Day 1344: Reckless Abandon

With reckless abandon, I here and now decide what the title of today’s post will be, based on this sign I saw yesterday:

IMG_4997

With reckless abandon, I shall now reveal that:

  1. I hope to embrace the stressful events of the next few weeks with reckless abandon.
  2. These stressful events include waiting for the delivery of a student visa (which I hope hasn’t been recklessly abandoned in some government building in NYC), my son starting a five-year program at the University of Edinburgh, and my having open heart surgery at the Mayo Clinic in Minnesota.
  3. Yesterday I recklessly abandoned all attempts to prepare myself for the upcoming events and instead spent the day with my fabulous Philadelphia-based friend Jeanette (who abandoned Boston to move to Washington D.C. sixteen years ago, but I I still miss her every day).
  4. Jeanette, who courageously abandons any fear of speaking her mind, recklessly told my boyfriend Michael yesterday that he has to teach my son Aaron how to cook two easy meals this week.
  5. Michael recklessly promised Jeanette that he would.
  6. I am recklessly going to include photos of Jeanette and other people I’ve recklessly mentioned Β in this post, so don’t abandon me yet!

Are you ready for the reckless abandon of my other photos from yesterday, as I recklessly abandon any intention of further explaining them?

IMG_4959

IMG_4960

IMG_4961

IMG_4962

IMG_4964

IMG_4965

IMG_4966

IMG_4967

IMG_4968

IMG_4969

IMG_4970

IMG_4971

 

IMG_4974

IMG_4976

IMG_4977

IMG_4972

IMG_4978

IMG_4982

IMG_4983

IMG_4984

IMG_4985IMG_4979

IMG_4986

IMG_4987

IMG_4988

IMG_4990.JPG

IMG_4992

IMG_4994

IMG_4995

IMG_4998

IMG_5002

IMG_5003

IMG_5005

IMG_5006

IMG_5010

IMG_5011

IMG_5012

 

IMG_5015

IMG_5013

Which of those photos say “reckless abandon” to you?

With reckless abandon, this Frightsome Fleshlumpeater will now share the reckless abandon of Roald Dahl, Gene Wilder, and pure imagination:

 

I hope you show some reckless abandon by leaving a comment, below.

Before I recklessly abandon you all until tomorrow morning’s blog post, I’d like to express gratitude to those who helped me create this post and to you — of course! — with reckless abandon.

IMG_5004

Categories: friendship, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 32 Comments

Post navigation

32 thoughts on “Day 1344: Reckless Abandon

  1. I love the idea of individuals cooking for the community. What a terrific way to give back! Now I’m off to see if it is available where I live!

  2. i love all of the reckless abandon and good to you with all that is coming )

  3. Thinking of you and your impending empty nest. It will be okay. Trust your relationship, with all that reckless abandon you can muster. πŸ’˜

  4. Once again you have me thinking about words. Nouns have often been turned into verbs–impact, trend, parent, text, bookmark, etc. but “reckless abandon” turns the verb “abandon” into a noun–and a peculiar noun that’s abstract rather than concrete.
    A thousand thanks to you for firing up my pure imagination with reckless abandon, and I’m glad you’re taking time off from stress. As the sign said it’s not good to keep things bottled up.
    I’m going to dive into a dictionary with reckless abandon but leave you with the wisdom of the philosophers Calvin and Hobbes.

  5. I predict that you will love the meals that Aaron prepares, with reckless abandon and a full heart.

    What is the difference between living non-judgementally and with reckless abandon?

    The visa people are really testing you. They are good at that. I do not think they are readers of your blog, the way that some of your health care providers are.

    • I’m just glad you are a reader of my blog. The difference between living non-judgmentally and with reckless abandon is small, but significant.

  6. Perfectly delightful reckless abandonment! I love the Roald Dahl name choices.

  7. hello ann koplow its dennis the vizsla dog hay ha ha ha my roald dahl naym wood be the whoopsy-splunkers gizzardulper!!! hmm i shoor cud go for sum delishus gizzards!!! ha ha ok bye

  8. I love how Jeanette appears as you embrace reckless abandon Ann. Perfect timing I’d say πŸ’›

  9. I am not reckless in any way shape or form, so not sure if I could reckless abandon anything just not me I am boring but I never get bored and I am pretty set in my ways but not set in stone I am happy and it usually shows and I am hungry but cannot eat this morning because I have to have a bloody CT Scan done at 12.30 and have to fast for 4 hours before it is done which is so bloody annoying and now I have to go and pee, because you needed to know that

    • Never abandon letting us know what’s going on with you, Joanne. That would be reckless and unfortunate, indeed. I hope you can abandon fasting now that your CT scan is done. ❀

  10. My doctorate dissertation was on Reckless Abandon

  11. I like to read your posts with reckless abandon!

  12. Fluffed nutter butter? Ma zeh? Is this the small space between reckless abandon and non-judgement?

  13. My iPad will not let me write fluff-ear as one word. I get fluffed, even fluff rescued for some reason. And it just did fluff-ear and fluff-Ed!

  14. Keep changing the focus until you get dizzy!!!!!!!

    Bridie.

  15. I suppose ‘reckless abandon’ in this context means joyfully. I wish you a joyful outcome.

  16. Gene Wilder will always be Willy Wonka to me. What a perfect addition to the reckless abandon list.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

