Day 1325: Say but little and say it well

Yesterday, I saw this little proverb outside the Scottish Parliament building:

IMG_4158

I plan to say but little in today’s post. You are the judge of whether I say it well.

My son Aaron and I had a wonderful time in Edinburgh, Scotland yesterday. We attended several Fringe Festival events and visited different locations of the University of Edinburg, which he will start attending next month.

 

Do any of my other photos say but little and say it well?

IMG_4135

IMG_4136

IMG_4137

IMG_4139

IMG_4140

IMG_4142

IMG_4143

IMG_4147

IMG_4148

IMG_4149

IMG_4151

IMG_4152

IMG_4153

IMG_4154

IMG_4156

IMG_4157

IMG_4159

IMG_4160

IMG_4163

IMG_4164

IMG_4165

IMG_4166

IMG_4167

IMG_4168

IMG_4169

IMG_4170

IMG_4173

IMG_4174

IMG_4175

IMG_4176

IMG_4178

IMG_4179

IMG_4180

IMG_4188

IMG_4189

IMG_4191

IMG_4192

Feel free to say but little in a comment below.

Here‘s a song that says but little and says it well.

I have time to say but little thanks to all who helped me create this post and to you — of course! — for reading it.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 30 Comments

Post navigation

30 thoughts on “Day 1325: Say but little and say it well

  1. That saying’s so wise! Nice pics 🙂

  2. Very nice pictures indeed. I like the simplicity of the saying. It reminds me to think before I speak. Another saying of mine is, “pause and consider.”

  3. well said – joke over, great pics – I love the no photography one

  4. In Edinburgh the sun shines for the festival and you.

  5. Well said, great photos. Thank you for sharing. :o)

  6. Loved your creative and clever post! Edinburgh is one of my favorite places, and August is a lovely time to visit. My husband and I always enjoy Fringe. And, what a lovely way to end with “Loch Lomand.” Thanks for sharing and best wishes to your son on his upcoming year at University of Edinburgh. 😊

  7. What a fun looking city! I especially appreciated the peace mile run, though I would end up walking it.

  8. Sometimes the Oxford English Dictionary fails me. I was intrigued by the words of Edwin Morgan, “we had a wee ferintosh and we lay on the quiraing. it was pure strontian!”
    I was unable to find dictionary definitions for “ferintosh”, which, thanks to the help of Google, is a kind of scotch, or “quiraing”, which is a hill on the Isle of Skye.
    At least the dictionary helped me with “strontian” which is strontium carbonate, a naturally occurring crystal found in Scotland.
    All that comes together to form a picture of friends whose joy crystallized as they relaxed on a hill and shared a drink.
    The interesting thing is checking merely confirmed what I’d already imagined. Somehow I knew what the words meant even before I knew what they meant.
    I hope you and Aaron are having similarly enlightening experiences.

  9. Amazing collection! I love all the phrases and signs — there is a unique feel tying them all together. And you had me at the unicorn…

  10. Smiling …. Such a great place to be❣
    Love those sayings … We Scots are good at them 😉
    May the sun continue to shine on you all!

  11. I love that picture of Aaron. Criminy but doesn’t he fit in perfectly to Scotland!

  12. What beautiful landscapes Ann, I finally get to see Scotland in a blue sky and what greenery! Last year I didn’t see such nice landscapes. The university must be so nice, I can just feel it from here. Take care Ann (specially of those ankles, remember? hehe)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

