Day 1350: Remembering

On September 11, 2016, I am remembering so much, including:

  1.  9/11/01, when I was in a park  on a  Tuesday with my three-year-old son Aaron, not knowing how I was going to explain to him  what had just happened to our country.
  2. Witnessing my now eighteen-year-old son Aaron going through intense security systems at  Boston’s Logan Airport, yesterday, as he left our country for his college experience in Edinburgh, Scotland.
  3. Spending yesterday evening with my beautiful friend Barbara in beautiful Boston, where we attended  a performance of  Stephen Sondheim‘s Sunday in the Park with George.

Here are some images I’m remembering from yesterday:

img_5103

img_5104

img_5105

img_5109

img_5113

img_5114

img_5115

img_5116

img_5117

img_5118

img_5119

img_5120

img_5122

img_5126

img_5127

IMG_5129.JPG

img_5130

img_5131

img_5132

img_5133

img_5134

img_5135

img_5136

img_5137

IMG_5138.JPG

img_5140

img_5141

img_5145

img_5146

img_5148

 

img_5150

img_5152

img_5157

img_5158

img_5154

I’m remembering that the song I find most moving from Sunday in the Park with George is “Move On.”

As I am moved by “Move On,” I am also remembering these two things:

  1. I saw the very memorable Bernadette Peters and Mandy Patinkin in the original production of Sunday in the Park with George.
  2. Yesterday, at a toll both outside of Logan Airport, I told the toll collector I had just sent my son off on a plane to college. She replied, with feeling,  “He is missing you as much as you are missing him,” which I love remembering.

What are you remembering, here and now?

I am remembering to thank all who helped me create this post and you — of course! — for remembering to visit this blog, today.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 52 Comments

Post navigation

52 thoughts on “Day 1350: Remembering

  1. Very moving post today. Brings so many thoughts to mind…so much to remember.

  2. You “gave us more to see” with this one, Ann. Thanks for Mandy and Bernadette. Hugs to you. 💕

  3. Hi Ann, all the best to Aaron on his wonderful Scottish adventure, and to you as you begin a life separated by an ocean from him. I’m watching the real-time NBC broadcast of 9/11/01, reliving the day which for me was totally crazy. I was heading into Manhattan by way of the Brooklyn Battery Tunnel when I looked up and saw a hole in one of the World Trade Center towers. It was 8:53 according to the EZ Pass statement I got later. Had I not stopped to vote in the primary, I would have been driving past the towers when the attacks took place. Chilling. Here is a link to the paper I published in this catastrophe: https://www.academia.edu/9119215/Impact_of_the_World_Trade_Center_Disaster_on_a_Manhattan_Psychotherapy_Practice
    I am so grateful that 15 years out we are ok and thriving as a country, present politics notwithstanding. I was stuck in that tunnel for over an hour, unable to get a signal on my cell. I finally reached my mother in Maine when I had driven across the Brooklyn Bridge, surrounded by shoeless, dust-covered pedestrians. It was a living hell.
    Love to you and all the wonderful friends who like me read your excellent blog.
    Hugs, Sunny

  4. Pingback: For more than Three thousand people fifteen years ago this world came to an end | Marcus Ampe's Space

  5. Remembering sending kids to college as I read your post, Anne. Remembering the point is to launch them, let them make their way in the world.
    Remembering the adjustment, the transition, getting accustomed to that empty nest. Remembering the feelings and thinking of you as you find new ways to make sense of your changed world. A new beginning for both of you.

  6. I remember that day so very clearly. Going to the college where I taught and having to dis enroll all our students who lived in Mexico because the border was shitting down. Students and instructors alike hugging, waving goodbye, not knowing if we would ever see each other again. Tears for the attack, tears of goodbye to so many students. I still cry when I think about it.

  7. At the time we couldn’t understand how the events of a single day would change things. We could only accept and move on, although with changes to our plans and directions.
    I think about Aaron and what plans and directions he has in mind and how they might change. And your choice of music seems even more fitting than usual. I can’t think of better advice for him, or for you, who had a child many years ago with, I think, plans, but not knowing what directions it would take you.

