Day 1379: My boyfriend, Michael

My boyfriend, Michael, took over this daily blog three weeks ago when I underwent open heart surgery.

My boyfriend, Michael, DOUBLED my readership, temporarily, with the two posts he wrote on September 21 and September 22.

My boyfriend, Michael, made me laugh so hard  after I got my new heart valve at the Mayo Clinic in Minnesota on September 21, that it HURT.

My boyfriend, Michael, is already sick of telling certain stories about our trip to Minnesota, so I guess I should start telling them, here and now:

Story #1:

Immediately after my open heart surgery on September 21, I woke up eager to communicate, but  I had a breathing tube down my throat preventing me from talking, so Michael and the ICU nurse, Gene, got me a pad and paper.  Gene and Michael had trouble reading what I was writing, which frustrated me.  The first thing I wrote was, “Am I okay?” Michael replied, “It went great!”  I wrote back, “Would you tell me if it didn’t?” Michael said, “I don’t know how to answer that question, baby.” Then, Gene took over trying to decipher what I was writing on the pad of paper. As  I laboriously wrote out “I dreamed  of Michael”, Gene said to Michael, “Hey!  Your name is Michael, right? I guess she dreamed of you!”  I disgustedly shook my head and completed the sentence: “I dreamed of Michael BRECKER” (the jazz saxophonist whose music my cardiac surgeon played during my heart valve replacement surgery).

Story #2:

Because Michael is so charming and engaging, he connected and chatted with all my ICU nurses, which I enjoyed,  but it also annoyed me when I wanted their attention. Also, some of the topics Michael and my ICU nurses were discussing bothered me, because I was feeling so vulnerable.  For example,  my third ICU nurse, named Jason, was a beekeeper, so  Jason and Michael had a discussion about bees. I eventually interrupted them and  said, “Hey! It’s upsetting me to hear you talk about bees.  Don’t you know that the bees are DYING?”  In the meantime, a doctor had come in to examine me and  discuss my progress, and she concluded,  in a thick Slavic accent: “Okay.   We will continue monitoring her hemoglobin,  give her more medication for her nausea, start Coumadin through her IV, and don’t talk about the bees.”

My boyfriend, Michael, tells those two stories much better than I do.

My boyfriend, Michael, who is an excellent cook, used his phone yesterday to communicate with my 18-year-old son, Aaron, to teach him how to make his first quesadillas at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland.

img_5726

img_5727

img_5728

img_5729

img_5730

img_5731

My boyfriend, Michael, was happy to get back from Minnesota, two weeks ago, to see our two cats, Oscar and Harley.

img_5725

img_5732

My boyfriend, Michael, really likes the group Joy Division, who never sound particularly joyful to me.

 

My boyfriend, Michael, isn’t going to express his gratitude to all those who helped his girlfriend create this post and to all those who are reading it, but I will!

img_5705

 

Categories: blogging, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 68 Comments

Post navigation

68 thoughts on “Day 1379: My boyfriend, Michael

  1. Your Michael sounds like my Hubby. Great guys. 🙂

  2. Continued best wishes and hugs for your continuing recovery, Anne! As always, you posted a rich, interesting, picture-loaded, wonderful blog post, and I hope you see a huge gain in readership!

  3. Reblogged this on weggieboy's blog and commented:
    Ann Koplow recently had heart valve replacement surgery in Rochester, Minnesota, at Mayo Clinic. Her incredible resilience and good humor are an inspiration to me. Before and after her surgery, her blog has been one of those upbeat “must see” blogs on my daily reading list. Take a gander, and if you agree she is an exceptional blogger, give her a follow! Also, while she heals from her recent surgery, send her hugs and prayers. She is something else!

  4. How fortunate you are to have Michael in your life! Fun, helpful and a good cook. Wow!

  5. The Joy Division named themselves after the sex slavery wing of a Nazi concentration camp mentioned in the novel House of Dolls; so, no, there was no real joy in the name. After the suicide of their leader, Ian Curtis, at 23, the remaining members changed their name to New Order and moved to a more dance-oriented sound. I suppose they had a little joy then. But I wish to you to have plenty of joy to fill your “new” heart.
    New Order, True Faith: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfI1S0PKJR8
    “I feel so extraordinary
    Something’s got a hold on me
    I get this feeling I’m in motion
    A sudden sense of liberty…”

  6. Haven’t thought of Joy Division in 30 years- used to see them at a club in NYC when I was in my 20’s. Love your stories of the ICU and I think you told them just fine.That is some gorgeous meal!

  7. Wishing you a speedy recovery.
    Your kitties a precious.

  8. Thanks for sharing your love and appreciation for Michael. Such a good guy! I didn’t know he was a beekeeper … so is Don! We have 2 hives.
    Aaron is sure to be a hit in Edinburgh cooking quesadillas … beats mince and tatties any day 😉
    xo

    • Michael’s not a beekeeper — the ICU nurse Jason was. I’ve rewritten that story so that’s clear now, Val.Thanks for sharing your love and appreciation for Don and my blog! ❤

      • Thanks Ann! I was wondering why I hadn’t heard any of the buzz about bees before 💛 Keep healing well my friend!

