Day 1412: Veterans

Yesterday was Veterans Day in the USA, so  I visited a special place in my birthplace of Boston.

img_6511

img_6518

img_6514

 

img_6513

I’m a veteran of witnessing war from the safety of my home, thanks to the veterans honored there and elsewhere.

Because I’m a veteran blogger, I woke up this morning with this thought:

We are all veterans of life’s challenges; therefore, we will make it through the challenges facing us today.

Because I’m a veteran group therapist, I had this thought:

In the past, I have  felt alone with my pain, disappointment, and fear.  Today, I know I am not alone.

If you’re a veteran of this blog, you know I like to share photos from the day before.

img_6468

img_6469

img_6470

img_6472

img_6473

img_6477

img_6478

img_6480

img_6481

img_6483

IMG_6484.JPG

img_6502

img_6505

img_6523

 

img_6526

img_6527

img_6531

img_6530

 

img_6533

img_6532

img_6534

img_6535

img_6537

img_6542

img_6544

img_6546

As I look around with my veteran eyeballs, I see lots of beauty.  When I listen with my veteran ears while walking through gardens, I hear music like this:

I would like to thank all the veterans who helped me create today’s post and all the veterans reading this, here and now.

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Day 1412: Veterans

  1. What a lovely memorial.

  2. As a veteran reader of your blog, I appreciate you keeping it fresh and interesting each day. We love and appreciate our military veterans, but want to also note CS&Y and their veteran status in the music world.

  3. Lovely monuments to less than lovely wars. But the veterans are special, both in war and music. Thanks for the CSN. But…Shinola ? really ? Who knew they were still around. ☺

  4. amusez798387

    Amazing grace and beauty in your blog today. We are all veterans.

  5. Some lovely landscapes

  6. Love your blog and the trip down memory lane in your musical selection. I am grateful to veterans for our freedoms.

  7. As usual, your autumn landscapes shine Ann, and like a veteran, you photograph them.

  8. thank you for this touching tribute
    and for being a rock solid
    warrior on the path
    of love, Ann 🙂

  9. Every year on Memorial Day I read Yusef Komunyakaa’s “Facing It”. As a Vietnam veteran he speaks quietly yet powerfully about facing the monument in Washington D.C. and how he almost expects to find his own name there.
    After reading this post of yours I went back and read the poem again today and considered how your own personal victories may not have large public memorials but they are significant, and how they offer hope to you and others.

  10. I love the Victory Gardens. Nice you included those. The candy eyeballs, not so much. 😉

  11. What beautiful memorials and how fitting to visit on Veteran’s Day Ann. You are obviously a veteran photographer as all of your images are great. I love your words- We are all veterans of life’s challenges; therefore, we will make it through the challenges facing us today- I will remember it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

