Day 1388: Flesh and Bones

During this time of the year, there are flesh and bones everywhere, but many more bones than usual:

img_5913

img_5914

img_5915

img_5916

img_5917

img_5918

img_5919

img_5920

img_5921

img_5922

img_5923

img_5924

img_5927

img_5928

img_5929

img_5930

img_5931

img_5932

img_5933

img_5934

img_5935

img_5936

img_5937

img_5939

img_5940

Here’s something I feel in my flesh and bones, on this October day: I miss my only child, Aaron, who is away at college in Edinburgh, Scotland. Three of those photos of bones, above, reminded me of this fuzzy, flesh-and-bones Halloween photo of long ago:

img_5953

In my flesh and bones, I also miss my late mother (on the right).

What are you feeling in your flesh and bones, today?

As I continue to recover from open heart surgery, the bones in my rib cage feel like a too-large bird cage, especially when I’m trying to sleep. However, this flesh-and-bone blogger is SO grateful her  bones and flesh are healing, every day.

Since my trusty and strong leg bones took me many other places besides Hillcrest Road in Belmont, Massachusetts, yesterday,  I took several other flesh-and-bones photos besides the boney ones, above.  I’d say it’s time to flesh out this post with those:

img_5903

img_5904

img_5905

img_5906

img_5907

img_5908

img_5909

img_5910

img_5911

IMG_5912.JPG

img_5941

img_5925

img_5926

 

img_5943

img_5942

img_5944

img_5945

img_5946

img_5947

img_5948

img_5949

img_5950

img_5951

img_5952

Which of those photos do you prefer, in your bones?

In my bones, I know that this is the video — created by my son Aaron more than seven Halloweens ago — that I want to share  with my flesh-and-bones readers, today:

 

Flesh-and-bones thanks to my son Aaron, to everyone else who helped me create today’s post, and to you — of course! — for visiting, here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 39 Comments

Post navigation

39 thoughts on “Day 1388: Flesh and Bones

  1. Those first set of photos haha

  2. Kathy

    I need to take more walks with you! Great skeletons!

  3. Brilliant bones displays!!!

  4. Make no bones about it, a great post. “Roll the Bones”, by Rush.. https://youtu.be/oV9yUvNp6z0?list=PL2E887128E1AB3E96

  5. That video is the most asrtoundingly clever thing I have ever seen and made me laugh laugh- I just LOVED it!!!! Them theres a lot of bones around town- love you and the cat photo ❤

  6. Astoundingly that is!!

  7. Those boney characters without flesh are very clever! Thanks for sharing Ann 😄

  8. Wow…that is more skeleton action than I’ve ever seen in one place. Very nice, Ann. And those Louie, Louie lyrics…hysterical…so many “wigs” ! ☺

  9. I had no idea there was a major skeleton meme going on this year! The CVS near us sells bony rat and dog skeletons, but what fun with all the costumes and staging!

  10. I’m so glad your recovery is continuing to go well and that you have the aid of a skeleton crew.

  11. The creativity of the skeleton models are superb. I am still laughing what an excellent display. The cake pops looked yummy. Then again so did the chocolate Whoopie pie and I did spot a chocolate chip cookie next to the cake pops. Let’s face it, it all looked good to me.
    Your son did take the prize for me, I am still laughing, it is brilliant!!!!
    As for the area I live in (South Florida) which contains condos and no children that I know of. The only bones we will hear rattling are the bones of the elderly that reside in Deerfield Pines which is the name of our little complex.
    I will spend Halloween day at my daughter’s home, it is only ten minutes away and I get to see tons of children running from house to house dressed in their regalia and collecting goodies galore. I will then bring these old bones rattling home. :o)
    Thank you for a most pleasant bone-a-food walk, and the upbeat creative music.

  12. These old bones sure enjoyed this post.

  13. I remember Aaron’s misheard lyrics very fondly. Halloween must feel very different without your child around, particularly in a neighbourhood that seems to embrace it so fully. I hope Aaron is doing well in Edinburgh.

  14. Ann, this was such fun skeleton collection, I really enjoyed it. They are so creative. Grumpy likes Michael’s dish.

  15. Lots of bones and not much flesh just saying, but what great looking bones indeed

  16. Dem bones, dem bones! Never seen so many bones!

  17. Shout out to Aaron for the entertainment. I’d prefer the confectionary pics in my bones. Being an election year those skeletons could be voters.
    -Alan

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

