soap.

When  I’m in the dark, it helps to remember happy times, like this scene from my favorite movie:

Even though I’m in the dark about so many things, I’ll still keep  singin’ in the rain with the late Gene Kelly,  the late Donald O’Connor, and  the late Debbie Reynolds.

As light through yonder window breaks, good morning and thanks to all of you for brightening my life, here and now.

Categories: blogging, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Day 1459: In the dark

  1. good morning Ann- it is gray and dreary here today but your blog let some sunshine in. Have a good day 🙂

  2. We definitely need to look for those bright sides in our day.

  3. Singing in the Rain…it surely brightened my mother’s life, it was a favorite, and I saw it so often as a child. We need so much light these days, Ann. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. Good morning Ann. Sitting just north of you in the snow on our way to Mexico! No rain on the horizon!

  5. It is still dark here (5:20 AM on the Canadian west coast) and I feel in the dark about most things. As it happens, your blog is casting the only light in the room. Hope you have a well-illuminated day.

  6. I am in the dark.
    I was up at 5 am, and since this is the dark of the year in the north half of the world, I am reading my emails and waiting for the sun to rise and get me out of the dark!

  7. Just barely light here. Good morning. Let’s hope today is a day free from sadness.

  8. Good morning! You’ve shown why it’s great to stay up late, or get up early. Being in the dark gives you the opportunity to fill in what you can’t see with your imagination, and then you get to greet the dawn.

  9. What a wonderful post! Every morning should be filled with joy and hope! Thanks and greetings.

  10. My first thought was yeah in 1459 it would be dark as they had no electric lights only candles and candles don’t give out that much light, but that was not what the post was about I am sitting in a pretty dark room as I don’t turn on a lot of lights first thing in the morning

  11. Dark is less than the absence of light. It is the prelude to light! What was that religious program in the 1950s that began with “It’s better to light one candle than to curse the darkness”? Exactly! And “Good Morning” from “Singing in the Rain” certainly lights up the darkness! Even realizing the world is a little darker for the passing of that wonderful, sweet, talented woman, isn’t it wonderful we had her in our time, that her legacy is in a medium we can revisit time and time again on TCM channel (for example)?

  12. I like weggieboy’s quote: “It’s better to light one candle…” The 1950’s religious program was: :”Life is worth living.” Hosted by Bishop Fulton J. Sheen.
    -Alan

  13. “Dancing in the Dark” is a popular song, with music by Arthur Schwartz and lyrics by Howard Dietz, that was first introduced by John Barker in the 1931 revue The Band Wagon. The song was first recorded by Bing Crosby in August 1931. Here’s by Diana Krall:

  14. Foggy here as sunshine attempts to pierce the pall

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

