Day 1296: Eyes on you

Yesterday, my eyes saw this:

IMG_3526

… which made me think of this song from the musical Hamilton, “History Has Its Eyes on You” (sung by George Washington).

If you believed that history had its eyes on you, how would that affect your actions?

While we are living, there is no way for us to know whether history has its eyes on us.  I prefer to live as if history might have its eyes on me.  In other words, I try to live according to my deepest values and beliefs.

If history does turn out to have its eyes on me, do you think any of  the photos from today’s blog post might make it into a history book?

IMG_3518

IMG_3520

IMG_3524

IMG_3525

IMG_3527

IMG_3528

IMG_3530

IMG_3531

No matter what your eyes see in this blog post, I hope my eyes see a comment from you.

Many thanks to Hamilton, Bertucci’s (for the chocolate cake), my son Aaron (who is not really President of the United States), the Arlington Center for the Arts, Rancatore’s Ice Cream, and all eyes that are on me now, including yours!

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , | 30 Comments

Post navigation

30 thoughts on “Day 1296: Eyes on you

  1. You can certainly see which celebration has the larger amounts of alcohol involved.

  2. Ann, you will definitely make it into the history books with that zero calorie photo of that epic chocolate cake!

  3. I have a fantasy that I’d like my late Dad to see what I am doing. Sometimes. Not others. So let it be with history 🙂

  4. Loving that yearbook photo, Ann. ❤️ There is determination in those eyes.

  5. My eyes followed this whole post and I enjoyed it!

  6. I love that your eyes see so much to treasure and celebrate in simple moments.

    And I love that yearbook photo! Beauty, determination and love shining through your eyes with equal parts compassion, humility and truth.

  7. I can see that the pot of money is larger for St. Patrick’s Day than Thanksgiving. You could see that someone might take that as a sign to go out and celebrate. I hope to see you in pictures kicking up your heels this coming St. Patrick’s day parade!

    • I have my eyes on you! And those are two tip cups at Rancatore’s Ice Cream in Newton — they always ask you to choose your preference between two things when you’re leaving a tip. Yesterday, I told the staff there I had trouble deciding which holiday I liked better. I eventually decided to put my money in “Thanksgiving.” Thanks for spending the time to eye this response to your comment!

  8. My eyes will be on you when you get the MacBook Air!

  9. It fell to the floor, an exquisite thing, a small thing that could upset balances and knock down a
    line of small dominoes and then big dominoes and then gigantic dominoes, all down the years
    across Time. Eckels’ mind whirled. It couldn’t change things. Killing one butterfly couldn’t be that
    important! Could it?

    Bradbury understood the impact a small thing could have over the long term. Closer to home Archduke Ferdinand’s driver got lost, Fidel Castro didn’t make it as a professional baseball player…a small detail, the Hillel Society, reminds me of what I’ve been told is a Jewish saying: “If we do not know where we have been we have no way of knowing where we are going.”
    What am I getting at here?

  10. All in favor say “EYE!” The eyes have it.
    -Alan

  11. That yearbook photo would be part of the biography. And maybe that rocking horse. I’m sure there’s a story there!

  12. My eyes I’m afraid were focused on the chocolate!

  13. That cake looked absolutely scrumptious!!!! I love your yearbook photo too 🙂

  14. My history would be very boring. We could make a song about that, too!

  15. I have my eyes on something vey special; here….

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

