Day 1274: Reading

Card 1:  How you feel about yourself

The Hierophant

You feel a need for advice or wise council or perhaps spiritual consolation. Someone, or perhaps immediate events, will provide moral and practical guidance. Perhaps you are considering becoming such a tutor, counsellor or spiritual advisor.

You desire the tried and tested traditional values, so when considering your options, this approach will prove wiser than adopting an unconventional novel approach.

I read this part of the reading like so:  I do feel the need for advice and wise council from the surgeon who will be performing the operation.   I assume that other people and immediate events will provide guidance for me about how best to prepare myself for the experience. Also,  we’ll probably go with the tried and true way of performing open heart surgery with general anesthesia rather than the unconventional novel approach of my staying awake (which you may have read about here). 

 

Card 2:  What you want most right now

The Devil

The cards suggest that what you most want at this time you can’t have, and like the forbidden fruit this only makes it all the more tempting. Alternatively you know you could go for something, but it would be a bad choice and you’d be doing it for all the wrong reasons.

What I most want at this time is NOT TO HAVE OPEN HEART SURGERY, but I’m doing my best to reach acceptance.

 

Card 3:   Your fears

The Tower

You are afraid your world is falling apart: you’re experiencing sudden changes and disruption and you don’t know what to do.

Perhaps subconsciously you’ve wanted a solution to an issue but didn’t quite expect things to have turned out as they have. Use this change as an opportunity for a new beginning.

Okay!

 

Card 4:   What is going for you

The Emperor

You are self-assured and more than capable of influencing people or events to achieve what you want.

What’s more, support and guidance from your father, husband/partner or another man of significance in your life is there for the asking.

Make the most of your resources.

Okay!

 

Card 5:   What is going against you

The Moon

You are frozen with fear, lacking nerve and confused as to what it is you actually want.

You are allowing all your fears and anxieties to hold you back when you should be opening your mind to new and unexpected possibilities.

Okay!

 

Card 6:  The likely outcome

Death

This is a transformational time for you.

However turbulent or perhaps distressing some of the events in your life may be, endings always leave room for brand new beginnings.

This is a fresh start in life for you, embrace it and live every day as though it were your last – life is for living!

Okay!

I’m interested in reading what you read into that tarot card reading. I also hope to read how you’re reading these photos I took yesterday:

IMG_3116

IMG_3117

IMG_3119

IMG_3121

IMG_3122

IMG_3123

IMG_3124

IMG_3125

IMG_3128

IMG_3129

IMG_3130.JPG

IMG_3131

IMG_3132

IMG_3133

IMG_3134

IMG_3135

IMG_3136

IMG_3139

Here‘s one of the songs you might have noticed while you were reading this post:

Depending upon where you’re reading this, you might not be able to read that YouTube  video of “Come Dancing” by the Kinks. If so, there are lots of other versions you can read on the internet.

I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts and feelings about this post.

Thanks for reading!

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism, staying healthy | Tags: , , , , , | 37 Comments

Post navigation

37 thoughts on “Day 1274: Reading

  1. My head tells me that Tarot card reading is phooey, my heart tells me it would be nice if it isn’t and my experience tells me it has been right every time I have dabbled. And I mean SOPT ON right, not – oh well, you can read whatever you want into the cards. I think the reading you have laid out here is an example of that – it’s really straightforward and fits what is happening.

    The pictures? Quirky, amusing, nostalgic. I love the record store shots. Can’t access the Kinks vid – what a shame – love that track – love, love LOVE the Kinks – will try YouTube. Lola was my favourite when I was 14 – didn’t get it at all but I loved the melody. Thank you!

  2. When I am frightened I usually read the following as often as time allows. I hope it helps you.

    INVICTUS
    By: William Ernest Hindley

    Out of the night that covers me
    Black as the pit from pole to pole
    I thank whatever Gods may be
    For my unconquerable soul
    In the fell clutch of circumstance
    I have not winked or cried aloud.
    Beyond this place of wrath and tears
    Looms but the horror of the shade,
    And yet the menace of the years
    Finds and shall find me unafraid
    It matters not how straight the gate,
    How charged with punishments
    the scroll
    I am the master of my fate;
    I am the captain of my soul

  3. I also think the photos are great, especially the ice cream and donut one., They all made me smile.
    Have a great day. :o)

  4. I just watched The Kinks video, loved it. Makes my liver smile. Did you ever see EAT, LOVE, PRAY. If not watch it and you will understand this. :o)

  5. I will be keeping you in my daily prayers. :o)

  6. Good post, Ann. Thinking about you…

  7. Interesting Twrot reading there, Ann!
    I make my own Tarot-style cards in Soul Collage. Love it.

  8. I like that what I read in your Tarot reading is what you read too — and wow. That’s quite the reading.

    I also read into your photos that your sense of humor, no matter your Fear, is always at work lifting you up.

  9. I’m surprised The Hanged Man card didn’t turn up in your Tarot reading. This is a card that has always been described to me as representing a new way of seeing things, and I often feel your posts see things in a new way.
    And I love, love, love, love, love The Kinks. “Come Dancing”, like so many of their songs, waxes nostalgic with a healthy dose of hope for the future. And here’s another of their songs that I think expresses what I feel for you as you face the future.

  10. In the early 60’s, my aunt read Tarot cards for us as children. She was ahead of her time. The only thing I remember is that she forecast a long marriage for me…seemed to be right.

    Thinking of you, Ann. Embrace the fear, but move ahead with courage. You may not need the ice cream. 💖

  11. The Monkees, now you’re talking!

  12. I don’t believe in these readings Ann, as much as they seem to have an appeal of their own. There’s just no scientific evidence supporting these ‘occultist’ pastimes, although I feel spiritual in other ways. I’m sorry if you happened to pick up the ‘death’ card or that it was read to you in this moment.

    • I don’t really believe in them either, Maria, but my understanding is that the people who DO believe in them agree that the death card predicts change, which would be a good thing.

      • Yes, but change through death. How are they right? Death can happen at any time, even today, for anyone regardless of anything.

      • But I understand that it’s a way of looking at things, although the (Tarot reading) timing is off since only Nature has the last word I think. It’s my feeling that this is why occultism fails because it attempts to predict the future, but it does get interesting at times I suppose.

      • It’s always interesting reading your comments, Maria.

  13. I have always wanted to have a tarot card reading just because no real reason it is just that things like this interest me

  14. I had that Monkees album! I read your Tarot card reading, but think it best not to read into it too much Ann. The Kinks and the Monkees are another story. I’d go with Daydream Believer myself 🙂

  15. The most significant thing about the tarot reading is that you applied for it. Of course you want to take the uncertainty away. But you are far too intelligent not to know that that is impossible. We’ve probably all tried something similar at times of acute crisis. For me, it’s been horoscopes in the newspapers.

  16. Thank you for sharing your reading Ann.
    Lets not read too much into them and continue to enjoy singing along to daydream believers 💛

  17. Pingback: Day 1583: Realizing who you are | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

