Day 1298: How to Not Die

As I approach my 1300th consecutive daily post here at WordPress, I am thinking that important topics, for me, include “How to Not Die” both as

  • a blogger and
  • a human being.

How to Not Die  as a blogger could very well include changing the title of this blog from “The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally” to  “How to Not Die.” Don’t you think that new title would

  • attract more readers and
  • be a better representation of my life-long story of figuring out how to not die from heart-related challenges?

Unfortunately, this picture, taken yesterday, proves that my using “How to Not Die” would be a deliberate act of plagiarizing a beloved celebrity and author:


I guess you and I are stuck with the title of this blog, as I look ahead to the next 1300 consecutive daily posts.

How to Not Die, for me, includes getting up and out and taking photos of what’s alive around me, including these:














What music might you choose for a post titled “How to Not Die?”

“Staying Alive” by the Bee Gees?

 

Please help this blog post not die by leaving a comment, below.

Staying-alive thanks to Mel Brooks, the Bee Gees and everybody else who helps me create this “How to Not Die” blog, including you!

Categories: blogging, personal growth, photojournalism, staying healthy | Tags: , , , , , , | 42 Comments

Post navigation

42 thoughts on “Day 1298: How to Not Die

  1. Great blog today my friend. Congratulations on a blogtastic achievement. Keep on keeping on.
    All the best. Kris.

  2. Congratulations. 1300 days old!

  3. Your spirit comes through, but the theme makes me sad. Do stay

  4. The longer we live the more likely something else will kill us :-p
    You need to keep living for me and I have to keep living for all the little ones in my UK group xx

  5. Just keep doing what you are doing. If however, you decide to change direction, you know who to consult with.

    • It’s probably too late for me to change direction. If I do, though, I know you and I will keep following each other, Ray. ❤

  6. G
    Here’s to the next 1300🎉🍾🍾🍾

  7. How Not to Die. An Original Blog by Ann Koplow with a Title Borrowed from Mel Brooks and Carl Reiner

    You’re welcome.

  8. You’ve got this how to live thing down pretty darn good Ann. 🙂

  9. Hi, Ann, there is no copyright on titles. And no copyright on not dying. So you can follow your heart, freely. However, I rather like the title you have.

    I am curious, though. Your blog has changed quite a bit since you began it. Do you still fell aligned with your goal of being non-judgmental or are you prizing judgement a little bit more?

    • I still feel aligned with my goal, which never dies! And I’ve always prized judgment in moderation, Maureen. Thanks for this everlasting comment. ❤

      • I just viewed your clip of “Staying Alive!” Was all that in the movie? I must rent it. It’s been decades. It all looks quite different now that my sons are the age that John Travolta was, than it did when I was!

      • All of those scenes stay alive in that movie, Maureen.

  10. “No Stopping Any Time”…1300 posts. Indeed. ☺

  11. All that’s needed is a slight alteration: “How To Not Die”. Or “Avoiding Death”. Or “Dodging Death”. Or take the advice of Lobachevsky via Tom Lehrer, which I’m sure you know but I’ll quote again just for fun:
    “Plagiarize,
    Let no one else’s work evade your eyes,
    Remember why the good Lord made your eyes,
    So don’t shade your eyes,
    But plagiarize, plagiarize, plagiarize…
    Only be sure always to call it please, ‘research’.”
    Or call it a “mashup”.

  12. Bee Gees Staying Alive (Extended Remaster). Good one! Dance a bit. Enjoy the life in your days! I hope you have a great day today. Stretch like your cats and dream.

  13. I think ‘how not to die’ sounds like an awesome blog name! Congrats on (almost) completing 1300 consecutive days of blogging 🙂

  14. Here’s a little jab of adrenaline. My brother used to always say “You only go around once, so you might as well do it with gusto.” I think he copies the saying from an old beer commercial. 1300 what a lot of blogs!

  15. 1) I hope that chaos is not on your street, as it could affect your view of life. 2) I laughed out loud at the Fed cartoon. Thanks for that. I look forward to more very much.

  16. I think your blog name has a positive ring right now, and though how NOT to die is putting a positive twist on death it still tends to lean towards the negative in that people tend not to want to think about death. On the other hand you may get more followers using death in the title name of your blog as many are looking for ways to escape it or face their fear and it might bring them encouragement when they read your everyday positive posts. Hmmm a quandary. Just keep on keeping on just as you do my friend and wow to 1300!! ❤ (The Measure of Our Days is one of my favorite all time books)

  17. Classy and romantic cover on the New Yorker!

    Just out of curiosity, why do you have two books about teeth on display alongside Annie Proulx? An interesting selection!

    Love the ducks.

  18. Brilliant Grumpy, a way not to die is through immortality, although I thought you liked Hillmary…

    • Harley, I can’t help it if media follows me just about everywhere. Who is Trump anyway?

      • “Any card game in which one card or suit ranks the highest has a trump card, the card that wins a hand. You can also use the phrase metaphorically, to describe some secret advantage you have. For example, you might think of your mom’s homemade brownies as your trump card when you’re trying to convince your friends to come over after school. Trump card comes from an old card game called “triumph,” shortened to just trump in the 1500’s.”- Vocabulary.com

        Ok, I get it now. You’re a genius Harley.

      • YOU are the undying genius, Maria.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

