Day 1334: The world is your oyster

Yesterday, the world was my oyster, again, at the Festival Fringe in precious-as-pearls Edinburgh, Scotland.

IMG_4701

IMG_4702

I received that wrist band informing me that the world is my oyster from some oysters, who should know.

IMG_4694

IMG_4695

IMG_4696

IMG_4697

IMG_4699

The oyster to the far left is Marc Mackinnon, a wonderful and supremely talented man  we met at last year’s Fringe.  The world is Marc’s oyster as he moves from Scotland to London next Monday to attend a postgraduate acting program.

Here are more pearls from our last full day at the 2016 Festival Fringe:

IMG_4693

IMG_4700

IMG_4703

IMG_4704

IMG_4705

IMG_4707

IMG_4708

IMG_4709.JPG

IMG_4710

IMG_4712

IMG_4711

IMG_4713

IMG_4714

IMG_4715

IMG_4716

IMG_4717

IMG_4721

IMG_4722

IMG_4724

IMG_4725

IMG_4726

IMG_4730

IMG_4731

IMG_4727

IMG_4728

IMG_4729

Even though those last few pearls seem to be imploring us to stay in Edinburgh, my precious and only son Aaron and  I need to get on a plane in a few hours to return to the oysters in Boston, Massachusetts.  I’m happy-and-proud as a clam that Aaron will be returning here in a few short weeks to start attending the University of Edinburgh, where I’m certain the world will be his oyster for the next five years.

Here‘s some precious music and images from beautiful-as-pearls Scotland:

Any pearls of wisdom you share in a comment will be very precious to me.

Pearly thanks to all  who helped me create this world-is-your-oyster post and to you — of course! — no matter where in the world you are.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Day 1334: The world is your oyster

  1. The world is your oyster (but without the salmonella). Wishing you and your talented young ginger a safe journey home.

  2. I shell refrain from making any oyster puns, although I don’t exactly chowder at the thought of them. I’m shrimply thinking of the long flight you have ahead of you.

  3. You make it so

  4. Wonderful message on that bracelet- and I love that card and gift you received- how special!

  5. I’ve never heard that expression before 😀

    • Thanks for this pearl of a comment, which has inspired me to find this pearl of a definition:

      the world is your oyster, you are in a position to take the opportunities that life has to offer.

  6. Fun stuff!

  7. Lang may yer mum reek!
    Haste ye back my lovely, Caledonian’s calling you xxx

    • I had never heard this pearl before, so I checked another pearl of a definition:
      “May you never be without fuel for your fire!”, but more literally translates to “Long may your chimney smoke!”

      Long may your chimney smoke, my dear reader!

  8. Aw….haste ye back x

  9. I look forward to seeing more of Marc Mackinnon in the future. In the meantime, if the world is your oyster what do you do in months without an ‘R’?

  10. A delightful post today!

  11. Safe travels home Ann. You have precious memories to bring back with you 💛

  12. Love the bracelet, the oysters, your card, and the big spotted cat…Have a good trip home, Ann!

  13. Well I don’t like oysters so don’t know about my world being one, just saying, but I guess as long as I don’t have to eat the terrible things it is all good. In truth I am a wonderfully lucky woman who is loved by those who know her

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

