Day 1353: Practice kind listening and kind speaking.

What kind of tea bag would tell you  to practice kind listening and kind speaking?

img_5184

A kind and practical one.

I try to practice kind listening and kind speaking in my job as a group and individual therapist.  I think kind speaking is the finest kind and so is kind listening, although I wonder if people can tell I’m listening kindly.

Yesterday, I announced at a team meeting at work that this is my last week before my six-week medical leave, and people there listened and spoke kindly, which made me cry.  That reminds me of a post I wrote my first year of blogging, very soon after the Boston Marathon bombing, called Kindness can make me cry, even harder. If you like reading that kind of post, please be kind enough to click on the link in the previous sentence.

During a day of kind listening and kind speaking, I took these kinds of photos:

img_5185

img_5186

img_5188

img_5189

img_5195

img_5191

img_5192

img_5193

img_5194

Because my friend Deb was kind enough to give me a ticket, we both listened to and performed all kinds of amazing tunes at a Hamilton sing-along last night.  Here and here are two kind versions of my favorite kind of song to sing from Hamilton.

Gotta run for more kind listening and kind speaking at work today. If you are kind enough to speak your mind in a comment, I shall practice kind listening.

For all the kind people who helped me create today’s  post and for you and your kindness in visiting my blog today, here’s another kind of photo:

img_5196

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “Day 1353: Practice kind listening and kind speaking.

  1. I like this kind of post about being kind Ann. ❤
    Diana xo

  2. Liked this. Very important to speak kindly.

  3. That message needs to be on billboards all across the land!

  4. Pingback: Day 1353: Practice kind listening and kind speaking. — The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally – Matt Stewart

  5. “Courage is what it takes to stand up and speak; courage is also what it takes to sit down and listen.” Winston Churchill

  6. Kind listening and kind speaking ~ a great goal to think about every morning. You are a great teacher of such thought. Your 3rd photo is great…put me in a good mood, not sure if it was the turtle or feeling of a lava lamp 🙂

  7. Back in 2013, Aaron was still practically a kid! And the Boston Marathon bombing! I remember, because my own “kid” had started school far away from home at MIT in Boston, and his campus was on lockdown – a security guard had been killed. We had friends from Vancouver in the marathon. Everything was so far and so close. Skype. Powerful post.

    • Everything was so far and so close. We were in lockdown, too, because we were so close to Watertown, where they captured the bomber. I love the kindness of your comments, Maureen.

      • The bomber, the young one, looked so much like our third son (who was here in Vancouver, thankfully) that when my husband and I saw the photo of the suspect, we cried. I think we may have been the only people who were praying that they wouldn’t hurt him that night in Watertown. I don’t think I knew you yet, Ann. And yet, there you were. Right there and right here.

  8. Last night I happened to hear Fresh Air and Terry Gross was talking to Jeff Ross, a comedian who’s best known for celebrity roasts although he’s also taken on groups like the Boston police, and, without knowing what your topic today would be I thought of you. It wasn’t the Boston connection but Ross explaining that the ideal roast is one where the target enjoys the jokes made at their expense and afterward can laugh and say, “Wasn’t that funny what they said about me?” Some people ask to be roasted because things haven’t been going so well for them. It’s a chance for them to laugh at themselves and, more importantly, to just laugh.
    “If it takes fighting a war for us to meet it will have been worth it” says Hamilton. Ideally there will be laughter after the war.

  9. If more people were kind life would be so much better for so many

  10. I kindly ask you that the day after your surgery you have a nurse get you a phone or she use it herself and find this blog and text that you are okay because we kindly will miss you like crazy!

  11. This afternoon my almost nine-year old granddaughter shared a story about something that occurred on the playground today at school. She was bothered by the way one little boy was being treated by other children and she had stepped forward to say something encouraging. I couldn’t hold back the tears when I heard her sensitivity and I told her how proud I was of her. She had been kind! Right up to your surgery you’re encouraging us towards greater sensitivity.

  12. Pingback: Day 1354: See the love in everything | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  13. Kind wishes, Ann

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

