Day 1376: What do I have to look forward to if I don’t have ____?

What do I have to look forward to if I don’t have my readers and my blog to write every day?

What do you have to look forward to if I don’t have a good enough explanation for the inspiration behind today’s post title?

When I was a little girl, there was nothing I looked forward to more than my mother finally saying “yes” to my repeated requests that we get a cat. One thing I did NOT look forward to, back then,  were all the hospitalizations I needed because of my congenital heart condition. After my first major heart surgery, when I was 10 years old, I woke up from the anesthesia and said to my mother:

What do I have to look forward to if I don’t have a cat?

After I fell back asleep, I woke up again and said to my mother:

What do I have to look forward to if I don’t have a cat?

My mother looked forward and told me I could look forward to getting a cat after I came home from the hospital.

What do I have to look forward to if I don’t have a photo of me and my first cat Tuffy to share with you all?

img_5533

What do I have to look forward to if I don’t have my iPhone to capture images I find interesting, while I am recovering from recent heart valve replacement surgery?

img_5652

IMG_5653.JPG

img_5654

img_5655

img_5656

img_5657

img_5658

img_5659

img_5660

img_5661

img_5662

img_5663

img_5664

img_5665

img_5666

img_5667

img_5668

 

img_5670

What do I have to look forward to if I don’t have music to enjoy, like “Morph the Cat” by Donald Fagen?

What do I have to look forward to if I don’t have comments about this post?

What do I have to look forward to if I don’t have gratitude for all those who helped me create this post and for you — of course! — no matter what you have to look forward to, here and now.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism, staying healthy | Tags: , , , , , , , | 36 Comments

Post navigation

36 thoughts on “Day 1376: What do I have to look forward to if I don’t have ____?

  1. “Random rewards for my brain” when you click “like” my comment. Or respond with words, later! Sweet pic of Tuffy. Purrrrrfect. You want to see what I look forward to when I drive out to Ohio? What I think about in the weeks and days before I arrive? Today would be a good day to peek at my blog. Glad you are healing so well.

  2. Your very persuasive! Looking forward to tomorrows post..

  3. ‘You’re’..

  4. You never need an explanation for your post!
    I am supposed to still be asleep now, si I will say, how is Oscar?

    • Oscar is looking forward to sitting on my lap, at the moment. What do I have to look forward to if I don’t have more comments from you, Maureen?

  5. What would I have to loo forward to without your daily posts? I look forward to tomorrow’s…and it’s images. Love the hydrangeas. And the apples and the pumpkins and…

  6. I love this so very much. Your beautiful little self and your needing to look forward. ❤

  7. I look forward to my coffee and blog friends in the morning and I look forward to my little dog’s face peeking at me, “Are you awake yet?” I look forward to getting together with family and friends for great food and conversation. AND I ‘m going to see my 2 grandsons the end of this month. Thank you for stirring up my sluggish brain cells with your pictures and questions. You have lots to look forward to, so keep your eyes open.

  8. Hi, Anna, finding things to look forward to can be a challenge. I’m still bridging with Lovenox to Coumadin for my factor v leiden. How are you feeling?

  9. I am back, a little more awake now. 🙂

    Your parents were pretty wonderful, Ann. They must have been so frightened for you all the time. Imagine taking on the responsibility of a kitten when you are spending much of your time at the hospital or cardiologist’s office with your child? That is love.

    What would you have to look forward to if you had no photos to post? Well, you would have the real reason we come here: you.

  10. Beautifully written 💕 http://www.misskymmiee.com

  11. If you didn’t have your blog and your readers, you could still be another blogger’s reader….

  12. Your posts and especially your musical choices are something I look forward to every day, while Halloween is something I look forward to all year, especially when it involves raven puppets that look more like gorillas.

  13. The photo of you and your cat may be one of the most beautiful things I have seen in a while ~ truly wonderful getting a glimpse not only into your very special heart, but those great people (and cats) who were around you to make life so wonderful. Never really thought about it until now, how heart-wrenching it must have been for your parents to watch their beautiful baby girl go through surgery…and then it is beautiful how you just loved and lived life making them happy!

    • You, your writing, and your photography are all beautiful, Randall. Many people throughout the world look forward to the latest expression of your talents.

  14. Apples and flowers and pictures of you as a child- I didn’t know I would have these things to look forward to until they appeared and once again reinforced what would I have to look forward to if I didn’t follow your blog?? Have a great weekend Ann 🙂 ❤

  15. I always look forward to connecting with amazing bloggers such as yourself, Anne.😊 Wishing you a beautiful weekend!

  16. Yes, it is good to have something to look forward too. What a wise child you were and are!

  17. That is a very lovely story, Ann

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

