Day 1411: It could be worse.

It could be worse. It could be raining.

It could be worse. It could be a world without

“Good Bones,” by Maggie Smith

Life is short, though I keep this from my children.
Life is short, and I’ve shortened mine
in a thousand delicious, ill-advised ways,
a thousand deliciously ill-advised ways
I’ll keep from my children. The world is at least
fifty percent terrible, and that’s a conservative
estimate, though I keep this from my children.
For every bird there is a stone thrown at a bird.
For every loved child, a child broken, bagged,
sunk in a lake. Life is short and the world
is at least half terrible, and for every kind
stranger, there is one who would break you,
though I keep this from my children. I am trying
to sell them the world. Any decent realtor,
walking you through a real shithole, chirps on
about good bones: This place could be beautiful,
right? You could make this place beautiful.

  • Sons who want to FaceTime with their mothers

img_6452

img_6460

  • Cats

img_6461

  • Signs

img_6463

img_6467

  • Fire hydrants

img_6465

  • Mittens

img_6464

  • Pumpkins

img_6466

  • My readers, who I hope will leave a comment about this post (which could be worse)
  • Gratitude, which I’m expressing for all who helped me create today’s blog and for you– of course! — no matter what you think could be worse, here and now.

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , | 34 Comments

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “Day 1411: It could be worse.

  1. yes )

  2. Great poem today, Ann.
    Face timing with your son- what could be better?

    Am going to not think and worry about “could be”

  3. Love the poem – feels perfect for where we are. So many are feeling the need to be kinder in the wake of the election. Nice to see Aaron here, too. Hugs for today all around.

  4. Agreed. All of those things here today, Ann, are better than one person in one office.

  5. Powerful words! It could be worse, and as it says somewhere in the Big Book, I “resign from the debating society.” As I watch video of marching protestors from our hotel room in Georgia I think how I have marched so many times but at 65 I feel just fine letting with gratitude the younger ones burning with the fire of indignation and fear march for me now.

  6. Delicious, indeed!
    Love that young man,
    Love how he loves u,
    Love you too!!

  7. Life is short, and I’ve shortened mine
    in a thousand delicious, ill-advised ways…

    These lines in particular stand out to me as a reminder that life is to be lived. It’s a gift and we shouldn’t be stingy with it even though sometimes there are obstacles to enjoying it freely.

  8. You need to find Eric Idle and “Always look on the Bright Side of Life”, and give that a listen. I would challenge anybody not to find it cheers them up!

  9. I really like Aaron’s idea in the images. It’s very creative.

    I guess you’re right. It could be worst, but how do we know? It’s the Middle Way. Thanks again Ann.

  10. Yes, it could be worse. We could not be here to enjoy the kids and the sunshine and the pain in our whatever. Am glad we’ve got you.

  11. love the poem- love the face time-love that hydrant. Have a good weekend Ann!

  12. It could be worse-we could run out of wine and cookies! Remember a balanced diet is one in each hand! Enjoy the sunshine wherever it may appear.

  13. Life could be worse … but not right now. 💛

  14. Da Wurst ist still to komm!

  15. No Internet to awaken us to monsters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. Excellent, original, Face Time images

  17. I have an old children’s book titles “could be worse” and it is always a great reminder!
    And so is this post!
    Thanks
    And the pics were fun!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

