Day 1315: Unbored

Do you get bored?  If so, what unbores you?

Lots of things unbore me, including visits to local book stores, where I saw this yesterday:

IMG_3900

Do you see that book “Unbored” on the shelf of the Arlington bookstore The Book Rack?

I took many more photos yesterday, as I was unbored by:

  • Arlington, Massachusetts, USA,
  • my son appearing in the Arlington Children’s Theater’s  production of the musical Anything Goes, and
  • Louis C.K. and three other comics making me, my son, and thousands of other people laugh at the MassMutual Center in Springfield, Massachusetts.

Are you particularly unbored by any of my other photos from yesterday (presented in unbored chronological order)?

IMG_3867

IMG_3870

IMG_3871

IMG_3875.JPG

IMG_3876

IMG_3877

IMG_3878

IMG_3879

IMG_3880

IMG_3881

IMG_3882

IMG_3883

IMG_3884

IMG_3885

IMG_3886

IMG_3887

IMG_3889

IMG_3891

IMG_3892

IMG_3897

IMG_3893

IMG_3898

IMG_3895

IMG_3896

IMG_3901IMG_3902

IMG_3905

IMG_3906

IMG_3907

IMG_3908

IMG_3909

IMG_3910

IMG_3915

Here are more things I’ve been unbored by in the past 24 hours:

  • learning that my favorite restaurant in Arlington, Massachusetts — The Madrona Tree — has lost its lease because of rent increases,
  • finding my favorite Arlington boutique — The Artful Heart — in a different location because of rent increases by the same landlord,
  • torrential rain storms on our drive to Springfield Massachusetts, causing multiple accidents which turned the 100-minute drive into a 160-minute drive,
  • the saltiest popcorn I’ve ever tasted, when I’m on a low salt diet,
  • ants swarming all over a pizza,
  • my laptop, during an iTunes update, telling me my phone needed to be restored to factory settings (which would mean losing everything stored on my phone),
  • my homepage totally changing because of software I downloaded in an attempt to get my iPhone  unstuck from update mode without losing all my data,
  • recovering my home page, and
  • recovering my iPhone without losing any data.

Here’s another unboring moment from last week:  a representative of my health insurance company told me that my September 21 surgery to mend my heart at the Mayo Clinic would not be covered because of “lack of medical necessity.” This unboring statement turned out to be untrue.

Sometime, I wish I was less unbored.

I hope you are unbored by this song, inspired by one of my unbored photos above:

I hope you are also unbored by my sincere thanks to all those who helped me created this post and to you — of course! — for visiting today.

IMG_3874

IMG_3890

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Day 1315: Unbored

  1. Debbie Terman

    The medical insurance company is hilarious! Don’t we all sign up for open heart surgery just for fun?

    • Just like I sign up for health insurance just to get freaked out by incompetent staff people (including the phone rep and the person who was supposed to log the approval from a reviewing doctor)! As always, Debbie, I am unbored by your comments.

  2. I got out for a short time yesterday before the rain and thunderstorms. I got unbored indoors colouring in my adult colouring book Ann! ❤
    Diana xo

  3. I think finding things to get unbored could be a challenge.

  4. One should NEVER be bored with all of these interesting things around us.

  5. So many unboring photos Ann! I’m divided between the Hillary play set and the Donald Trump coloring book. Both are tempting and unboring!
    I think the Donald book would win though. I’d have such fun defacing it….. 😉

  6. I had the same problem updating my iPhone, so I’m now running much fewer apps to make sure it works okay. I’m totally unbored by the Hillary play set! At least her play set seems to offer more diversity that the opponents’s (sorry…). Also, your son is so young, yet he shows so much character in his photos! Hurray for him!

  7. Bored????????????????
    I don’t get bored, I always find something to do

  8. I can’t remember the last time I was bored. And that book, The Trials and Tribulations of Little Red Riding Hood looks definitely unboring. Unboring is NOT the word I would use for your insurance experience. Whew. Glad you resolved it. Next time something like that happens, I’ll think, “Well, this is certainly not boring, is it?” Hope you have a calm and happy week.

  9. hello ann koplow its dennis the vizsla dog hay wow is this why they hav that aynchent kurse “may yoo liv in intresting times”??? i am verry glad that the story abowt yore heart surdjeree turnd owt to be a porky pie their ar sum things that ar just too bad to be troo!!! ok bye

  10. I am surely never bored when I come to your blog Ann! It is very un boring! 🙂

  11. Craig

    The book Inanna next to the book Unbored is definitely a message! The Sumerian goddess of fertility was nothing if not unboring. Edit

    Since Inanna embodies the traits of independence, self-determination, and strength in an otherwise patriarchal Sumerian pantheon, she has become a subject of feminist theory.[38] Indeed, in one analysis of “Inanna and the huluppu tree”, the author points out how she was implicitly “tamed and controlled”, even “demoted”, implying her prior importance as a female role model.[39] Another modern work explores the idea that Inanna was once regarded in parts of Sumer as the mother of all humanity.[40]

    On January 2012 the Israeli feminist artist, Liliana Kleiner, presented in Jerusalem an exhibition of paintings of Inana, inspired by the above.[41]

    Ancient cuneiform texts consisting of “Hymns to Inanna” have been cited as early examples of the archetype of a powerful, sexual female displaying dominating behaviors and forcing Gods and men into submission to her.[42] Archaeologist and historian Anne O Nomis notes that Inanna’s rituals included cross-dressing of cult personnel, and rituals “imbued with pain and ecstasy, bringing about initiation and journeys of altered consciousness; punishment, moaning, ecstasy, lament and song, participants exhausting themselves with weeping and grief.”[43]

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