    Look at what you’ve done,
    Then at what you want.

  8. Congrats to Aaron hard to believe how the time flies..I will always remember not just a day but a life time..

  9. amy eden

    Thinking of you on this momentous day. Aaron sounds like an incredible kid.His readiness to be launched speaks to what a good parent you are.
    .

  10. You have been waiting so long for this moment and now you are already remembering it. There will be so many things to cherish for all of you.

    I loved the song, found it was what I needed, too. I didn’t know Mandy could sing!

  11. Thanks to you For the moving post

  12. The last fifteen years have gone by pretty fast and the world isn’t as safe as it was once it is sad that it has come to what it is, but I will still travel, I will still smile at people, help people and not the arseholes win

  13. okiewinegirl2015

    Ann – thank you for “remembering”. With our oldest at college this year, we are doing it constantly w a thankful heart at all that God provided and has done in our lives. Excellent post!

  14. Such a special day on so many levels Ann… May it find just the right place for you in your center of being. Remembering for the future takes place right here and now 😍

  15. I’m clearly remembering 15 years ago. My youngest daughter fell asleep on the floor at 4 pm, and didn’t wake up for nearly 24 hours. I think her little self just wanted to sleep through all of the bad.

    Here’s to Aaron’s new adventures! And yours!!!

  16. And he’s off! What an adventure is ahead for him, and an adventure for you too. Hope you’ve got your first visit booked — after you get that business in Minnesota taken care of, of course. (PS: Loved seeing the pictures of you, Aaron and Leon!)

  17. hello ann koplow its dennis the vizsla dog hay i hope aaron has a gud time on his trip!!! dada sez that is a pritty funny sine abowt the bag i am not shoor wot is so funny abowt it but he is weerd sumtimes!!! wot i reely want to no is wot is the rest of the keep calm sine!!! keep calm and wot?!?!?!? i kannot keep calm if i dont no wot to do after keeping calm!!! aaaiiiieee!!! ok bye

  18. It’s good you have your friends around as Aaron goes off. You’ll still miss him, but won’t be thinking of it endlessly. I hope he has many adventures. Among them will be the Scottish winter…

    • I think the Scottish winter isn’t so bad in Edinburgh, if I’m remembering correctly. It’s good that you’re my friend here on WordPress. ❤

  19. I’m your friend too! Remember that!

    • “A memoir forces me to stop and remember carefully. It is an exercise in truth. In a memoir, I look at myself, my life, and the people I love the most in the mirror of the blank screen. In a memoir, feelings are more important than facts, and to write honestly, I have to confront my demons.”- Isabel Allende

  20. Today’s sharing touches me with the arc of having three year-old Aaron fifteen years ago, and then forward to 2016 and you’re sending him off to college. I’ve been remembering my own memories of 2001. Unrelated to the 9-11 events, it was simply a year of loss for me. It was one of those years when the small tragedies of life kind of piled up, and by the time we arrived at “THE day” that changed so much for all of us, I realized we all have the capacity to withstand enormous pockets of grief and sadness. In some ways 9-11 seems like long ago, and yet it also feels like it could have been yesterday. It’s been important to me to remember and refresh my thoughts and perspective given that fifteen years has gone by. I hope you’re feeling proud of yourself for encouraging Aaron forward in his own life and educational career…it still must have been hard to see him walk down that terminal! xx

  21. One of those days we will always remember

  22. Godspeed to your son; he looks like he’ll fit right in. 🙂 What a lovely way to spend the rest of the day, recalling a good memory and making new good memories. The world changed, and I decided to accept responsibility to make my own changes in a way I never had before.

  23. Yesterday, I remembered my Aunt Jackie’s 88th and spoke to her on the phone. She is my godmother, so we have always been close.

  24. Enjoyed that bag check sign 🙂

  25. Remember, Skype/FaceTime will keep you connected. What a grand adventure! I hope you remember to bring your passport when you go visit him with your updated heart. All the best.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

