Day 1307: Are you nervous?

As more people are finding out about my open heart surgery scheduled for September 21, they are asking me some variation of today’s title question:

Are you nervous?

It’s a good question. I’m not sure how to answer.

If I don’t know how to answer, it makes me less nervous to turn a question around. So I’ll ask you:

Are you nervous?

Are you nervous about

  • what’s going on around you?
  • what’s going on inside of you?
  • politics?
  • health care?
  • yourself?
  • other people?
  • the present?
  • the future?
  • the past?
  • your capabilities?
  • technology?
  • the environment?
  • the weather?
  • your possessions?
  • obligations?
  • money?
  • staying in shape?
  • aging?
  • your family?
  • pets?
  • food?
  • social interactions?
  • being alone?
  • travel?
  • cars?
  • public transportation?
  • friends?
  • strangers?
  • feelings?
  • thoughts?
  • change?
  • forgetting?
  • remembering?
  • judgment?
  • your living situation?
  • religion?
  • how other people see you?
  • pain?
  • death?
  • what happens after we die?
  • being nervous?
  • any of the pictures I took yesterday?

IMG_3711

IMG_3712

IMG_3713

IMG_3714

IMG_3718

IMG_3720

IMG_3722

IMG_3723

IMG_3725

IMG_3726

IMG_3727

IMG_3728

IMG_3729

IMG_3730.JPG

IMG_3731

IMG_3732

IMG_3734

IMG_3735

IMG_3736

IMG_3737

IMG_3738.JPG

IMG_3739

Are you nervous about the music I might choose for this post?

Based on my photos, I’ve nervously chosen two tunes (here and here on YouTube).

 

Are you nervous about leaving comments?

Are you nervous that I’m going to forget to thank those who helped me create this post or  you for reading it?

IMG_3715

IMG_3724

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 46 Comments

Post navigation

46 thoughts on “Day 1307: Are you nervous?

  1. Take care! 😊

  2. Yes, I am nervous for many of those questions.

  3. Oh I am so sorry to hear this! I have been off blogging for some time and just started again. My love to you!

  4. A true therapist’s answer 🙂 ABSOLUTELY RIGHT IN THIS CASE

  5. I have been under the knife quite a few times in my life, There are many things we all get nervous about and that is pretty close to the top of the list. I never had open heart surgery, but, I did have part of my right lung removed due to cancer. They had to remove my sixth rib and then wire it back when the operation was finished. I have had surgery for cancer three times, the other two were half my colon removed and my thyroid. I also have had eight miscarriages at various trimesters and twin girls full term that were still born.

    Now to answer your question about being nervous. We all get nervous for one reason or another, weather we are going under the knife or not.
    I think nervous is an off shoot of fear and that exists every day in life.
    At my age (73) the only thing I can tell you is this; Once they put you out it doesn’t matter. If anything happens you won’t know it any way, and you won’t feel it either.

    The only advice I can share is; You are a wonderful writer. Start making up a story in your head, a beautiful romantic or funny story. Force yourself to think about that story and if you are anything like me you will dream about it while under anesthesia. I always choose romantic and it works for me.
    I hope this helps and I apologize if it doesn’t.
    Don’t let fear put that grip on you, after all it has to be done any way and you might get a best seller out of the deal. :o)

    By the way, loved your photo’s today especially the chocolate bunnies, the Irish dancing school, the cannoli’s, aw heck I liked them all……

  6. Yes. Very.

  7. It helps me to think that nervous laughter is still laughter.

  8. Simply adopt to words of one of our generational icons, Alfred E. Newman, “What, me worry?”

  9. Yes, I am nervous. About a lot of things *sigh*. I did like that cat treadmill, though. I love things that make me smile🤗

  10. Love the cat treadmill! I had a puppy once who grabbed the loose end of a roll of toilet paper and ran all through the house. She unrolled almost half a roll!

    • That cat treadmill was on a get well card that a dear co-worker sent to my home. That made me less nervous and so did your story, Emilie.

  11. I’ve always had a nervous energy about me. It drives me crazy Ann. Sending all good thoughts and prayers your way in regards to your upcoming surgery. ❤
    Diana xo

  12. Thank you for this post Ann. It doesn’t spark any nervousness … But does make me more curious to explore more about what is going on! Your posts are the perfect antidote to nervousness ❣

    • Your posts make me more curious to explore more about what is going on, Val, and are also the perfect antidote to nervousness. ❤ ❤

  13. Flying makes me very nervous- so I try not to allow myself to think about it. Not sure if that’s a good thing to do- but it does work.
    Love your post.

    • I have to fly to Edinburgh in two weeks and THAT makes me nervous too. I am sure that your comments are a very good thing. ❤

  14. Nervous, yes; what better way to be alert to the random lightning strikes of life, avoid runaway roller coasters and rarely be bitten by a snake? All the while having a great time? Life would be so dull without nerves!

    What are the painted rabbits telling us?

  15. Yes, you’re nervous. I sure was before my big surgeries. All went well for me and it will be for you, too. I’m confident. You’ve researched and found the best answers. The rest? Well, try not to worry about things you can’t realistically change!

    You have many many people pulling for you. And that helps loads!

  16. That’s a long list!

  17. Open Sanctuary. We all need that. I wish it for you so the next few weeks will be calm.

  18. Wishing you the very best…and feel the very best will arrive as you may be one of the strongest people I’ve met in the WP blogosphere Ann ~ and as for being nervous, yes I guess I feel nervous quite a bit of the time. It gets me motivated to do the right thing at the right time. Take care ~

    • It makes me calm and happy how you always show up at the exact right time, Randall. No wonder I’m strong, with people like you on my side. ❤ ❤

  19. Yes.

    😉

  20. Dear Ann, I don’t know if I’m nervous but I’m definitely very anxious and sad because I have to put my cat down. It is scheduled for Wednesday. and I’m so scared that I’m having terrible migraines nearly non-stop for the last few days

  21. Your two lists Helpful Phrases and What Helps are helping me a bit to calm down… Thanks❤

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

