Day 1282: The more you know…

How would you complete this sentence?

The more you know …

I’ll show you how Tufts Medical Center in Boston — where I was hospitalized last night for fevers — completes that sentence:

IMG_3286

Do you believe that the more you know, the better you feel?

Here’s more to know about my July 4th, yesterday:

  • The on call doctor phoned me to say he would feel better if he knew I went to the Emergency Room to get more cultures for endocarditis, since nobody knew why I was continuing to have fevers.
  • Because I know more about Emergency Rooms than most people, I decided I’d feel better if I went earlier rather than later.
  • The more some people know about the E.R., the better they feel, as evidenced by this photo I took soon after I decided to go.

IMG_3269

  • I “knew” that the staff at the Emergency Room would simply take more blood cultures  and release me after that, which helped me feel better, since I hate to stay at  hospitals.
  • The more I knew, the more convinced I was that I was NOT going to see any of my beloved fireworks this year, which made me feel worse.
  • Once I knew that the Emergency Room doctors wanted to hospitalize me because they couldn’t figure out what was causing my fevers, the worse I felt.
  • I emailed my cardiologist, Dr.Deeb Salem — who is on vacation and away from the hospital until next week — about the developing situation in the Emergency Room, assuming that the more he knew, the better he would feel.
  • The more I knew about the doctors’ thoughts and feelings regarding my being hospitalized, the better I felt about reluctantly acquiescing.
  • The more people know about my cardiologist Dr. Deeb Salem — who sent me the two-word email “Safe plan” — the better they feel.
  • The more I knew about my nurses after I got settled in my hospital room, the better I felt.
  • The more I knew about a FABULOUS vantage point in the hospital for watching the famous Boston fireworks at 10:30, the better I felt.

IMG_3274

IMG_3276

IMG_3279

IMG_3281

IMG_3284

Now that we know more, how do we feel?

The more I know to express my heart-felt gratitude to my readers, the better I feel.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , | 38 Comments

Post navigation

38 thoughts on “Day 1282: The more you know…

  1. I hope they determine the source of the fever soon and glad you got to see the fireworks.

  2. I feel better seeing the view you had of the fireworks Ann! How fabulous.

    However, I would feel better knowing you were fever free and on your way home. ❤

    • I think I’ve been fever free today and we’re all working towards getting me home! Thanks, fabulous Colleen!

      • Great news Ann!!!!! 🙂 Going home without a fever is better than being anywhere else with a fever. 🙂 I know, that was pretty deep right there!!!

      • That WAS pretty deep. Here’s something else deep: going home WITH a fever is better than being anywhere else with a fever. It turns out I was never fever free, but I’m HOME!

      • I am so happy to know this!!!! 🙂

  3. Hope you got rest and very glad you got to watch the fireworks! Love u!

  4. I am so sorry to hear your fevers are still present, but glad to hear you were able to watch the fireworks from your window. The more you know the better in this case I believe Ann. Sending hugs ❤

  5. Well, if you had to have a fever and had to have the blood tests and had to be admitted, at least you got a room with a view! Be much better soon, Ann.

    • The more you know about that view Emilie, the more you would understand that I actually joined a parade of other patients who wanted to see the fireworks from the best vantage point in the hospital. The more you comment, the better I feel.

  6. Whoever said “Ignorance is bliss” overlooked how well fear can thrive in the absence of information. On the other hand Gertrude Stein said, “Everybody gets so much information all day long that they lose their common sense.” Loss of common sense, however, can be fixed with uncommon sense, which comes from knowing.
    These mental fireworks are hardly comparable to Boston’s but I’m glad you’ve been able to be a witness to both.

  7. Thinking of you. Be well.

  8. My heart jumped for joy that you were able to see the fireworks! They were so beautiful! Sending good thoughts and healing energy!

    • The more I know about your heart, the better I feel. Your good thoughts and healing energy didn’t get my fevers down but perhaps it helped me get released from the hospital today!

  9. What a wonderful, safe vantage point for viewing the fireworks! To be viewing fireworks you love from one of the world’s best hospitals, where you are being looked after with Dr. Salem’s support and all the caring nurses and attentive physicians, is a delightful confluence of good fortune and serendipity. And you have worked hard for those relationships, too. I am glad you were treated to a display of fireworks and hope your fever leaves now that it has enjoyed the 4th of July.

    • There are still fever fireworks today but I’m enjoying them from the wonderful, safe vantage point of my home! The more you write, Maureen, the better I feel.

  10. Glad you got to see the fireworks, but wish it was from a different viewpoint. The more you know, the better. Get well quick!

  11. Fabulous fireworks Ann! Hope the fever abates and you find out more about what you need to know 💕

    • All I need to know right now, Val, is that the doctors thought it safe to discharge me (even though I’m still running fevers) so I’M HOME! ❤

  12. Sorry the fevers continue, but I’m glad you got to see the fireworks. I missed them here. I believe most definitely, from personal experience, that the more you know the belter you feel.

  13. The better you feel, the better I feel. And THAT I know!

  14. What great fireworks you were able to see!!!! that must have been some consolation. I’m so sorry these mysterious fevers won’t leave. Keep us posted, Ann. We are rooting for you to get better soon and enjoy the summer!

  15. And I hope you are well.

  16. Feel well. As for me the more I know the younger I must be getting

  17. Pingback: Day 1646: Very Doubtful | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