  9. Count your Blessings, Ann, that your Michael is such a great guy and he can cook too!! A winning combo! And your cats ….. well you know me! I ohhhhhhed out loud when I saw the two all curled up. I would bet they missed you! Happy Recovery, dear friend!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

  10. That is a very funny, true picture of the days after surgery. I laughed at the part where you said you dreamed of another Michael, not the one who was working so hard to look after you. You are so lucky to have a boyfriend with humour who is also a great caregiver in an emergency. It was very honest of him to say that he didn’t know how to answer your question.

    Is that a quesadilla in the picture? Did he make it over Skype as a demonstration? What is inside? Is it onions and red peppers only? What is the outside made of? It looks tasty. Maybe I can try this. Can Michael teach yoir feaders, like me and my kids, some of his yummy-looking dishes?

    • I am also lucky to have a reader like you, Maureen, who has such honest curiosity! That IS a quesadilla that Michael was making while he was also instructing Aaron how to make his first quesadillas, via FaceTime. Michael put onions, red peppers, mushrooms, avocado, and cheese inside a whole wheat tortilla. I can tell you that Michael’s quesadillas were delicious. Aaron reported that his quesadillas were also delicious if a little messy. Aaron’s going to send us a picture of his quesadillas, so those might show up in a future blog post. I don’t think Michael is likely to blog any helpful cooking tips for my readers; he’s only agreed to appear here when I can’t.

      • Thank you for telling me what is in the quesadillas. Hopefully I can find the ingredients and try making them tonight. I have made other dishes in the past that were inspired by the photos of Michael’s dishes, although often I just take wild guess about what they are. They usually turn out great

  11. Harley is beautiful Ann!

    • Oscar wants to know if you think he’s beautiful, too, Maria! ❤

      • He’s beautiful, of course, and he’s the neurotic one. He needs his space to write all the novels he’s going to write.

      • Come to think of it, most cats are neurotic because they are highly individualistic. I know some of them aren’t, but it’s usually not the case, at least in my experience.

      • Actually, Harley is the more neurotic one. Come to think of it, we’re all neurotic in this household! ❤

      • Really? Haha 😍 same here ❤️

  12. I’m so glad Michael gets the public thanks 🙏🏼 he so richly deserves here for doing blog duty while you were unable to do it yourself! The quesadilla looks great, and I’m wondering if Aaron sent a photo or two of how his turned out. Wonderful kitties, too. 🐱

  13. It was so sweet of Michael to keep us posted and I’m so glad it all worked out so well for you Ann! ♡
    Diana xo

  14. I’m glad you and Michael have each other. I once had two cats, George and Oscar, who looked surprisingly just like your two cats. Maybe they are reincarnated.

  15. I think Michael is great simply because he loves Joy Division as much as I do. Everything else was just gravy:-)

  16. God Bless you both, you are amazing couple. your cats so lovely, I love cats so much. Happy recovery, Thank you (by the way I came here from one of my beautiful blogger friends’ blog, dear WeggieBoy, Andy and Dougy) Love, nia

  17. It’s so good that you’re settling back into a routine. Routines sometimes get a bad rap but where would we be without them? We don’t know–that’s why we need routines.

  18. I came here through WeggieBoy and enjoyed my visit. Wishing you a speedy recovery and lots of laughs in the process.

  19. amusez798387

    Michael is amazing, funny, and loving. So happy you have each other.

  20. Michael is a gem. Which goes well with your platinum personality. You are lovely together. 🙂

  21. Wishing you a speedy recovery! Beautiful post.

  22. Hurrah for MIchael, and for you, having him as a boyfriend.

  23. M boyfriend wouldn’t know how to over my blog oh hang on I don’t have a boyfriend I have a husband and still wouldn’t know how to take over my blog hell he properly wouldn’t be able to find it

  24. You two are so lucky to have each other! Love and support. Who could ask for more.

  25. It’s good to have so many beautiful people and kitties in your life 🙂 Healing Pawkisses for a speedy recovery ❤ ❤ ❤

  26. Great story about which Michael occupied your dreams 🙂

  27. Pingback: Day 1381: Sweet | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  28. What a devoted man !
    I wish you a quick recovery. .But I had a glance to your latest post and noticed you were quite well .Great
    Love ❤
    Michel ( I come from veggieboy)

  29. Pingback: Day 1415: Outrageous Fortune | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  30. Pingback: Day 1441: The secret to life | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  31. Pingback: 1485: Ask | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  32. Pingback: Day 1490: Dreams | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  33. Pingback: Day 1541: Good to know | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  34. Pingback: Day 1544: If … | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  35. Pingback: Day 1556: Worth more than gold | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

