Day 1317: Salt and Battery

Five hundred and sixty-nine days ago (but who’s counting?), I created the post Day 748: A Salt and BatteryI hope it doesn’t feel like assault and battery that I’m

  • using such a similar title today and
  •  recommending that you read that other post before you read this one.

Why “Salt and Battery” today?

This past Saturday, because we were assaulted and battered by torrential downpours and multiple-car-accident delays on our way to seeing comedian Louis C.K. in Springfield Massachusetts, I ended up eating the only food available at the concert venue, which was battered with lots of salt.  Eating too much salt battered me and my unusual heart in a way it never has before.

As I recover from that and prepare for the inevitable assault and battery involved in open heart surgery, I am trying to soothe and protect my mind, body, and soul from the assault and battery of worry and stress.

Here are some worrying and stressful things that can feel like assault and battery to me:

  1. Dealing with bureaucracies.
  2. Financial issues.
  3. Disrespect.
  4. Ignorance.
  5. Discrimination.
  6. Rigidity.
  7. Cruelty.
  8. Illness.
  9. Hopelessness.
  10. Guilt.
  11. Shame.

What feels like assault and battery to you?

When you feel assaulted, salted, or battered, what helps?

My hope is that some of the photos I took yesterday might help you as much as they are helping me:

IMG_3951

IMG_3952

IMG_3953

IMG_3954

IMG_3955

IMG_3956

IMG_3957

IMG_3958

Taking what you need — a very effective way to reduce assault, salt, and battery.

If you haven’t gotten all you need yet from this blog, here’s another antidote to assault and battery — some dancing salts on stage:

 

Thanks to my son Aaron (in the center of that battery of dancers) and everyone else who helped me create today’s salt-and-battery post. A special battery of thanks to you — of course! — for visiting this salty blogger, here and now.

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “Day 1317: Salt and Battery

  1. At times, I feel assaulted from within. Fear and guilt nip at me. What helps is talking myself out of it, easing the emotion out of the fear and guilt and looking at it rationally because usually I blow them out of proportion.

  2. Consider going from “Battered” to being a battery and getting all charged up.

  3. Some people feel assaulted by salty language which is a good reminder that words do have the power to hurt–although more importantly they have the power to heal.

  4. I surely agree about words, Christopher. They surely can sting.

  5. You salty little thing you! I love the bears! I supposed if I’m as”salted” by negativity I go and watch a happy TV show or listen to happy music until I feel “unsalted” again! I mean..a little goes a long way, no?

  6. Your list is about the same as mine. I think it’s pretty inclusive.

  7. Ann, I love the seriousness of your son! He puts so much effort into his appearances!

    • “Assault and Battery”
      Two separate offenses against the person that when used in one expression may be defined as any unlawful and unpermitted touching of another. Assault is an act that creates an apprehension in another of an imminent, harmful, or offensive contact. The act consists of a threat of harm accompanied by an apparent, present ability to carry out the threat. Battery is a harmful or offensive touching of another.-Farlex Dictionary

      Wait a minute, I have to tell Grumpy before it’s too late!

    • Maria! I love the effort you put into your appearances, too. ❤

  8. Your list would be a great place for me to start my list Ann.

  9. i’m so sorry you had a difficult time after eating at the concert venue. I hope you’re feeling better now! I do think avoiding the qualities on your list would be be beneficial to my health, too! 🙂

  10. Sorry about the dangerously salty food. There ought to be a law

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

